We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Oddfellows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oddfellows
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Anniversary treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for our anniversary in may. Fab location and easily walkable into town. Really quirky and unusual hotel and the rooms are amazing, our room even had a huge round bed. Can't wait to stay again next year.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    256
    84
    46
    28
See reviews for
143
565
9
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Balsall Common, UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a Newbrook room which was filled with lovely finishing touches and great decor. It had a king size round bed which was the comfiest I've ever slept in and the shower was great. As other reviews have mentioned, the room is open plan and the shower doesn't leave anything to the imagination! This wasn't a problem for us, but I'd imagine it wouldn't be to everyone's taste.

We had a few drinks in the outdoor bar which is a lovely mix of outdoor planting, comfy stools, and ornaments (and patio heaters!) It's got to be seen, and at £7 for two drinks, I don't think it's too expensive. The waitress service was also a nice touch.

The whole hotel is full of quirky little touches which makes it unique and interesting (and beautiful).

I'd definitely recommend Oddfellows, as the hotel and the staff working there were all great.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanette72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

had afternoon Tea. On 25 may at Oddfellows have to say very nice indeed. I had booked it for a
special Birthday Treat for a friend. had asked to be seated in the Bar but on arrival I asked could I have the restaurant instead well the staff where more than helpful to change me over to the restaurant
we had a nice table looking into the garden as it was a warm sunny day the doors where open but very nice all in all. and the garden was well kept. the afternoon tea was very Good and the Champagne as well Love the Decor of this hotel would go again. well worth a visit the staff gave a very good service all around.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gel6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, Wales
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Beautiful hotel with unique decor. Stayed two nights in a Caldecott Classic room and had a lovely stay. Sizeable rooms with comfy bed and amazing shower! Tasted a few delicious cocktails from the bar. We enjoyed our relaxing break so much we booked our next stay straight after we got home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMG18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

After leaving our previous hotel after asking for a full refund we took to trip advisor to find a quick alternative. Oddfellows did not disappoint. The staff are great from check in to walking you to your room, showing you were everything is.

The hotel is decorated and furnished in a quirky but brilliant way.

Our room (number 4) was finished and furnished to a high standard and was spotless. The facilities in our room were second to none with a coffee machine, huge shower and a stand alone roll top bath. The bed was very comfortable.

The hotel itself is situated perfectly 2 minutes walk from the centre but just enough to be quiet at night.

The complimentary breakfast consists of a pastry, yoghurt, apple and fresh orange juice delivered to your door ready for when you wake up in the morning. However a full cooked breakfast is available to purchase also.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quality hotel at a resonable price for chester centre.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjaast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I have only stayed here on the one occasion so far. I have to say, Oddfellows has certainly raised the standards here.
My room was a standard double and it was to a very high standard with some nice finishing touches.
The restaurant & bar prices are slightly above average, but you don't have to eat and drink their if you don't want to. There is a real nice italian restaurant just across the road if you want to keep your costs down.
All in all, an excellent hotel with well trained staff and fantastic standard in the rooms.
I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed with my wife whilst attending a business function nearby. unbeknown to us, we were upgraded to a suite, which was just fantastic. Set on two levels; the ground floor had a wet room shower, fridge, Blu Ray player, smart TV, corner sofa and view of the gardens, and the Mezzanine had the bed, another smart TV, and bizarrely a bath tub at the end of the bed!
Staff were attentive, atmosphere was great, and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scruntfuttock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
4.9 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#28 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oddfellows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oddfellows

Property: Oddfellows
Address: 20 Lower Bridge Street, Chester CH1 1RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oddfellows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a hotel, bar and restaurant, Oddfellows brings a fresh and unique experience to Chester. The 18 exclusive boutique bedrooms each have their own charm and combination of iconic and contemporary furnishings. The design of the bedrooms is inspired by architect John Douglas who designed Chester’s landmark Eastgate Clock, cinematographer Peter Newbrook who brought the Oscar-winning Lawrence of Arabia to life, and the illustrator Randolph Caldecott whose humorous images were simply irresistible. Complete with The Garden by Simon Radley -our Mediterranean-inspired restaurant - and The Secret Garden - a unique indoors/outdoors oasis; Oddfellows provides the ideal escape... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oddfellows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oddfellows Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing