We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best ones!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Chester Central
Ranked #30 of 44 Hotels in Chester
north of england
Level Contributor
133 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“One of the best ones!!!”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed at Chester central this past week for two nights, have stayed here a few times now and would recommend without a doubt. It is in the best location for sampling the delights of Chester, just opposite the amphitheatre, also the park going down to the river nice 5 minute stroll. Located literally 2/3 minutes walk up to the main shopping street with lots of shops, bars and restaurants. The room was nice, had the new furnishings, basic but adequate for a night or two. Only gripe I had was there was no bath, all shower only except if you have a family room. Telly was a bit puny not as good as the new Premier Inn ones where we went onto in Manchester. Having said that you don't really go away to watch telly do ya? Staff friendly and helpful, all in all a great Travelodge, certainly one of the better ones.

Room Tip: Have stayed in a few and all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duck72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    194
    116
    51
    53
See reviews for
133
226
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Came here for the last day ay Chester races with a group of 20 +, perfect location and does what it says on the tin, pleasant view over the amphitheatre and located within easy walk to races, river side and Chester Central, would definitely book here again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I stayed here with a friend, with whom I came to Chester with on a night out clubbing. Upon arriving at the hotel, we were greeted by a pleasant lady who clearly explained pretty much everything we needed to know about our one night stay.

Upon entering the room, the air con was on full, leaving us to feel like we had just ventured to the Antarctic, but as we were leaving the hotel pretty much straight away, we turned it off and the left the room to warm up a bit.

The room was large, clean and realistically all we required for the night's stay. Being a Tuesday night, the room was priced at £42 for the two of us, which we thought was quite reasonable for something so centrally located. The quality of the bed was great - very comfortable.

I'd almost certainly consider using the Travelodge Chester Central again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brody C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Excellent central location with a car park just a few minutes walk away. Very nice, clean room with very comfortable bed! Friendly and helpful staff. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Lisa U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed here with work a few weeks ago. The room was typical of Travelodge and none the worse for it. It was clean and comfortable enough. All the fittings were new.

However, the weather was quite warm at the time and room was much too hot - it made for quite an uncomfortable stay. The windows can be opened until they're just about 'ajar' - for health and safety reasons no doubt - so the room was never really cool. Nothing could be done about it either, seemingly. My colleagues had the same issue in the their room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ATaylor494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge Chester Central, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for your review ATaylor494. We do expect all of our customers stays to be as comfortable as possible so it is regrettable to learn that your room was too hot. Unfortunately not all of our hotels have air conditioning, however we do have a number of fans available from reception on a first come, first serve basis. Thank you for staying with us and we assure you that all customer feedback is provided to the hotel directly which helps improve the service they offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chester hotels

lancaster
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

One night stay to have a look around chester & take our son to the zoo , great greeting at reception , very clean room and large ! Bed comfy , tea & coffee, no toiletries though must be standard
Great location , 2 min walk to the river
Went to seargio Italian restaurant - think that's how you spell it ! Delicious !
Parking opposite will cost you £12.50 24 hour stay
Will Defo be back !

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank clairelorobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
334 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

The hotel was in the centre of Chester, which was a nice location, the problem is there is very little parking in Chester. So I had to park in the NCP just around the corner. It was only when I mentioned this that the member of staff offered me a ticket that got 20% off the NCP car park. However the ticket didn't work in the NCP machine.
Otherwise the hotel was fine for a basic, cheap hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
693 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Commercial Bar & Hotel
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,610 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Chester Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Chester Central

Property: Travelodge Chester Central
Address: St John Street, Chester, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Chester Central 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Chester Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Chester Central Hotel Chester
Chester Travel Lodge
Chester Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing