We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sunday Lunch in Chester”
Review of Barlounge

Barlounge
Ranked #45 of 586 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $39
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Barlounge is a cocktail bar and restaurant located in Chester City Centre Open daily from 11.00am until late, we offer our guests the opportunity to drink, dine and socialise in informal surroundings. Relax in the bar, catch up with friends on our sun terrace (heated & covered in winter) or enjoy a meal in the restaurant - there's something to suit everyone on any occasion.
Reviewed January 21, 2020

We visit Barlounge on a regular basis mainly for Sunday lunch. Staff are always pleasant and welcoming. Sunday lunch is consistently good and definitely great value at £13.50, which includes a glass of wine or beer. You can “upgrade” to larger portions for those with a big appetite. Although the food is great at other times Sunday lunch is definitely not to be missed if you in Chester on a Sunday.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,056)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 1,056 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2020 via mobile

We visit here It’s kinda our local. Always a great atmosphere. Excellent bar service.
Food is good not excellent. But the bar scene makes up for that. Highly recommended

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank alelol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2020 via mobile

Trendy bar/pub which is always busy. It has a nice atmosphere and always is always a nice place for a pit stop if you're out shopping.

I had the mulled wine which was a hit! It's always worth trying something new here or asking the bar staff if you aren't sure what to have.

The server was really friendly and chatty and made us feel welcome

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 279damiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2019 via mobile

Lovely place with nice booths to sit in. Helpful staff. Not a great choice of meals but was OK. Would of liked more choice on the menu. Ladies toilets were disgusting. These need cleaning more often.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank lalady2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2019

I've been a long term customer for 19 years + , had a meal tonight and was not over ally impressed

The menu has had several radical changes over the last couple of years , sadly for the worst. ( The best menu being 2 years ago )

The chicken skewers were excellent , the Tomahawk pork was sadly disappointing , with certain cuts presented to be inedible.

The menu offering is poor and cobbled together. I understand you want to evolve the menu however the choices offered are sadly poor and not value for money.

I will happily pay a premium for dishes to be served with good atmosphere and service , however the offerings on your menu need a rethink

Service remains a strong point and venue is well run, however Barlounge is no longer our go to venue for food with drinks. Hope the kitchen goes back to basics and sorts the menu out.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barlounge also viewed

Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Barlounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing