We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'A very good place to stay'”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shenley Lodge

Shenley Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shenley Lodge
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Great Yarmouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“'A very good place to stay'”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I had a very relaxed and enjoyable stay at Shenley Lodge, and not being situated on a main road made for a quiet unbroken nights sleep in a comfortable bed. The room was very clean with all facilities in place. Angela and Kevin are very friendly hosts and add to the whole enjoyable experience. The breakfast was very good. should I visit Cheshire again I would not hesitate to call them again for a room. Overall excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    19
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
35
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We checked in for a pre booked 1 night stay but soon changed our minds. The room needed a good clean. The tired decor can be excused but basic cleanliness should be a pre requisite. Due to it being Chester races weekend, we couldn't find alternative accommodation and had to return 100 miles home. We had read good reviews prior to booking regards cleanliness, however, our experience was totally different. If you are happy to stay in a room with other peoples hair in the bed and a filthy carpet, not to mention the moths and cobwebs, then book here.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Fantastic little b & b on the outskirts of Chester. Clean rooms, friendly owner and an excellent breakfast is to be had by all. We have stayed here a number of times and will continue to come back! Excellent value for money for the location

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steviewood1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

A great B&B! Big thanks to Angela who was extremely sweet to us as we had a wedding to attend and she kindly arranged to have our room ready mid-morning so that we could get ready in plenty of time. We were given a very warm welcome and nothing was too much trouble for Angela and her husband. The bedroom was a good size and very comfortable and the whole B&B was very quiet at night. Breakfast was lovely and filling and we were able to walk into Chester city center in about 10 mins, We would definately recommend the Shenley Lodge to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Homegirlblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Very good value for money,with really nice,helpful people running it.Good location with plenty of pubs and restaurants nearby(try the Hoole Indian).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WatfordHog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

A very enjoyable four night stay. Counld not fault room, breakfast or welcome. The location was also ideal, with an easy walk to the town centre but also easy access to the zoo and other venues farther away. We had the family room with the 6 foot bed to get lost in!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niggy9786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Angela made us feel very welcome. Service was excellent and breakfast was just right. Bedding was spotless and rooms more than adequate.
Host even provided transport to our party free of charge.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.1 mi away
Chester Court
Chester Court
#16 of 44 in Chester
237 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belgrave
Belgrave
#41 of 44 in Chester
177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bawn Lodge
Bawn Lodge
#19 of 44 in Chester
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#28 of 44 in Chester
1,985 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chester House Guest House
0.2 mi away
Devonia Lodge Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shenley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shenley Lodge

Property: Shenley Lodge
Address: 6 Newton Lane, Chester CH2 3RB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Shenley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing