We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kilmorey Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kilmorey Lodge
Ranked #33 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

This is an excellent guest house! Staff are friendly and welcoming, rooms are clean and the breakfast was perfectly cooked. Tea, coffee and bottled water are provided in the room, plus nice little extras, such as facial wipes.

It is 5 mins walk to the shops/pubs of Hoole and about 15-20 mins walk into Chester itself. There's parking at the guest house, but the car park is very small and difficult to get in/out of. However, there is plenty of free parking on the road outside.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    24
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
31
36
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pavia, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

If you want to stay in Chester for someday I suggest you this smart and and clean guest house. The house keepers are very kind and smiling (a very good thing when you have your breakfast). My room and my bathroom were tiny but very clean . Breakfast was rich and good.I stayed here 21 days last summer and if I'll be back to Chester I choose Kilmorey again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GiulioMusik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

The three of us stayed here on 4th Jan and found a welcoming host, good, clean, comfy accommodation with tea and coffee making facilities, and a good sized bathroom, plus a hearty breakfast the next morning.

This is all that we had hoped for, and would not hesitate to recommend to anybody looking for a b&b within walking distance of the city centre.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 5 which is probably one of the largest, but is on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sufftrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilmoreylodge, Owner at Kilmorey Lodge, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you for your feed back, we really appreciate you taking time to do this. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and if you decide to visit Chester in the future we hope you will consider staying with us again. Jo and Gary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Modernised well presented guest house in the Hoole suburb of Chester. It takes around 20 mins to half an hour to walk into the city centre mainly along one road which was excellent fort he price paid. Rooms were clean and offered tv as well as tea/coffee making facilities. The only downside was that the water pressure of the electric shower in our room was poor although it was very modern and clean.
Breakfast was served in the front room and although there wasn't enough tables for all of the rooms the staff would come and knock at your door as soon as space was available.....only about 5 mins. The breakfast itself was excellent with either a full English or continental made to order. I would definitely stay here if I came to Chester again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

stayed here for one night, gorgeous room bed comfiest ive had slept in, missed breakfast as still asleep!! so unfortunately cannot comment on that. Hostess was really lovely and welcoming would deffo go back

Room Tip: Room one newly decorated with the best nights sleep you will have!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights to do a little retail therapy in Chester. Spacious immaculate room with four poster bed which was so comfortable. Tea/coffee making facilities. Breakfast was great too with a wide choice including cereal, juice, continental and full english. The hosts are great. Nothing was too much trouble at all. The location is 1 mile out of the city centre. We used to walk in and taxi back which only cost £5. The room was immaculate. Lovely comfy bed with tea/coffee making facilities. Great time was had. Will definately be back.

Room Tip: Four poster bed is soooooo comfy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blakey_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed at Kilmorey Lodge for a family weekend break in Chester and chose it for the location mainly. The location was good, although a little further from the centre than we thought, it wasn't too far and taxi was only £4.50 when we went back in for dinner. The location was great for the zoo too. The hotel itself was lovely. Modern style and clean with really comfy beds. Our room was a little noisy from traffic but did not bother us too much. Breakfast was delicious and kept us going nearly all day at the zoo. Great people too, really friendly & accommodating-even providing a glass of milk for our daughter at bed time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilmoreylodge, Owner at Kilmorey Lodge, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thanks for posting your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and your daughter had a great time at the zoo. We are situated just over a mile from the Cross which is in the middle of town and usually advise people to walk in to town to save car park fees. Car parking is free after three. It was nice to see you found us family friendly.
Thanks again Gary and Jo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Bawn Lodge
Bawn Lodge
#19 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chester Court
Chester Court
#16 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bowman Lodge
Bowman Lodge
#41 of 79 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lavender Lodge
Lavender Lodge
#14 of 79 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chester House Guest House
0.2 mi away
Ba Ba Guest House
Ba Ba Guest House
#8 of 79 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilmorey Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilmorey Lodge

Property: Kilmorey Lodge
Address: 50 Hoole Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilmorey Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast accommodation situated 1 mile from Chester City Centre. Our non smoking establishment offers comfortable affordable accommodation within our well appointed spacious en-suite rooms. Each room has the benefit of tea/coffee facilities, TV, radio alarm clock and hairdryer. Free parking, CCTV and Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Kilmorey Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilmorey Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing