We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Standard what you'd expect from a premier inn. Reception were very friendly and cheery and quick. The location of the hotel is pretty good, a few minutes' walk from the station and next to the canal and a really good Thai restaurant. Quiet both outside and inside. Everything clean. My room only had a shower, rather than a bath, but that's fine.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTwydale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Manager at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Chester City Centre Premier Inn. I look forward to welcoming you back very soon, Maria Stevens, Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,445)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,656 - 1,662 of 2,445 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in early August 2013. Central location. Station (also close to a cheap car park) about 5 minute's walk and the city centre about 10. Quite a few places to eat and drink close to the hotel.

In general our stay was good and what one would expect from a Premier Inn, however, we did encounter a few problems:

- some of the towels we encountered on arrival to our room had black stains on them; these looked like mould
- on the third morning some of the plates in the plate warming hotplate had not been washed properly and were dirty
- the hand wash dispenser (Carex) was faulty and would not properly dispense
- lack of shower gel in dispenser

Regarding the last point it seems the hotel had completely ran out of shower gel and so a staff member ended up giving us a half bottle of baby shower gel, which came to light as being someone's lost property. Points for initiative if a little inappropriate! I was, however, rather incredulous (as well as disappointed) that the hotel could find itself in such a situation. In any case I received a phone call from my manager this week to offer me one night's refund, which I have gratefully accepted.

It seems like the incident with a shower gel was a one off and I know it is a bit of a case of first world problems, but one of the reasons I pick Premier Inn over places like Travelodge is that complimentary toiletries are provided, which means less to pack.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tillyhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Manager at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

We are sorry that you were not happy with your stay at our hotel. At Chester City Centre Premier Inn we endeavour to deliver a high level of service in all our hotels, and we apologise that you did not receive this during your stay. Your feedback has been noted and will be duly investigated by the Management team at our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future, Maria Stevens, Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at the premier inn for two nights on 18th August and really enjoyed our stay. The staff were very helpful and friendly, especially at breakfast time when even though it was busy we didn't wait long and they sorted us out a table for 5 people. Breakfast was really good and the staff were always re-filling the food as soon as it was empty. The staff were very accommodating and very helpful at all times. We parked on a street a few minutes walk away which was free. The location was excellent just a few minutes walk to the main shopping centre. Ten minutes drive to the zoo which was an excellent day out. Would definitely recommend it and would stay again. Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Manager at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in Chester and at the zoo, I look forward to welcoming you back at Chester City Centre Premier Inn. Kind regards, Maria Stevens, Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My wife and I have just spent two nights here and got to say the hotel staff were fantastic, helpful and nothing was a problem for them, The hotel was clean beds comfortable rooms superb and would definitely stay again A+++

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shaun g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Manager at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Chester City Centre Premier Inn and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Maria Stevens, Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

very clean rooms,excellent servise, just love to sleep there. Stayed for two nights, all staff very helpful.The hotel was very busy due to summer holidays, but all the staff were amazing, especially during breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vasileios A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Manager at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Chester City Centre Premier Inn. I look forward to your next visit. Kind regards. Maria Stevens, Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here two nights and were completely satisfied with the quality and location. It was a short walk to and from the train station and also into the town. There was a slight snafu when we arrived as we were sent to a room that was already occupied but it was taken care of very quickly. Our room was very clean and quiet and had everything we needed. Breakfast was not included but we decided to try it there anyway and I must say it was excellent, a wide choice of things to eat and two very fresh fruit salads that were delicious. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank living-in-germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Manager at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Chester City Centre Premier Inn. I look forward to welcoming you back very soon, Maria Stevens, Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend for 3 nights, from 16th - 19th August 2013. We had a really lovely time. Couldn't advise on parking as we came by train, but everything about the hotel was really good. We had a 3 course meal in the restaurant on Friday night, Premier breakfast on Saturday and Monday mornings, and on Saturday night we even ordered a pizza from the restaurant to have in our room! All food was delicious (especially the pizzas - would recommend!!), staff were friendly and helpful. I would stay there again for definite if we go back to Chester :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurriie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Manager at Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in Chester I look forward to welcoming you back at Chester City Centre Premier Inn. Kind regards, Maria Stevens, Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#13 of 45 in Chester
1,794 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
0.1 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel

Address: 20-24 City Road, Chester CH1 3AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#4 Best Value Hotel in Chester
#7 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range: $77 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newest Premier Inn situated in the heart of the historic city of Chester, stay with us & explore the historic facades of the Black & White buildings, two tired rows of 1000+ shops. With its beautiful cathedral, range of exciting nightlife and cultural heritage. Chester is the ideal city break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing