We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely fantastic stay, a lovely boutique hotel! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Oddfellows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oddfellows
Ranked #8 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic stay, a lovely boutique hotel! ”
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed at Oddfellows for a pre-Christmas getaway. We were so pleased that we booked here as our stay was perfect from beginning to end.

The location is ideal to explore Chester... if you can bring yourself to leave the hotel! The bar and outdoor potting shed area are beautifully decorated - the quirky touches just set the hotel apart from the rest and ensure that it's memorable!

We stayed in a classic double, which was extremely comfortable and stylish too, a great size and so well decorated. The lite breakfast option is a great touch and went down very well indeed.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone - we certainly will be back to sample a few more of the fabulous cocktails and try out the restaurant too!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lady_kates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    255
    84
    45
    28
See reviews for
143
561
9
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
wigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

went for anniversary.nice hotel, lovely room would come again. only a few points. not sure about the toilet door being frosted should be solid or on the same floor as the double shower(not sure honeymooners or new couples would like this). breakfast waiter on second day bit of a mish mash needs to be as good as the previous day's waiter and not to say dont worry to everyone all the time. the itemised bill needs work, not much good if it has costs for lunch on but you havent had lunch and then they say sorry,' if your breakfast gets posted on after 10am then it appears as this.' very easy to rectify and surprised it hasnt been noted before.

rooms and bar areas very good and probably going to book in January as a very good rate advertised. all staff nice smile and hellos....barman very good!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merlin667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

The place is amazing, the staff are attractive, clean and well dressed.

The food is delicious! There's also a good choice of food for all types of meals throughout the day.

I love the Interior, I wish I lived here!!


I will be back!!

Well done all you odd fellows!!!

Xx

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carolchester1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay overnight but visited The Garden Restaurant to celebrate a friends special birthday. The food was of an outstanding quality, the service was brilliant and the staff friendly, efficient and approachable. I highly recommend a visit to this restaurant if you're ever in Chester.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stayed here at the end of October for a couple of nights during our visit. A great location situated right in the centre of Chester. Our room was the Newbrook loft which was very nice with a mezzanine with a pair of powerful showers and basins. The room was spacious, had a sofa, a desk, tea & coffee facilities and a large screen tv on the wall. The round bed looks nice but we found it to be 2 semi circle mattresses pushed together and I have to say I`ve slept better ! The hotel itself is clean, nicely decorated with a bar inside and an outside bar, which I imagine would be busy during summer. Continental style ish breakfast is left outside your room after leaving a menu & time the night before. All the staff we encountered were polite and helpful. Oddfellows is full of unusual factors and is not the usual run of the mill hotel. All in all, we had a pleasant stay and would return.
ps the Italian La Fattoria opposite is fab.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mancnige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed here recently for my OH birthday at the weekend. The hotel looked fab very different to what I was expecting. We liked the free complimentary breakfast and the location of the hotel but there were a few things that we disliked about this hotel.
Firstly we were told there might be some noise at night as the hotel is very popular for nightlife which we didn't mind as we would probably be joining them...lol. However we were woken on both mornings at about 8am by gardeners, drilling and window cleaners. When this is something that the hotel is organising you'd expect them to do it at a reasonable hour.
We also disliked the general 'are you sure you should be coming in here' approach from staff when entering the hotel. I run a very successful business but that doesn't mean I have to walk around in a suit all day when I am not working.
We also got locked out of the hotel both nights in the cold and rain for about 5 mintues while we tried to get in. Not what you would expect from a hotel in this kind of price bracket.
The coffee making machine had no instructions and while I tried a few times to use it the coffee was always too strong which meant that we had to go out for a coffee in the morning. The room was nice but very compact and the shower is a glass cubicle in the middle of the room luckily we were happy with this but some might not be also the bathroom didn't really have a door on so using the toilet in front of your partner could be embarrassing for some.
The book said the password for the Wifi was on the desk, looked and couldn't find it ended up calling reception a few times before could get it to work and the radio while being a lovely DAB classic style had virtually no signal so listening to it was impossible.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLACKPOOL
Level Contributor
166 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

A lovely hotel with a slant on the normal hotel theme and layout. Staff were helpful and attentive. The bar area was very busy as accepts non residents but a good atmosphere. We didn't eat in the restaurant but was also busy both nights. The outside area is great to relax even in the cold as burning log fires dotted about. The bedroom we stayed in (10) was perfect with a cosy feel although spacious and a great round bed for a perfect night sleep. Parking as with some other city centre hotels in Chester is a pain although the NCP is within a short walk.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DPG62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
4.9 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,013 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#28 of 44 in Chester
1,985 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,574 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oddfellows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oddfellows

Property: Oddfellows
Address: 20 Lower Bridge Street, Chester CH1 1RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oddfellows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a hotel, bar and restaurant, Oddfellows brings a fresh and unique experience to Chester. The 18 exclusive boutique bedrooms each have their own charm and combination of iconic and contemporary furnishings. The design of the bedrooms is inspired by architect John Douglas who designed Chester’s landmark Eastgate Clock, cinematographer Peter Newbrook who brought the Oscar-winning Lawrence of Arabia to life, and the illustrator Randolph Caldecott whose humorous images were simply irresistible. Complete with The Garden by Simon Radley -our Mediterranean-inspired restaurant - and The Secret Garden - a unique indoors/outdoors oasis; Oddfellows provides the ideal escape... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oddfellows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oddfellows Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing