We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try Tuscan Tuesday”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bollicini

Bollicini
Ranked #87 of 554 Restaurants in Chester
Price range: $2 - $27
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Try Tuscan Tuesday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We have been to Bollicini's Tuscan Tuesday twice in the past month.

Being lovers of Italian food, we thought this a good way try something new. The Tuscan Tuesday is a smaller, Tuscan (obviously) menu where you get 2 courses for £14.95 and a bottle of red wine for each couple.
My wife doesn't like red and the waitress had no problem changing the wine to a lovely white.

There is a really good variety of dishes to choose from. I can recommend the ribs for a starter. (over our 2 visits we also had the tagliere Toscano - selection of meats, and bruschetta-both great). The mains are tasty and good portions. Lovely pasta dishes and the fish soup is very filling.

Service is really good.

We intend to return again soon the try some more dishes.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeandSuzanneO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    124
    51
    34
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a way to spend a birthday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Last Wednesday, 29 May, Bollicini invited us to a sumptuous 4 course meal (with wines) expertly cooked by 4 top Italian chefs, one of whom runs a 3* Michelin restaurant in Bergamo, flown in especially for the event. On arrival we were given a Prosecco Franciacorta to accompany a selection of delicious canapés, followed by Mousse di parmigiano, Rosetto al sangiovese (to die for!), Lombo di manzo al pane verde aromatico (best steak I've ever tasted - cooked for 18 hrs!) and finally a Bavarese alla birra with fruits of the forest (mouthwatering) and all for £45m pp - unbelievable!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StanClarke29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“World Class!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

well impressed!!! the offer of 15 quid on a thursday evening astounds me how you can include the magnificent meals in the a la carte menu for that price, even the supplement of £6.95 for FILLET steak is wonderful......and all with a bottle of your own choice of wine......amazing and cannot wait to come back!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank R0undy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food, good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Visited on Saturday night after a busy race day - this restaurant was recommended by the hotel concierge. In the centre of Chester but just off the main roads so you need to know where it is. Nice contemporary setting, nice atmosphere and friendly staff. There seemed to be a mix of people from the races and locals, which is always a good sign.

Our food was lovely and very nicely presented - we shared a king prawn starter, him indoors had pizza and cheese board and I had asparagus risotto and profiteroles. We enjoyed a Peroni and a large glass of wine each and the bill came to just over £50. We thought that was good value and thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank barbietowers247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great for dinner after a day at the races”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

I went to this restaurant after a great day at Chester races. The racecourse is around 10 minutes walk away so it was very convenient for dinner. The food was great and felt very traditional and authentic Italian, the drinks were a little pricy but it is a really nice venue with a good atmosphere so I suppose that is to be expected.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clark_Flash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bollicini also viewed

Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 
Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Bollicini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing