We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views- perfect for afternoon tea”
Review of The Red House - CLOSED

The Red House
Price range: $13 - $39
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Boasting stunning views over the River Dee from the glass-concealed dining room, Et Alia at The Red House offers a sophisticated Mediterranean menu with international accents. A state of the art restaurant in Chester, cutting-edge design throughout includes terraced decking pods, Andrew Muirhead leather furnishings, and cool LED mood lighting. Et Alia at The Red House is a fashionable local favourite for a refined 3-course meal, elegant lunches, and stunning Bar.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great views- perfect for afternoon tea”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

It was a lovely day and with such gorgeous views a perfect setting for afternoon tea.Lovely fresh sandwiches and scones and a good selection of cakes. Very friendly staff Will visit again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lynne f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    58
    33
    31
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food , great views !”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were staying in the area for 3 nights & I wanted to arrange somewhere a bit different to eat on the middle night , so after looking on TA I decided to book us a table for the Thursday night . Ordinary looking building from the road , but brilliant views at the rear.....tiered property & gardens , down to the River Dee . VERY quiet the night we were there , so they were only using the top level , not the larger lower level (joined by a spiral staircase) . Food and service were both excellent . Only criticism....why would you spend a fortune on a huge amount of glass , to give people fab views over the river , and then leave it grubby ??? Maybe it was because we were there towards sunset & the way that fading light was coming at the restaurant , BUT all that glass seemed like it really needed a good clean ! Really nice food though !! Ric & Joyce

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray S, Owner at The Red House, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your review and observations. You are quite right, the conservatory really does need a good clean, however, due to the persistent wet weather and Health and Safety issues associated with physically accessing the glass areas we have been both delayed and frustrated with carrying out the works.
That being said our specialist window cleaning contractors are scheduled to carry out a complete 'sparkle clean' to all glass areas on Friday 14 June at 6.30AM.
should you be in the area once again then do joins us for a free glass of bubbly and to admire the fabulous views once again. Kind regards, Ray Stalker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A splendid night out with friends”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

It was a brilliant meal and the wine was excellent. Our waiter looked after us. It was so nice I probably ate a bit too much :-)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sparehead3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“second time round”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Following a previous visit that had not gone too well, we visited the Red House for a Sunday lunch. What an amazing difference this visit was. Fabulous efficient service, beautiful Sunday lunch and sweets to die for. We could not fault the meal, service or ambiance at all. An absolutely excellent meal and we will definitely be returning. Many thanks to everyone for such a lovely day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marianm2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellesmere port
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely views relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Visited here for lunch with my husband on a week day food was nice views are lovely will visit again soon

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank louiseEllesmerePort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red House also viewed

 
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing