We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“business”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Chester Central
Ranked #30 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“business”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

stayed here on a business trip as thought it was a good location and central for what I had planned. Room was dusty and bed sheets and cover covered in holes. Dirty bin in the bathroom. only good thing was the size and comfort of the bed even if the bedding didn't look to good.
Staff ok but didn't seem very interested when after waiting over 5 minuets at reception I asked for extra towel ...and extra coffee as only one of each had been supplied.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manchester-toffeeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Chester Central, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
We are sorry to learn of your disappointing stay at our Chester Central hotel manchester-toffeeman. We want our customers to have an enjoyable stay with us so it is regrettable to learn that the standards have fallen below our expectations. Our rooms should always be clean and we also expect our linen to be in a great condition. We also expect our staff to be engaging at all times and we’d like to be able to raise your concerns with our hotel management and investigate further for you. Please can you select the contact us button on our website to provide your booking details and please be sure to indicate that you have contacted us via TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    182
    111
    50
    50
See reviews for
126
210
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my 2 friends when going for a night out in Chester.

It was centrally located and there is an NCP car park 5 mins walk away. The room was a decent size and the bedding was clean. The single bed wasn't very robust. It was like a foldable guest bed with a mattress on and the duvet was very thin.

The bathroom was a decent size although considering there were 3 of us, not many towels had been provided. I'm sure if we'd have asked, more would have been provided.

Due to its central location, it is quite noisy outside, but it did quieten down. There seemed to be an air con system in the room, which was very noisy during the night! We couldn't figure out how to switch it off, or if you could switch it off!

There is a bar next door which serves food and we were able to get a cooked breakfast there, although you could buy a continental type breakfast at reception.

We only saw staff on arriving and leaving, but they were very pleasant and friendly.

I'm not sure for £85 that it was worth the money. I think in hindsight I'd have rather have paid a bit more, and stayed at the premier inn. It did serve its purpose however, and there were no major issues.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jodie_1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Very convenient location. Close to shops, restaurants and amphitheatre. Staff very helpful and friendly. The new King size bed very comfortable but the single beds were not as comfortable as the old style bed settee. Really good value

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Check in was very pleasant and hassle free. The room was very, very clean, especially the bathroom and shower area. The hotel it self is in a fantastic position, with being literally 3 minutes away from the River Dee and the city centre is also very easily accessible too. Overall, very neat room with crisp, clean sheets and an excellent locality. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

This hotel is about a one minute walk to the famous clock in Chester City Centre and you cannot get much closer than that!
The hotel was clean and relatively new. As you would expect from such a hotel, the facilities are quite basic (the price reflects this) but what do you expect?
Very close to restaurants for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Would I use the hotel again? You Bet!

Room Tip: Any room will do
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nodalino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaenau Ffestiniog, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

A very standard Travelodge. Room was clean. The location for the city centre is perfect. Would stay again at a sale/bargain price but would not pay any more than that. No car park but the out of city park & ride service is efficient & good value.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thatfamilysays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We Booked a STANDARD DOUBLE room for nye...But we got a DISABLED...TWIN! Most disappointed. When we complained we got told "you'd already checked in" the young lady found us another room, great we thought...the only problem was this room had people in it...half clothed people!!! After 45mins of embarrassment, stress and hassle I asked for a refund and had to book another hotel!....i'm still waiting travel lodge for a refund!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LewisEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Chester Central, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
We are sorry to learn of your recent disappointment LewisEB. We are sorry that you were not allocated a double room as booked, whilst we appreciate you were disappointed with the accessible room however please be assured that the same facilities are provided in all of our rooms to ensure great nights sleep. We do not expect a customer to be given a key to another customer’s room; we do have specific procedures in place to prevent this from happening so it is regrettable to learn that you were given a room which was already occupied. We’d like to be able to contact you to investigate further so please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chester hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Commercial Bar & Hotel
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Chester Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Chester Central

Property: Travelodge Chester Central
Address: St John Street, Chester, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Chester Central 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Chester Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Chester Central Hotel Chester
Chester Travelodge
Chester Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing