We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holly House Guest House
Ranked #45 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed with our family of three in the cottage Holly House provides for two nights. Location was very good, close to the city centre and also in a very nice upmarket area. Mercedezs helped us booking bikes and arranged a lovely picnic basket for a days outing on the countryside, which the whole family enjoyed. The scones she made in the afternoon were delicious, and our daughter loved the blueberry pancakes for breakfast. Both Mercedezs and Balazs welcomed us in an excellent way! We can truly recommed Holly House for anyone going to Chester.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Fredrik W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    42
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
36
81
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hoasts is what made Holly House so special. The little things, like, a welcome card, chocolate's etc in your room. The breakfast is absolutly beautiful. Rooms and house were spotless. Mercedez and partner are the best hoasts we've ever had, including 5 star hotels we've stayed in and meny B&B's. We will be staying there again in the future!!

Thank you Mercedez and partner, you were wonderful,
See you soon hopefully, Rhodri and Tracy.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trevdavies30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at this lovely relaxing place and was offered the annexe situated to the rear of the house and what a treat that was. The customer service was great and the homemade scones were a treat. It's a shame we missed breakfast but we'd most certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LloydB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed only one night with Mercedes and had to rush back home. Wish we could have stayed longer. Conveniently placed to walk into chester and the local shops are fascinating!
Room was very nice with some lovely touches, and the coffee on arrival most welcome.
Breakfast was very good too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janeymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly_House_Chester, Manager at Holly House Guest House, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We say thank you very much for the words of appreciation. These comments make us to be devoted heart and soul to this grateful work. Every day, we meet interesting, nice and kind people. They give us enthusiasm for the day. We are very thankful to all of our guests who has been helped us to promote Holly House Guest House and supported us to run this guest house at a high standard. We are looking forward to seeing you in the near future. Kind regards, Mercedes & Balazs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We were short time in Chester but liked very much this atmosphere. The guest house was very frindley and clean. Staff was very greatful helpful and breakfast delicious and hertly. Special thanks Mercedes and Balazs because are doing excellent job. We will back again in the next year longest time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterpan680902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stayed here at short notice and booked the Annexe which is separate from the main property. this had a double bed and a single bed in a separate room. arrived 9pm ish and was still warmly welcomed. breakfast was great and the service very good throughout my stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richp1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed 2 nights for a shopping trip; the guest house is close to the city centre (20 mins walking slowly) right on the bus route if you don't want to walk in. Mercedes and her partner only took over 2 months ago but are doing a very good job; friendly and helpful without being intrusive, eager to please. the room was comfy and food good. there is a good Chinese restaurant across the road and handy convenience store round the corner. ideal base for exploring the area, parking available.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.0 mi away
Bawn Lodge
Bawn Lodge
#18 of 44 in Chester
278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chester Court
Chester Court
#16 of 44 in Chester
250 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glen Garth Guest House
Glen Garth Guest House
#46 of 79 in Chester
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Limes Guest House
The Limes Guest House
#53 of 79 in Chester
76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Devonia Lodge Guest House
0.1 mi away
Hamilton Court Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly House Guest House

Property: Holly House Guest House
Address: 1 Stone Place | Hoole, Chester CH2 3NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holly House Guest House, an award winning guest house located in Chester. This 1850's house has been tastefully decorated and comfortably furnished, and is situated in a quiet cul-de-sac within a short walk to Chester City Centre, and close to all visitor attractions. Chester has to offer, ie Chester Zoo and Cheshire Oaks Retail Outlet village. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing