We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel stay away from room 8 and 9”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Coach House Inn
Ranked #5 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great hotel stay away from room 8 and 9”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I stayed here for business for two nights and the quality of furnishings and facilities, food and beer were excellent. The staff were friendly and very helpful, the food was good value and very good quality.
Unfortunately the wall between my room and next door was as much use as a shower curtain, the first night I had an elderly, I assume partially deaf, couple next door who were up till 11:30 and then awake again the next morning before 5 and felt the need to have the TV on all the time they were awake making it impossible for me to sleep. The next night I had new quieter neighbours and slept ok but when I went to bed I could hear snoring and every mumble as they slept. I don't know if the other rooms have the same problem and a member of staff told me no-one else had ever complained so maybe it is just those two rooms.
It was a shame because otherwise it was a lovely hotel and if I am up to Chester again I would give it another try but definitely not in rooms 8 or 9. Apart from the walls issue my rating would be 4.5 out of 5.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 8 and 9 if you intend to sleep while there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al_Cannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisher D, Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Hi there,

Thank you ever so much for this review. I would like to apologise about the noise you had to put with, We do get very few complaints of such but it is being looked into. If you do ever come back to Chester please do stay with us again and we will try to achieve 4.5 for sure!

Thanks again,

The Coach House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    110
    27
    12
    7
See reviews for
62
226
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Popped in for a breakfast and so glad we did , it was absolutely delicious we were able to sit outside in the sunshine aswell that made it even better, bacon sausage egg beans black pudding tomato and toast £7.95 including tea.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Missboovier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisher D, Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Hello Miss Boovier!

Thank you very much for the review and for the brilliant picture collage you made! I am so pleased you enjoyed your breakfast with us. Please come again soon!

The Coach House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We were welcomed by staff upon arrival, explained free tea/coffee available throughout our stay.
Shown to our room which was very clean and spacious. Lovely views to cathedral and square.
Food excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. All staff very professional, always smiling.
Would thoroughly recommend to friends and family, definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie123111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisher D, Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Hello Rosie!

Thanks so much for this review, you have highlighted many positives which shall all be passed onto our staff. We would love to have you stay with us again!

Thank you once more,

The Coach House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allensmore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We arrived to a warm welcome, and were shown to our lovely clean room. Tea and coffee was free to guests, and we sat and relaxed in the lounge. I stayed with a friend, and neither of us has a big appetite, so later when ordering food in the evening, the staff very happily split a meal between two plates for us, with no extra charge. The standard of food was really good, and breakfast fit for a king! Leanne looked after us very well, and gave us great information about what to see and do. The hotel is perfectly placed in the centre of Chester and near the shops. We will definitely go back to Chester for another girlie shopping break, and we will definitely stay at The Coach House.

If there was one negative, it was that the Wifi was not very reliable in our room, and connection a bit unstable, but we coped!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juney J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisher D, Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Hi there.

Thanks very much for taking the time to leave this review, it is very much appreciated! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I hope Leann's advice on what to do in Chester was good! I'm sure it was!

Thanks again,

The Coach House Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

13 of us stayed at the hotel for the weekend and the hotel/pub staff handled us perfectly!

The location is amazing --- opposite the cathedral and in a perfect central location.

The food --- WOW!! All of us were over the moon with our food and it was extremely well priced! The Welsh lamb sharer dish was particularly fabulous!

Hats off to the chef!

The rooms --- gorgeous. Very spacious, clean and well presented plus comfy beds!

The service --- AMAZING! Every member of the team at the Coach House that we came across were fantastic, down to earth and couldn't do enough for us.

All in all I'd rate our stay as a solid 10/10 and I'll definitely be returning.

Thanks to everyone at the Coach House for a super weekend..... x

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Fitzy-Lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisher D, Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Hello!!

Thank you so much for the review! It really was our pleasure having all 13 of you stay with us! All of our staff said how great you all were to look after. This review has been passed onto them all.

It would be great to have you stay with us again.

Thanks once more,

The Coach House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Went to Chester for the day whilst staying in Liverpool to celebrate my birthday and had already decided this is where we would eat as it had been recommended to us numerous times and we weren't disappointed.
I chose the fish and chips and as it was Friday if you order any fish meal you get a glass of Prosecco free, the fish and chips were spot on, Hubby chose the trio of sausage on bubble and squeak again spot on.
It's a lovely place to go for a meal or even just drinks with a lovely atmosphere and great staff.
Will definitely be returning when in Chester next.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisher D, Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hi Lynn!

I am so pleased you loved your birthday meal here at the Coach House. It is always lovely to read such positive reviews so thank you ever so much!

We hope to see you again soon,

The Coach House inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Just home after a lovely stroll into town and back.
We stopped for lunch here again, and as it was so beautiful outside it was busy.
However, we had a lovely table with a beautiful breeze blowing through the inside.
Yes it was busy, as you would expect on a bank holiday, but what a fab welcome!
I can honestly say this team know how to communicate and the needs of the cutomers are at the front of this!
So, lunch ordered we waited for our lovely lunch and despite being so busy, chef must've been completely in control as we really didnt wait too long.
I love watching people and couldnt help noticing how well the waitress put a mums mind at rest when her young baby became upset.
Fab service, smiling professional staff, which I find so important..........customer service excellent.
Well done team ......

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aly j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisher D, Manager at The Coach House Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hello,

Wow what a GREAT review!! Thank you so much. I am ever so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and it's always great to show the staff such brilliant feedback.

Thanks again,

The Coach House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,077 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,613 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.4 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House Inn

Property: The Coach House Inn
Address: 39 Northgate Street, Chester CH1 2HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coach House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coach House Inn provides luxurious, affordable accommodation in Chester city centre. The eight bedrooms have been refurbished this year to a high standard, providing comfortable, convenient accommodation for our guests.Located next door to the architecturally acclaimed town hall and opposite the famous Chester cathedral, The Coach House provides a perfect base from which to explore Chester and Cheshire. All rooms are non smoking with ensuite and have tea and coffee making facilities, colour televisions, direct dial telephones and free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Coach House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach House Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing