We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Time, Lovely Food, Friendly Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Time, Lovely Food, Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Myself and my Husband stayed here for 2 nights Mid-September for a short break in lovely Chester. The location was absolutely spot-on, located a 5 minute walk from the city centre. The room was very clean, tidy and comfortable and after a very wet a drizzly day we were gratefull for the warm air-conditioning in the room. The restaurant on the ground floor was small but we got a table on our second night no problem without even booking - and the food was lovely. We would definately stay here again, the price was fantastic, and we managed to get a car parking space on the ground of the hotel for £6 a night - but there is a 24hr car park on the same road as the hotel which is charged at £5 per 24 hours. I can't comment on the breakfast as we did not eat on the morning at the hotel The only niggle I have is that the bed was a bit hard for me, but my Husband found it very comfortable. We will definately be using Premier Inn again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heatherjaques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,181
    717
    191
    49
    27
See reviews for
398
1,079
71
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Selected this hotel due to its location & price, but was also extremely satisfied due to the level of service provided, as well as the quality of the meals (meal deal) - especially dinner, which my family & I throughly enjoyed.

Room Tip: Car Parking is limited & access is difficult - so phone the hotel for full details.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hts0204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I'd be rating this hotel 2 stars if it werent for the really friendly and capable breakfast staff. Small and very basic, but clean rooms. Comfy beds. Well located for city centre. However, if you have a car then go elsewhere!!!! Very little parking on site for which the hotel will charge you extra. We were told that we left then there was no guarantee that we could park when we got back, but that if we were allowed back in that we would be charged all over again. The alternative is to park on the street where limits apply. Reception staff varried in their friendliness from helpful to terse. In summary, this is a well located budget chain hotel with none of the chararacter that is the rest of Chester. Full marks to breakfast staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomandben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

quiet walks or busy shopping,right on your doorstep. the staff are very kind and helpfull,and after a leisurely breakfast you are ready for anything,whether it be a walk down the canal side to the cathedral,or a short walk to the gardens and then the riverside.lots to do and see

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ray e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erl, Austria
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The town centre was just 10 minutes walk and the hotel itself was up to the normal standard or Premier Inns. They are always clean and tidy and this one was no exception. The bad thing about this one was however the noise. Do not stay here if you want a good nights sleep. We has a room at the back of the hotel and around 4 in the morning there were delivery vans down in the street below directly under our room. Although the double glazing did its best the noise of lorries and vans loading and unloading was terrible and we did not sleep from 4am onwards. Luckily because of the Premier Inn policy the receptionist did give us our money back. The hotel itself was good but let down by the noise. Food of of the general standard and well cooked. Meal prices are reasonable but if you have travelled in Europe be prepared to put up with a lot of grilled or fried foods most of which have been processed or deep frozen. Opened to order but definitely not to standards on the continent.

Room Tip: Do not get one at the back of the hotel where they load vans down in the street early in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pete_Irving_511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were visiting Chester for a friend's 30th birthday party, from the beginning our stay was pleasant, staff were curteous and helpfull. Reception even phoned a taxi for us.
The rooms were nice and clean and the bed was extremely comfortable.
The only thing I disliked was the fact that the cleaner was still cleaning my room when I arrived, and I had to move my bed back to its position myself (which wasnt heavy so it wasn't a big deal!)
Breakfast was a bit expensive!

Room Tip: Go out for breakfast!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heleddffion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed here for a hen weekend at the begining of Sept while we went to Chester Races. All of the groups rooms were together which was a bonus as in the past i have found groups sometimes get split up. Room was spotless, had plenty enough towels, pillows, blankets etc. Had adjustable heating/air con which is needed as the windows dont open. Staff were super friendly. Felt very secure to me as you needed your room card to get around the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Address: 20-24 City Road, Chester CH1 3AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Chester
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#3 Family Hotel in Chester
#7 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newest Premier Inn situated in the heart of the historic city of Chester, stay with us & explore the historic facades of the Black & White buildings, two tired rows of 1000+ shops. With its beautiful cathedral, range of exciting nightlife and cultural heritage. Chester is the ideal city break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and Booking.com so you can book your Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing