We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food!”
Review of Ruan Orchid

Ruan Orchid
Ranked #44 of 562 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 408 helpful votes
“Lovely food!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We came across this restaurant whilst searching for somewhere to eat on our first night in Chester. A very cosy place, clean and atmospheric. The food was simply delicious and presented well. We recommend this place and will return ourselves on our next trip to Chester!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Foxymama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    127
    42
    11
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
922 reviews
368 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 418 helpful votes
“Good valuue lunch menu, shame about the service”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Visited for lunch. The small downstairs room was quite full. Lunch Menu was £6.95 with a good selection of dishes. Food was ok when it arrived reasonably promptly but not a lot of smiles with the service. I had no fork which was not noticed when we were seated, and worse not even when the initial plate was cleared and replaced. We can find more enjoyable restaurants in Chester.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djpend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
514 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
“Small but perfectly formed Thai in Chester city centre”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This was a very nice find today in Chester, 5 mins walk from the Cross in the city centre. This is the real deal, not Thai-style but authentic Thai, set in a small cozy restaurant on two floors with low heavy oak-beamed ceiling and huge old red sandstone walls (well this is in the centre of old medieval Chester) and nicely decorated throughout with many references to the Land of Smiles. Service was great and I had a nice chat with the lovely owner before we left. Food was very good indeed, both starters and mains, fresh, tasty, and well presented. We found this place after stopping someone on the street and asking for a good Thai restaurant in town. Nice bit of serendipity! :-) We will certainly be returning to this obviously popular and well run restaurant when we visit Chester again. Recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nimitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pretty Good!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Popped in on a whim while on a day trip to Chester as my Wife and I both like Thai food and the location looked quite appealing.
Inside everything was nicely set out with a few steps to get down into the dining area which gave the interior some seclusion from the street outside which was nice. The building itself was typical of the older building you find in Chester with lots of old stone and wooden beams.
We went for the lunch time special menu which has a great selection of starters to choose from and a few of the more typical mains all for a very reasonable price too (just short of £7 each for the two courses). I have to say the food was pretty good too (went for the steamed dumplings for a stater and stir fry pepper with chicken for the main) both of which I enjoyed and the service was also of a decent standard considering it was getting quiet busy over Saturday lunch time.
One slight negative was the condiments on our table were pretty dusty (someone must have forgotten to give them a wipe) but as no extra seasoning was required it was not a major issue just me being picky. Other than that it was hard to find anything else to complain about :).
All in all we had a great time and I'd go back for sure if I'm back in Chester anytime soon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xgeemanx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful food”
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful food cooked to perfection, plenty of it and left feeling very satisfied. We have the seabass special and a prawn red curry.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steaklovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruan Orchid also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Ruan Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing