We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from Home!”
Review of Shenley Lodge

Shenley Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shenley Lodge
Ranked #28 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Kusadasi, Turkey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Home from Home!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed for six nights. Lovely, spacious, well-furnished room with only one problem. The bathroom was tiny. However that was more than cancelled out by the excellent breakfasts and the kindness and warmth shown by the owners, Angela and Kevin. Just 15 minutes walk to the City centre and a bus stop virtually outside the place. Excellent value for money and would have no hesitation in staying there again and in recommending it to others.

Room Tip: Our room was No. 3. Perhaps another room would have a larger bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monsoonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    19
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
36
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nuneaton
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I only stopped for one night but found the hotel very good value for the money. The service and quality of room was on a par with hotels at twice the price. Angela and Kevin are very friendly hosts and add to the whole enjoyable experience. The breakfast was very good. It’s a 10/15 minute walk into the town centre or a taxi from Chester town to or from the Hotel was a very reasonable fixed rate of £3.50. I would certainly stop again. Nigel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigel e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hi, stayed at Shenley lodge for one night and was welcomed by the hotel's owner with a very warm welcome, was shown to my room which was very nice and clean and had an en-suite bathroom.

Breakfast was served from 0730 onwards and was nice with plenty of choice of cereal etc.

There is a nice Chinese restaurant just up the road if you are hungry and is only 10 minute walk from the station.

Would stay there again.

John Coles
Portsmouth

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

From the minute you arrive Angela wants to ensure that everything is perfect for you. Stayed in the king family room at the back of the house which has one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. No back pain the next day at all which is huge for me ! The room itself is a bit dated and I personally think the shower room could do with getting upgraded, a bit mix and match and I don't like carpets in shower rooms - but all things taken in to account, £60 per night for the two of us was great. The breakfast was enjoyable and very relaxed. The location is good, you can walk into the town centre if you want to and a few restaurants in the direct area, the B&B is up a side street so no major traffic noise and there's off street car parking which is fantastic. Free wi-fi in the B&B was a bonus not expected.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FiEverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

A warm welcome greeted our arrival. Our room was extremely comfortable and quiet quiet considering how near we were to the city centre. Chester has a great deal to offer and was well within walking distance. Plenty of off-street parking - excellent breakfast in a comfortable dining room: no take-away food in rooms, which is quite normal, but plates etc were available in the dining room at all hours. Strongly recommended. This was a repeat stay.

Room Tip: Try for a room at the back of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I had a very relaxed and enjoyable stay at Shenley Lodge, and not being situated on a main road made for a quiet unbroken nights sleep in a comfortable bed. The room was very clean with all facilities in place. Angela and Kevin are very friendly hosts and add to the whole enjoyable experience. The breakfast was very good. should I visit Cheshire again I would not hesitate to call them again for a room. Overall excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We checked in for a pre booked 1 night stay but soon changed our minds. The room needed a good clean. The tired decor can be excused but basic cleanliness should be a pre requisite. Due to it being Chester races weekend, we couldn't find alternative accommodation and had to return 100 miles home. We had read good reviews prior to booking regards cleanliness, however, our experience was totally different. If you are happy to stay in a room with other peoples hair in the bed and a filthy carpet, not to mention the moths and cobwebs, then book here.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.1 mi away
Chester Court
Chester Court
#16 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belgrave
Belgrave
#39 of 44 in Chester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bawn Lodge
Bawn Lodge
#18 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#26 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,027 reviews
0.2 mi away
Devonia Lodge Guest House
0.1 mi away
Chester House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shenley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shenley Lodge

Property: Shenley Lodge
Address: 6 Newton Lane, Chester CH2 3RB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Shenley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing