We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant central position, beautiful small hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Coach House Inn
Ranked #5 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Grimsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant central position, beautiful small hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2010

Loved every minute of our stay here. Rooms were very tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. We had superior room, which was very spacious. The pub itself was very nice, although we didnt eat there, it was very popular and busy all the time. It's central position made it brilliant for shopping and going out on the evening. I agree it was noisy on the Saturday evening, but as we ourselves did not return to the room until after 3am, it didnt really bother us. My only negative points would be they have no free parking facilities (there is a multi storey car park at rear, very close, which is free from 3pm til 7am, which is very convenient, but can still be costly over the whole weekend. The other would be the scrambled egg at breakfast it was inedible, so stick to fried or poached! but the rest of the breakfast was lovely.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TaraTiara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    106
    26
    12
    7
See reviews for
60
220
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northants
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2010

The Coach House is excellent in every way.Reception staff very helpful,room was large,bright and spotless as was the bathroom with its big fluffy towels.Ate in the restaurant and the food was really good.The full english breakfast was lovely even though the breakfast chef had not turned up for work. All the waiting staff were cheerfull and friendly.Cant recommend this hotel highly enough. Well done!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthantsLovelymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2010

Firstly the location is wonderful, slap in the middle of the main street next to the town hall. On arrival we were given a rear facing room overlooking a roof which frankly did not live up to the reviews or star rating of the hotel. We asked the receptionist if it would be possible to move and thankfully she replied that if the superior room had not been sold after 4.00pm we could move to that room at no extra cost. This was a much more luxurious room overlooking the main square with a fabulous extra large comfy bed you could get lost in, in fact I lost my wife for nearly two hours, when I eventually found her under a mound of pillows we headed for breakfast which was superb. Great bar and restaurant area and very friendly efficient staff. One small gripe is the entrance - to the hotel rooms- staircase is completely out of character to the rest of the hotel and looks and smells grubby, shame as it's the first impression as you head for your room.
All in all would stay there again but would opt for the superior room.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheCodfather2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnmoney, Co. Antrim, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

My mum and I stayed at the Coach House for a birthday treat the first weekend in October. We had an early flight over, so arrived at the Coach House around 10am. The girl on reception told us our room would not be available until that afternoon, but that she would store our cases for us, so that we could go and make the most of our first day.
It was great to be back in Chester (to us it feels more like home than Northern Ireland, and to be frank, it is far nicer than Northern Ireland). After a day of shopping and walking the Rows, we returned to our hotel, and were shown to our room by a friendly foreign guy whose name I did not get. Our room was at the back of the hotel, and overlooked the bus station. It was a twin room, one of the £80 a night rooms rather than the £95 a night. It was actually very roomy, and was decorated very attractively with mushroom and hot-pink coloured walls, with one wall of massive funky floral wallpaper. I will point out that areas of the room were a little worn, for example, a coat hook on the wall was obviously missing, and the space had just been covered over with builder's caulk. The same wall also had a load of black scuff marks across the bottom, as if guests had just chucked their cases against the wall without any thought. This annoys me - people seem to think that they can do whatever they like with things that aren't theirs. Our ensuite was nice and modern, with black floor tiles, white wall tiles and nice chrome accessories. Ours also had a window which I like (hotel bathrooms without windows are not good). Our shower was massive which was nice.
Breakfasts were very tasty indeed, and you could tell that they use good-quality ingredients. I opted for the delicious Vegetarian Fry each morning, and it was excellent. There were also various yoghurts, fruit and pastries on offer. On the last morning I tried the porridge, which was very good. I had hoped to try the grilled Kippers, but sadly they had none!
The waitresses we had over the 3 mornings (Janet and Wendy) were very friendly and cheerful, which I think it always a necessity. Nobody wants to be greeted by durr-looking staff!! :)
All in all we had a lovely birthday weekend. As usual, it flew in, and I was very depressed to be flying back to Belfast on the Monday night.
I would recommend you visit Chester, and walk the Rows, walk the City Walls, visit the Cathedral, the Old Fashioned Sweet Shop, and take the bus to Cheshire Oaks Shopping Village if you can.
On second thoughts, maybe I should keep Chester a secret hehehe!!!
Thanks very much to the Coach House for a lovely weekend, the staff members are all very pleasant, and we very much enjoyed our complimentary birthday treat you left for us. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MayFairQueenBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

Stayed for one night on business in September 2010. Hotel is clean, comfortable and centrally located.

Room was clean, comfortable and modern, with tea and coffee facilities. I had dinner in the bar downstairs which was tasty and reasonably priced.

Chester station is some distance from the town centre, so a cab is best.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jebndelorus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

I stayed at "The Coach House" for two nights in September. I was very impressed with the service, the friendly staff, the beautiful meal and the lovely bedroom. This Inn is in an ideal position, right next to the Information centre where you can join a walking tour (excellent). I found it by accident after leaving the most awful bed and breakfast imaginable. There are only four bedrooms so worth booking ahead to avoid disappointment. My only (slight) compaint was the noise but I was warned beforehand, the Inn is situated on a noisy square. Jane, Victoria. Australia.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaneVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

We have just stayed at the Coach House for our annual Uni Reunion and you have raised the bar. There were 13 of us and everyone truly enjoyed the weekend. The rooms are luxurious and quiet with the excellent double glazing. All the staff are extremely helpful and friendly with an excellent restaurant serving local produce.
The hotel is so central, next to the town hall and opposite the cathedral. It is a joy to recommend the Coach House.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r0ger54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House Inn

Property: The Coach House Inn
Address: 39 Northgate Street, Chester CH1 2HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coach House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coach House Inn provides luxurious, affordable accommodation in Chester city centre. The eight bedrooms have been refurbished this year to a high standard, providing comfortable, convenient accommodation for our guests.Located next door to the architecturally acclaimed town hall and opposite the famous Chester cathedral, The Coach House provides a perfect base from which to explore Chester and Cheshire. All rooms are non smoking with ensuite and have tea and coffee making facilities, colour televisions, direct dial telephones and free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Coach House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach House Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing