We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine tasting nights”
Review of Moules A Go Go - - CLOSED

Moules A Go Go -
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $32
Cuisines: European, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Though the name might conjure up images of dancing mussels, Chester’s Moules A Go-Go is a class act. Focusing on modern European-style cuisine, the restaurant is done up in rich, continental-style woods giving it a contemporary yet relaxed feel. Steak frites, fresh fish and rotisserie cooked meats all grace the a la carte menu, but you’d be foolish to miss some of the freshest mussels this side of the ocean. Brought fresh from the Anglesey cost, they’re freshly steamed in one of four ways: classique, mariniere, chorizo or green Thai cury. Friday and Saturday’s also sees the popular grilled lobster meals in, and a surf and turf with a rib eye steak and 1/2 a grilled lobster is a steal at £15.95.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wine tasting nights”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I have attended several of the wine tasting nights over the last couple of years and evry time they are well organised, good food and great value for money. The waiters are always attentive and friendly and will even give the odd clue!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank shelleydav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    194
    60
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Will definately be back!!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Visited mid week and was thoroughly satisfied with the experience. Staff are very friendly and service was excellent. While relatively quiet during our visit, the restaurant was comfortable and had a good atmosphere. Drinks prices are what you would expect of a restaurant. The food was really good and very reasonably priced.
Starters (pate and confit of duck) were excellent and very well presented. For main course, both my wife and I chose mussels - one with Thai sauce served with french fries and mayo and one with white wine, garlic, onion and cream sauce and crusty bread and butter. 1Kg. of mussels each, cooked to perfection in their own steamers and tatsed excellent. This was the star of the show and reasonably priced at less than £12 each.
We both struggled but managed a sweet and these were also very good.
We enjoyed our visit and will definately return again soon!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Split_and_Fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Brilliant”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

A wonderful place serving delicious food, wonderful service and a great atmosphere. We had the sea bass and mussels and they were superb! A great night out which is why we keep going back!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank rob c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Will be going again”
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommend this restaurant. Lovely food, great service and atmosphere. Price very reasonable to, considering the excellent quality of food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 869bex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised, great food!!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I visited this restaurant with 4 others, after walking past it in Chester when we were hungry, and giving it a go. We were all pleasantly surprised by the whole experience!
The staff were helpful, polite and helped to make you feel relaxed. The atmosphere is chilled out and a little bit different, and the furnishings really fitted in well with the restaurant's feel.
The food was what surprised us the most. Even though we ordered of the lunch time menu, there was a wide variety of choice, and the food was brought out quickly. I had the hand made burger, which I would thoroughly recommend, one of the best burgers I think that I've ever had!! The other four friends I was with all greatly enjoyed their meal too.

Definitely worth a visit here, and I will definitely be returning again!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Will_owen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moules A Go Go - also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing