We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch time visit, good value, good food”
Review of Ruan Orchid

Ruan Orchid
Ranked #45 of 557 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lunch time visit, good value, good food”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Nice ambience and nice staff
The lunch was good quality and good value.
Not a big fan of Thai food but enjoyed the green curry.
Starters where very good.

Worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    125
    41
    11
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“poor customer service”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Called this restaurant which have been visiting for last 15 yrs +, to a very rude reception, was told to " not call now call back in 15 minutes when I have time", had I called at some crazy hour I would have understood but it was 1815 hrs on a Tuesday evening. I'll never go back or ever recommend again. Very disappointed.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank NAN419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennoway
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Valentines night”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

The restaurant was very nicely decorated for valentines night. We were welcomed nd invited to our seat. This was our first time and we weren't disappointed. Staff were friendly, foods was excellent, good attention to detail for valentines day. The garnish was carved in heart shape. Presentation superb, many thank for lovely evening.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tasty but expensive.”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Starters were over priced. Mains very tasty and nicely presented. Sticky rice was a total waste, almost £4 extra and really not nice. Service was excellent and the restaurant was clean and well laid out. We enjoyed our evening.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrs H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Saw the prices-and left!”
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

It's our own fault for not reading the menu properly outside! We came in and sat down, ordered a beer and started to choose our food. Staff were attentive, place was beautifully decorated and the food smelt lovely. However, on closer inspection of the menu, we soon realised this was not going to be a cheap meal. Starters were overpriced-and then looking at the mains, it was about £13-15 for a main dish. With our without rice, this is extortionate. We drank up and left to find a cheaper alternative which was the Slow Boat Chinese restaurant (lovely tasty meal & good value for money).

How can Thai food be so god damn expensive?!

Helpful?
Thank Gellikinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruan Orchid also viewed

 

Been to Ruan Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing