We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best food ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Simon Radley at The Chester Grosvenor

Simon Radley at The Chester Grosvenor
Ranked #11 of 547 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Simon Radley at The Chester Grosvenor, has held a Michelin star for nineteen years running ��� surely a record outside of London. Under the direction of Executive Chef Simon Radley the exceptional modern British menu changes seasonally and uses only the finest ingredients. The cellar is also renowned, having one thousand bins and a sommelier of prodigious knowledge. The dining room itself is as dashing as you would expect with comfy chairs, oriental carpets, fine woods, original artwork, ebony pillars and many-layered tones of gold and taupe. The service is distinguished by its warmth and professionalism. Top marks.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best food ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Excellent food of high quality which was well worth the money. The restaurant was very pleasant, the staff were well trained, polite and very professional. The whole experience made my night at the Grosvenor all the more wonderful.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Beverley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    60
    29
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Absolutly fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

I begged my husband to take me here for the 8 course tasting menu, it's expensive but worth every penny! The service was fantastic, from the moment we stepped into the hotel reception, we had drinks in the bar first which were accompanied with complimentary nuts and olives and once we had ordered were also brought some canapés which was a welcome surprise. My cocktail was £13.50 but delicious.
The tasting menu was divine and I loved every mouthful, my husband is a little fussier but tried a lot of food that he would not have eaten if I had given it to him at home.
Our favourite course was the Asparagus with plaice, lobster saveloy and clam juice - it was to die for, closely followed by the herdwick lamb with was cooked to perfection with breast carpaccio, sheeps curd & various other things...
The only grumble was that they offered us still or sparkeling water at the table which was aleady in an ice bucket by the table. We got through 2 bottles of the still water some how but they were £5 each which was not mentioned at all! Also the samphire was too salty, I know that it is naturally salty but it had definitely had more added which was not needed but other that that everything was perfect.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lainey_666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The perfect dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We had been looking forward to dining here for a long time and our expectations were exceeded at this superb restaurant. Staff were welcoming, friendly and attentive and the attention to detail was exceptionally good. We chose the 8 course tasting menu which is the more contemporary of the menu's. It was extremely good, being local I believe it is without doubt the best dining experience in Chester.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChesterFoodie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food with fantastic service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I chose the a la carte menu. Each of the courses we chose were delicious and servers were attentive and talkative without being overbearing. The only slight disappointment was with the canapés which we found to be pretty tasteless. However, the veal with curry flavours was probably the best dish I've ever had anywhere. Price is as to be expected from similar restaurants. Would definitely recommend a visit

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alf1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Horwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

We visited Simon Radley back in September 2013 and had one of the best meals we've ever eaten so returning this weekend we had some doubts if it could live upto the previous visit.

It's didn't disappoint !!

The service, quality of ingredients and attention to detail is superb.

Every dish we had was exceptional and the staff were again really friendly and professional. Nothing is rushed and you're treated in such a relaxing way. Attila the manager is great and runs a really tight team.

My only advice though is to ask the restaurant manager Attila to explain the dishes on the menu as they look and taste much much better than the brief menu descriptions.

Don't think twice about booking... It's a great restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simon Radley at The Chester Grosvenor also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Simon Radley at The Chester Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing