We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff and great food”
Review of Moules A Go Go - - CLOSED

Moules A Go Go -
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $32
Cuisines: European, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Though the name might conjure up images of dancing mussels, Chester’s Moules A Go-Go is a class act. Focusing on modern European-style cuisine, the restaurant is done up in rich, continental-style woods giving it a contemporary yet relaxed feel. Steak frites, fresh fish and rotisserie cooked meats all grace the a la carte menu, but you’d be foolish to miss some of the freshest mussels this side of the ocean. Brought fresh from the Anglesey cost, they’re freshly steamed in one of four ways: classique, mariniere, chorizo or green Thai cury. Friday and Saturday’s also sees the popular grilled lobster meals in, and a surf and turf with a rib eye steak and 1/2 a grilled lobster is a steal at £15.95.
Bolton
Level Contributor
159 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great Staff and great food”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We have been here a few times now and always come when we visit Chester. The Manageress remembered me, (my mobility scooter had run out of puff on one occasion and she charged it up for me).
We chose the deal of the day. Two courses and half a bottle of wine for £17. Can't beat that. We mixed up the starters so we could share. Both delicious and obviously cooked by a Chef. A must for me, I do not want to eat what I could do better at home. The mussels were good, as usual.
One downside to look out for if you are disabled is that the toilets are upstairs. It is an old building so make sure you go before you go....
The music in the background could have been better.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Velma44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    194
    60
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“chester racecourse for anniversary (54yrs)”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

dined here two consequetive evenings.Excellent food, friendly, attentive staff, great décor only one problem, commented on by another diner that was awful music. Cetainly not conducive to relaxed eating. I suggest something more like "piano-bar"background or Yvette Horner and her accordion.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bernard w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Mussels galore!”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

My partner has never had mussels before so we decided on 'moules a go go' because they have so many variations and you can either have them as a starter or main course. We went for them as starters so that he could try them without sacrificing his main course and they were pretty decent. I had a brioche burger with blue cheese for my main course mushroom sauce. We finished it off with a big ice cream dessert of my partner, so really pigged it. We had a bottle of wine and the overall bill came to roughly £70. I've read a few reviews complaining about the service but we had a lovely waitress who was attentive without being in your face.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stella H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food but poor service”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Excellent food but let down by very inattentive waiting staff who left us waiting in between courses for 30-40minutes without checking to see if we were OK for drinks and informing us of the hold ups.for both courses I had to personally get up to get their attention as they were too busy chatting to each other...big let down to an otherwise lovely meal

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S53mcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent once again...”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Once again and amazing experience in this fab place. Seafood spagetti ...was absolutely fantastic. The ham hock special with apple jam was divine. Service was spot on with just the right amount of attention, the restaurant was very busy and the atmoshere was great.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elarby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moules A Go Go - also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing