We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So welcoming, so comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ba Ba Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ba Ba Guest House
Ranked #8 of 81 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Llandudno, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
“So welcoming, so comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed in this lovely guest house recently while attending Chester Pride and the Chester Marathon. This is such a warm, comfortable welcoming place in a quiet location just outside central Chester. We were able to get into the city quickly and easily to see the sights and enjoy our lovely weekend. Our room was bright, warm, beautifully clean and nicely furnished but my greatest praise goes for the warm friendly welcome and service, excellent breakfast too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    38
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
25
81
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We recently stayed at Ba Ba Guest House in Chester, as my Husband was running in the Chester Marathon. The family room was a good size and very comfortable. The owners Bill and June were very accommodating getting up very early on a Sunday morning to prepare breakfast for the marathon runner and then for the rest of the family. Nothing was too much trouble for them. I would highly recommend this guest house and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton
Level Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

For £85 for a very dated double room, with two single beds pushed together and a bathroom across the hall I was very disappointed.

The name, building and website lends itself to a more modern b&b and for that price I expect more.

The breakfast was lovely but cooked breakfast very small, with one egg, one sausage and not much else.

What I can say however though on the plus side. The service was good. The location also good and you can check in at 12pm. Parking also around the back. It's also spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SkiptonPhoebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

This was our third visit to the Ba Ba and felt like it was coming to visit friends. Nothing is too much trouble for June and Bill. The room we stayed in was excellent, as was the breakfast. Excellent, would recommend the Ba Ba to all. Hope we will have many more visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank _gma_486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Ba ba Guest House is the ideal place to stay in Chester. Great location just 10 minutes walk from the city centre and if you don't fancy the walk there is a bus stop right outside the door. The owners are very helpful and informative. We stayed two nights for chester Races. We had room 6 on the top floor which is huge, containing a big double bed and two sofas. It is the closest hotel in Hoole Road to the city centre. Would stay there again tomorrow.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HerefordFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We Have Stopped at Lots Of Guest Houses In Chester, As We Go Alot To The Races. This Years Turn was The Ba Ba Guest House On Hoole Road. We Only Stayed Overnight This Time, But Without Doubt Its the Best we Have Stayed In For A Long Time. Room 6 In Which We Stayed Was Very Spacious And Had All The Amenitys You Would Expect From A Well Run Establishment. Excellent Service, Brilliant Breakfast, And Very Nice Host's. Would Defo Recommend This to Anyone. No More Looking at Reveiws For Us, As We Will Be Booking Back To The Ba Ba Guest House For Future Raceday Stays In Chester. Geoff & Gay From Blackpool

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

The BaBa Guest House is a very nice establishment, with everything you would expect from a B&B; friendly atmosphere, a hearty breakfast and lovely, compact rooms. We were on a tour with Rabbie's Trail Burners, they had booked a triple room for us (as requested) at the BaBa for two nights. The walk to the main attractions in Chester takes approximately 15 minutes, but you have some supermarkets and some great places to eat much closer to the B&B as well (try The Faulkner - always busy at evenings, but a great option if you do not want to go all the way to Chester to eat!). All in all, I cannot fault this B&B; we felt very welcome here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gargoyle416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.6 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
1.2 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
1.2 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chester Stone Villa
Chester Stone Villa
#1 of 81 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ba Ba Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ba Ba Guest House

Property: Ba Ba Guest House
Address: 65 Hoole Road, Chester CH2 3NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ba Ba Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ba Ba Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing