We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet another Culinary Triumph”
Review of Olive Tree - CLOSED

Olive Tree
Price range: $59 - $99
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Olive Tree may be in Chester, nestled in the sumptuous womb of the Green Bough Hotel, a luxury Victorian townhouse hotel, but for all the world it can feel like you've been transported to Tuscany. Rich Italian wallpaper and beautiful Italianate oil paintings grace the walls. Happily, you can take your time absorbing the space - a table is yours once seated. Savoy-trained chef/patron Philip Martin brings together an eclectic mix of aromas and flavours in an extensive, weekly-changing menu of innovative dishes epitomised by assiette of seafood - a delightful offering of red mullet, brill and king scallops; and Mediterranean vegetables with goats' cheese and parmesan crust. On cold evenings, it's nice to sit nibbling canap��s by the smouldering 17th century lounge fireplace. Attentive service.
Northallerton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yet another Culinary Triumph”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Taking advantage of the "Gourmet Break" offer for 4 nights, we decided that we would each try something different each night and compare notes. The menu had something for everyone - I particularly liked the Scallops for starters and either of the main fish courses of Halibut or Sea Bass. I enjoyed the Lamb and, unlike the person at the next table, did not find it "boring and innocuous", but rare and tasty if he didn't like it, why did he wait to clear his plate and then complain? One of his companions complained about the fish, saying it had coriander in it - there was no coriander in the fish (I had the same dish) and obviously, there is something wrong with his taste buds. Again, why wait until the course has finished and then complain? The time to complain is when it is first placed before you and you've had your first taste, THEN. if it's not right, send it back, don't wait!!!!!!!. We love The Olive Tree and always eat there when we come to Chester. We would recommend it to anyone.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    12
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I was there ......at the Olive Tree”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I have just returned home from a weeks stay at the Green Bough Hotel which includes the Olive Tree restaurant.On the night that "Ray H " has written about ,well I was there on the next table!!!.He had his back to the rest of the diners so I wondered if that was how he missed the friendly intimate ambience in the dining room.Maybe he isn't used to eating the excellent cuisine or tasting the fine wines on offer at thr Olive Tree.We,that is several other diners apart from ourselves noticed the near empty plates as they were taken away.Surely if you aren't happy with your meal you complain before nearly emtying your plate.
My companion and I are in the lucky position of being able to stay and dine at the best hotels and restauarants in the country.We consider the Olive Tree to be one of our favourites......or why would we keep going back whenever we have the opportunity.
Thank you Philip,Janice Michael and Kylie and the staff we don't see, especially Chef for making our stay as enjoyable as ever
See you soon .

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pllyryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Olive Tree Restaurant Chester”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

It was our first visit to the Olive Tree Restaurant on Hoole Road Chester and it will be our last.

From the start the the whole restaurant experience had a 70's Fawlty Towers feel to it. The menu's were overcomplicated and missleading. The waiter had no idea. he twice tried to an order when someone was missing

Two of the three starters were ok as it's difficult to spoil scallops, the pidgeon breast however was tough and tasteless.
The main course "Lamb" was supposed to be served pink and it was overdone, tough and tasteless. The fish would have had no taste if it weren't for the corriander.

We didn't stay for anything else and were still presented with a huge bill. There are so many good restaurants in Chester, it's difficult to see how this place can survive.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great place for quality food and service”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Expensive but good quality food with excellent service, would eat there again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HEATHER H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“delicious”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

second visit to the Hotel and restaurant.The food was lovely and try as I might I still can't quite recreate it home!!! Thanks again to all the staff who work here.We had great food,a great room and a great stay :-).Will be back for restaurant,hotel and lessons at Cheshre Cooks :-)

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank haymark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive Tree also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing