We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb evening”

Simon Radley at The Chester Grosvenor
Ranked #20 of 555 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Simon Radley at The Chester Grosvenor, has held a Michelin star for nineteen years running ��� surely a record outside of London. Under the direction of Executive Chef Simon Radley the exceptional modern British menu changes seasonally and uses only the finest ingredients. The cellar is also renowned, having one thousand bins and a sommelier of prodigious knowledge. The dining room itself is as dashing as you would expect with comfy chairs, oriental carpets, fine woods, original artwork, ebony pillars and many-layered tones of gold and taupe. The service is distinguished by its warmth and professionalism. Top marks.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb evening”
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

This was a birthday treat, and a real treat it was.
From the start the service was fantastic, staff were very knowledgable and attentive. Food was as good as it looked. Full of fantastic flavour, not the biggest portions but just enough.
Enjoyed the atmosphere and the plush surroundings.
Thought the price was reasonable for the overall experience and the originality of the food.
Not suggesting it is the sort of place you'd normally go for a meal, but for a special occasion this place will not fail to impress.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    62
    29
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“1st Class All Round”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

What a perfect evening from start to finish the service and food was exceptional. We were made to feel very special throughout the evening and the knowledge of the staff and the quality of the food was truly exceptional,

We as a family are used to slightly more traditional "lower end dining" however i would recommend this Gourmet experience to anyone its a real treat and a tribute to Simon Radley and all of his team, FANTASTICI

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveJulie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woburn Sands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Worthy of another Michelin star”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We travel regularly with friends on "Gourmet Breaks" and this restaurant is one of the best we have been to. The service was first class and the quality of the food and it's presentation was excellent. We cannot find any criticism of this establishment and would highly recommend a visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank maur2043630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Tip top”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

One of those strange situations when you overlook something on your own doorstep! I've lived in chester for many years and have eaten at the brasserie but never at the simon radley restaurant. On a whim decided to visit last night - Tuesday - and what a delight it was. Ok it's not cheap that's for sure but the evening was an utter delight. From the delicious food to the excellent service everything was a treat. Obviously not somewhere you'd just pop in to for supper but for an occasion or event it would make you feel very special indeed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMA_Chester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
104 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

I booked a romantic meal for me and my wife. Ordered the al a carte. Couldn't fault the bellini's we had, or the canapés, or the starters (tandoori chicken and Scottish hare). However the mains were cool, not warm and I believe John Dory isn't the best when room temperature.
Service was immaculate until we requested cheese as the next table needed a full half hour explanation of the cheese trolley which made us leave for coffees in the lounge.
Home made breads were amazing but room lacked some atmosphere.
We've had better at a lower price but worth a visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tonywarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simon Radley at The Chester Grosvenor also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Simon Radley at The Chester Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing