We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent.”
Review of The Red House - CLOSED

The Red House
Price range: $13 - $38
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Boasting stunning views over the River Dee from the glass-concealed dining room, Et Alia at The Red House offers a sophisticated Mediterranean menu with international accents. A state of the art restaurant in Chester, cutting-edge design throughout includes terraced decking pods, Andrew Muirhead leather furnishings, and cool LED mood lighting. Et Alia at The Red House is a fashionable local favourite for a refined 3-course meal, elegant lunches, and stunning Bar.
Newmilns, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent.”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We celebrated our Golden Wedding there. The location by the river is great, the food was excellent and the staff and service were superb. Cannot recommend it highly enough.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidWAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    58
    33
    31
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham Wales
Level Contributor
133 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“good imaginative menu”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We called in to the Red House for a late lunch. We have been here previously, though not for some time and have always enjoyed the food and the views of the River Dee and in the distance Chester.

The staff were welcoming and friendly, the food was excellent and the bill was reasonable.

Very enjoyable.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RAYKAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views, Food Not So Great”
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Visited The Red House on a Wednesday night as an adult family of 4 - there was only 6 other people in the restaurant.
The restaurant itself was beautiful (watching the rowers on the river, the sparkly lights covering the ceilings and mood lighting behind the bar).
I ordered the chicken which was not the best quality and the topping was over powering. However, dessert was lovely a citrus pie topped with meringue.
Rather pricey and wouldn't rush back.

Helpful?
3 Thank Tummy-hunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
93 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Went here last Sunday to celebrate our son in laws 40th birthday We were given a lovely table with a good view over the river.The staff were very attentive and made sure that the two children in our party were well catered for.The food was amazing-we all opted for the roasts either pork or chicken and the portions were enormous!! Probably why there was nothing left for the 3pm party(earlier review).We went at 1pm which is a good time to go if you are expecting lunch-the restaurant was full and everyone seemed to be eating the roasts and enjoying themselves.I cannot fault this restaurant in any respect-we have been on numerous occasions and it always delivers quality.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Welshflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Booked a table for 10 family members to share hubbys 50th birthday for a sunday roast 3 weeks beforehand via email.Arrived at 3pm and seated downstairs.On taking our order we were informed that they only had a choice of pork or chicken (even though the menu clearly states a choice of 3 meats) .....then we were told that they only had 2 pork and 3 chicken left......I explained that we had pre booked the roast and it was only 3pm and they had ran out!! After choosing alternatives and feeling disappointed we were then informed that they could do a lamb shank as a roast which is what the remainder of our family ordered......a few minutes later we were informed that there was no roasters left...but we could choose between mash or chips.....the meals were lovely as was the lacation.......but to run out of roast meats at 3pm on a pre booked party was unacceptable.Despite an appology and 20% discount I would not recommend.The meal was spoilt and anyone arriving after us would not be able to order the sunday roast.We complained at the time and I have since emailed the manager with no response.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharon s S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing