We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can only reiterate the good reviews on here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2010

We had been to the Lake District for a break and decided to stay in Chester for one night on the way back. The hotel, like all Premier Inns, was clean, comfortable and the staff were helpful and welcoming. This hotel is just minutes walk from the city centre with its shops, bars and restaurants and the huge Cheshire Oaks outlet village at Ellsmere Port is just a few minutes drive away. We paid £60 for the room for the bank holiday Saturday, and luckily we'd booked well in advance as it was full. Although on a main road we didn't hear any traffic or noise but we were on the 3rd floor. The buffet breakfast was excellent - eat as much as you like for under £8 and it included tea/coffee/fruit juice. When you compare this to other places, where you are limited to the number of items then they add on toast and drinks to the bill, it's good value. The only negative is the lack of car spaces at the hotel but 5 minutes walk up the road is an NCP car park which charges £5 for 24 hours (I believe the same rate as the hotel). Make sure you have change for the ticket machine. If we go to Chester again we'd definitely stay at the Premier Inn City Centre.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holsrme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,394)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,336 - 2,342 of 2,394 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2010

This is a good value for money hotel with genuinely helpful and caring staff.
Nothing was too much trouble, check-in was quick and simple, rooms were clean and comfortable. Ten minute walk to the city along the canal passing many pubs and restaurants.
Car parking is very limited so arrive early to be sure of getting a space.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2010

Wether you are visiting Chester for sightseeing or for the Races as we did ,you could not ask for better value for money.Clean room,comfy beds,polite and friendly staff and a breakfast that sets you up nicely for the day.I would have no problems recomending this hotel to anyone.In fact we have already booked for next year.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnstonei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2010

This is a typical Premier Inn. There is nothing flashy about it but the rooms are clean, comfortable and a good size. It is not the kind of place that I would recommend for a romantic weekend in Chester, but if you just want a room for the night, then the Premier Inn fits the bill. It is about a 5 minute walk from the train station, so a good choice if you are travelling by train. Just beneath the hotel along the canal is a bar called Old Harkers. I will come back to Chester simply to have some bar food and real local ales there. A fantastic place and another good reason to choose the Premier Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seat28B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2010

This premier inn had no faults at all!Rooms clean,service excellent,breakfast lovely.Would definetly recommend if going to stay in Chester.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hughes1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2010

We stayed here for 1 night in April to break up our journey from Glasgow to Gloucestershire.

On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly and helpful receptionist. We were aware that parking was limited and were pleased to get a space at the hotel car park. The room was an excellent size, large bed, very good quality bedding. It was spotlessly clean and had everything you need for a 1 night stay, plenty of towels, plug points, mirror, shelving and hanging space. We had a great night sleep, didn't hear a single noise. The hotel is an easy walk into the city centre, perfectly positioned. We had breakfast, which was good choice, well cooked and again, served by friendly welcoming staff. All areas of the hotel are clean and well looked after, this is an exceptionally well run hotel.

I really can't think of anything to fault this hotel on, I'd recommend this hotel to anyone and indeed have found the same high standard throughout the Premier Inn chain.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiona2326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2010

Let me first say that the staff at this hotel is amazing. I've been in hotels all over and have never experienced such genuinely friendly people. We needed directions several times and not only did the front desk staff give us directions from Google, they also gave us their own directions which usually worked out better. My mother and I stayed in a twin room (number 5 on the lowest level of the building). It was very clean and spacious enough. The only drawback is that the hotel does not have enough parking. You can park on the street for free after certain hours and on weekends. There's also pay parking down the road. We didn't pay for parking any of the three nights we stayed. The hotel itself is within walking distance of the historic parts of Chester. Overall it was an excellent hotel for the price. It was around 60 GBP per night. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoWithNaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,528 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
1.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel

Address: 20-24 City Road, Chester CH1 3AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Chester
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#3 Family Hotel in Chester
#7 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range: $62 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newest Premier Inn situated in the heart of the historic city of Chester, stay with us & explore the historic facades of the Black & White buildings, two tired rows of 1000+ shops. With its beautiful cathedral, range of exciting nightlife and cultural heritage. Chester is the ideal city break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing