We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, no complaints and highly recommended.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Ingleton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic, no complaints and highly recommended.”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights and chose to dine in the restaurant after long days out seeing the sights of Chester. We were very pleased overall and would highly recommend staying here. The service was top notch, the rooms were very comfortable and clean and the restaurant offered a good array of meals without being over complicated. Breakfast was also satisfactory and good value for money if you take the unlimited breakfast and evening dining offer in particular.
We would both very much enjoy staying here again and would absolutely recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Manager at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Chester City Centre Premier Inn. I look forward to welcoming you back very soon, Maria Stevens, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,205
    743
    201
    53
    29
See reviews for
407
1,119
71
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Excellent team of staff. Great breakfast, plenty of choice. Good location.
Car park very small so need to check in asap to get a space or use public car park, but this is common for city centre hotels.






  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gehowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Manager at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Chester City Centre Premier Inn and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Maria Stevens, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Great premier inn clean and very helpful staff. Breakfast was very good with good hot and cold choice. Rooms usual premier inn with tea coffee, TV, shower gel etc and the room has great air con.We were there for the races and the price was increased considerably above the £29 quoted by other reviewers even though we booked in January. They know that they can near enough ask what they want when the races are on, as all the hotels are busy. Shame they don't stick to the prices charged at other premier inn's.
Very quiet at night as security staff are employed to remind guests who maybe a little rowdy, that other guests are sleeping.
Easy walk into town under the subway and then into the main shopping street. Also close to the river dee and roman ampitheatre. Railway station 500 yards walk. Would stay here again but maybe not at race time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Had a 4 night stay at this premier inn and enjoyed ourselves.
We was given a disabled room which we had no need for but was advised the hotel was fully booked. I wouldn't say this was a great big issue, it was no problem for us really, the only negative if I'm being really picky is perhaps the lighting wasn't so great and the windows didn't open to let in fresh air.
The shower/toilet area was quite big, more of a wet room in some respects so that was good.
I would say the staff here were excellent, always smiling and helpful, check in and check out was easy and they held our bags after checking out whilst we went into the city before catching the train home.
The hotel is close to the train station, city centre and the walls, about a 5 minute walk if that so the location is excellent. Also 2 minute walk to the canal where there's a nice restaurant called Artichoke.
All in all pleased we chose and stayed at this premier inn.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Deano23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Manager at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Chester City Centre Premier Inn. I look forward to your next visit. Kind regards. Maria Stevens, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigglesworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We transferred to this hotel from the Premier Inn North West. When we arrived, all the paper work had been sent by email and we just had to sign in. This hotel, although in the centre has a car park with lots of spaces and a lift into the hotel.

We were on the 7th floor. The room was stifling when we got in so I went to open the window to discover that for security reasons, the windows were locked, unable to be opened although there was a lock and that you had to use the air conditioning - whether you like it or not. We put the air con on to cool the room whilst we ate in the Restaurant but could not sleep with it on as it was too noisy. We had a very sleepless hot night and we were both very tetchy the next day to say the least.

I must however comment on the restaurant attached to his hotel. It is very intimate and comes under the Thyme brand which we hadn't come across before. The meal deals are fantastic value. You can have two courses of anything on the menu, with no restrictions, get a drink and then your hot breakfast included. They also do deals on drinks during the week and weekends. On Thursday, you bought one drink and got one free including wine. Definitely worth the money.

In the end however, although we were due to stay three nights, we only remained for two as neither of us could sleep at all.

In understand the reasoning behind the windows being locked but Premier Inn should appreciate that not everyone wants to throw themselves out of the window. Perhaps window restrictions should be put in place so at least you can have some air in the room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annmariebetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed here for five nights on holiday in Chester with a three year old. The hotel is modern, clean and we found the staff very friendly. The location couldn't be faulted - Grosvenor Park was five minutes walk away for the wee one, there were plenty of eating places nearby (Bella Italia staff were particularly good with small children!) and we got the car parked close by, meaning just a short walk after an exciting day at the zoo.
I agree with other reviewers that parking could be tricky, we were lucky and managed to get the car parked in the hotel car park for two nights, but other than that, the street overnight (as long as you're out and away by 9am) was ok, and the station car park was a short walk away.
We ordered pizza from the bar one evening, after a tiring day at Thomas Land, Drayton Manor - the girl behind the bar was very friendly and gave our son colouring sheets to pass the time, asking him about his day and making him feel very important!
Our room was fine ( and for £29 a night - a complete bargain!), we appreciated the air conditioning, which we found quiet and efficient. We paid for a week's wifi, which was £10 for two devices - we were happy with that, as it was advertised at £3 a day. We had a room overlooking the car park, nice and quiet to ensure a good night's sleep. The cuddly toys which came with us were tucked into their bed each day after the room had been cleaned - always in different positions, which amused our son!
Reception staff answered every question we had, and we had a fabulous holiday! Would have no hesitation in returning here!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hootsmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Manager at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
We are delighted that your stay with us was a good one. Thank you for your comments. Our team members will be pleased to receive your feedback, as they endeavour to give all our guests a high level of service. Thanks for taking the time to review your stay; we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Booked a 4 night stay at this Premier Inn in order to take in the new sights of Chester and day trip out to nearby Liverpool.
Booked online with breakfast included for the steal of £232. Hotel is very simple to find. Just exit Chester station and follow the road immediately in front of you (City Road) for about 500 yards and there it is on the left just over the canal bridge.
No automated check-in here but Ana on the front desk was super swift and efficient. We were located on the top floor room 324. For what felt like a small hotel it housed a lot of rooms. Room as always was a carbon copy of every other Premier Inn. Layed out the same, and spotlessly clean. Just one point you may want to bear in mind at this hotel. All the room windows are sealed and cannot be opened. This might come as a shock for us fresh air lovers, but don't worry. The air is circulated within the room, and should you need it cooler just dial in the lowest temp on the air con and off you go. Great nights sleep as hotel is situated in a quiet part of the town.
Breakfast again is all you come to expect. Seated very quickly, and never getting too busy for a hotel that was occupying so many. You have all your usual tea/coffee and fruit juice, cereals and for us traditionalists, the hot buffet where you choose whatever you want to set you up for the day.
Locality to town was a five minute walk. You could take the direct route via the underpass or cross over by the cake shop (you have to see them) and walk round. If you fancy a more leisurely route, then turn left out the hotel and head straight down. This will take you to a beautiful park and down the river Dee. From there just amble along towards town.
Plenty to do in Chester - steeped in history, and a unique shopping precinct. Theres the wall walk which at a steady pace you can do in 45 minutes. Tour buses - try and get the vintage bus with Barbara and Lee that's well worth the money, and take a visit to the Cathedral.
As I said we also did a day trip to beautiful Liverpool, and being so close to the rail station it was effortless, and the train took just 42 minutes. Be sure to get the Liverpool travelcard for £5 which includes train links, buses and ferry over the Mersey.
A thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing trip, and with the good night guarantee, you can't go wrong here!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katman1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Manager at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. I look forward to welcoming you back at Chester City Centre Premier Inn. Kind regards, Maria Stevens, Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.7 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Address: 20-24 City Road, Chester CH1 3AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#3 Family Hotel in Chester
#7 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newest Premier Inn situated in the heart of the historic city of Chester, stay with us & explore the historic facades of the Black & White buildings, two tired rows of 1000+ shops. With its beautiful cathedral, range of exciting nightlife and cultural heritage. Chester is the ideal city break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Premier Inn and Hotel.de so you can book your Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing