We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't do enough to make you feel welcome”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holly House Guest House
Ranked #45 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Couldn't do enough to make you feel welcome”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stayed here at short notice and booked the Annexe which is separate from the main property. this had a double bed and a single bed in a separate room. arrived 9pm ish and was still warmly welcomed. breakfast was great and the service very good throughout my stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richp1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    42
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
36
81
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Windermere, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed 2 nights for a shopping trip; the guest house is close to the city centre (20 mins walking slowly) right on the bus route if you don't want to walk in. Mercedes and her partner only took over 2 months ago but are doing a very good job; friendly and helpful without being intrusive, eager to please. the room was comfy and food good. there is a good Chinese restaurant across the road and handy convenience store round the corner. ideal base for exploring the area, parking available.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lagos
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The couple that run the guest house give such a warm and friendly welcome. From stepping into the bedroom we were very well taken care of, welcome with tea and freshly made scones.
Breakfast was very intimate and the food was refreshing, made with love it seems and tasty.
I have told a few friends and we will be revisiting this little guest house to explore Chester again.

Top points for friendliness!!!

Room Tip: Just book in advance especially bank holidays
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ifita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Excellent service very clean room with tea, scones and the best smile ever from Mercedes to greet us. We were in the annexe, a converted garage that was really well furnished if a little unusual in layout. Breakfast was good but a little overcooked

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We arived very late but was warmly welcomed. The house is tastefully and expensively decorated and the personal touches make it different from others we have stayed in. like the single flower and the welcome card our room. The shower gel and shampoos in the bathroom and the home made preserves, and yoghurt for breakfast and the classical music playing quietly in the background whilst in the dining room. The breakfast was lovely it even had a sprinkle of parsley on the cooked tomatoe another little touch. The hosts, who had only been their for a month, were lovely and very efficient. and the room although a little small very comfy. Chester is lovely,. Will definately reccommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wakely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bochum, Germany
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Holly House Guest House really is the best place to stay when visiting Chester. I stayed for a period of 5 weeks in total and enjoyed not only the tasty breakfast but also the warm atmosphere created by Balu and Mercedes. The self-made scones are awsome. The host and hostess will do pretty much everything to make your stay a pleasant one. I sure will be back :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annalisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our 2nd visit to Holly House, and just as pleasant as our 1st visit. We took our two young children this time and once again stayed in the annex. Perfect for a small family (if the kids don't mind sharing a single bed?) Breakfast delicious and always nice to be greeted with tea and scones. We'll be back again same time next year!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxW17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.0 mi away
Bawn Lodge
Bawn Lodge
#18 of 44 in Chester
278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chester Court
Chester Court
#16 of 44 in Chester
250 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glen Garth Guest House
Glen Garth Guest House
#46 of 79 in Chester
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Limes Guest House
The Limes Guest House
#53 of 79 in Chester
76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Devonia Lodge Guest House
0.1 mi away
Hamilton Court Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly House Guest House

Property: Holly House Guest House
Address: 1 Stone Place | Hoole, Chester CH2 3NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holly House Guest House, an award winning guest house located in Chester. This 1850's house has been tastefully decorated and comfortably furnished, and is situated in a quiet cul-de-sac within a short walk to Chester City Centre, and close to all visitor attractions. Chester has to offer, ie Chester Zoo and Cheshire Oaks Retail Outlet village. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing