We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful hotel in the heart of lovely Chester!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Coach House Inn
Ranked #7 of 76 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2010

We stayed at The Coach House as part of our trip around the UK. We absolutely loved both Chester and The Coach House. The Coach House could not be in a better position - right in the centre of Chester- with the Town Square in view from our huge room - a Premium room( I think). The room was beautifully decorated with a very comfy bed, nice linens, good bathroom, mineral water included, huge LCD TV, free internet etc etc. The staff were fantastic - very friendly and helpful! As the hotel is right in the middle of the city there is no parking but we were able to pay only 5pounds for a pass in a very convenient carpark just across the road. Be mindful if you do go to this hotel that you can't really stop outside so we just parked in a short term carpark around the corner till we got everything sorted - no drama at all. Food in the restaurant was excellent - both dinner and breakfast and in betweens. We walked out the door and there we were in front of one of the most spectacular cathedrals in the country - we were enthralled by the size and beauty of it! Chester is also great for shopping - even these are beautiful, especially the two level shops built in medieval times. Chester is also a walled city so you must walk around the whole perimetre of the city - absolutely gorgeous! Chester was definetly a highlight of our trip - partly because of it's charm and beauty but also because of the wonderful Coach House!! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holiday-lover27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

449 - 455 of 468 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2010

This hotel is right in the heart of the city beside the Cathedral. The rooms are very nicely furnished & decorated. The staff could not be more helpful-they couldn't do enough for us. We were a group of 20 females on a hen weekend. We started our weekend with lunch at the hotel which was very good. We didn't eat at the hotel in the evening but the breakfast was excellent.
Lovely hotel & very helpful staff. I would happily stay there again on any future visit to Chester.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisM27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2010

We stayed for a weekend for birthday treat and found this wonderful hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful, rooms are absolutely amazing, veryt spacious and well maintained with a modern yet cosy feel. We ate in restaurant both nights and again the food was exceptional both in presentation and taste.
Would recommend this hotel amd will have no hesitation recommending to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WALLASEY55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

We slept in the coach house only one night in the beginning of our tour through England. It was Friday. We had two rooms in the first floor facing the main entrance. The rooms were clean and spacious but we couldn't sleep at all because of the noise. You can hear people walking in the street, singing, laughing, talking until....
But this was not the worst part of our stay in this hotel. We had dinner in the restaurant and my eldest daughter and myself unlucky asked for fish and chips with tartare sauce.
Unfortunately this dish was in bad conditions and we both got FOOD POISONING, what ruined our holidays.
Just choose any other hotel if you go to Chester,
Thank you

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2010

Our first trip to Chester, weekend stay. Hotel great location in centre of Chester . We had a front facing superior room, lovely room, well presented and decorated with a pleasing and attractive aspect, unfortunately this was spoilt by the noisy from Chesters Friday night clubers, they kept us awake until 4.30am. The front room windows are not double glazed. To ensure an element of sleep the following night we purchased "ear-plugs" from Boots, these helped to dampen down Saturday nights noise Our friends had rear facing rooms and did not suffer to the same extent. Strongly recommend avoiding front facing rooms at weekend, though of course situation may not be so noisy during mid week.

Hotel staff excellent, welcoming, friendly, helpful and efficient, infact this is the hotels greatest asset. Found the restaurant slightly noisy particularly during busy periods, and food no better than "pub" average. The noisy and lack of attention to some detail did not detract from us enjoying our visit though I would not re-book the Coach House for the reasons indicated.

Be aware of the undisclosed car parking charge the Hotel imposes. We were not advised of this charge when booking rooms and there is no detail on the hotel web site, the first time we were made aware was at account settlement time.

Hotel fantastic location, excellent staff, good decorative presentation, but badly let down by night time noise.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PunchandJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2009

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindylou1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Winks6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#3 of 45 in Chester
2,645 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
0.3 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#6 of 45 in Chester
1,245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pied Bull Inn
Pied Bull Inn
#9 of 76 in Chester
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House Inn

Address: 39 Northgate Street, Chester CH1 2HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: $95 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coach House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coach House Inn provides luxurious, affordable accommodation in Chester city centre. The eight bedrooms have been refurbished this year to a high standard, providing comfortable, convenient accommodation for our guests.Located next door to the architecturally acclaimed town hall and opposite the famous Chester cathedral, The Coach House provides a perfect base from which to explore Chester and Cheshire. All rooms are non smoking with ensuite and have tea and coffee making facilities, colour televisions, direct dial telephones and free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Coach House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach House Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing