We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oddfellows
Nearby Hotels
$120
$100
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$63
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$94
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
ABode Chester(Chester)
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$89
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,289)
Filter reviews
1,290 results
Traveler rating
796
299
109
56
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
796
299
109
56
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe secret gardenafternoon tearound bedquirky hotelalice in wonderlandodd fellowsduplex suitecircular bedpaper bagdouble showernespresso machineroll top bathmini barbar areamy partnerno liftyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
1,230 - 1,235 of 1,290 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2011

staff and well stocked bar are a god send!! with quirky decor and heated outside area very nice indeed.

one small criticism do find one gentleman (whom im told is the GM) to be very sour faced, not the friendliest person you will come across it such a great venue, shame (a smile costs nothing) but if you dont come across him, then a great night will be had!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kitty34_1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

In our beautiful room at Oddfellows - looking forward to a relaxing nights sleep. But no chance thanks to the dance music and shouting going on in the private party room immediately below us. Even the floor is vibrating with the bass. Apparently it states that excessively loud music will be played in all confirmation - which we didn't receive! Mind you for that matter neither did we receive the brochure we requested until the third time of asking.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TimLomax3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Having booked Oddfellows well in advance of our stay we were phoned four days before we were due to arrive to say that our room was double booked and there was no room for us. i can't say how disappointed we were and when I inquired, to two different members of the so called management, as how this oversight had happened i was told that "if i had listened in the first place that they didn't know how it had happened and then "not to play one another off against each other" I decide this was not the place for us after all. If this is how they treat you before you even arrive God knows what teatment you get when you are actually there.
Don't touch it with a barge pole

Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
5  Thank janton76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Wonderful hotel, has the wow factor but unfortunately some of the staff did not meet the expectation one would have for such an establishment. On arrival struggled with several flights of stairs as we felt awkward accepting the offer to carry our bags by the young lady who showed us to our room. This would be a massive problem for anyone with a disability as there is no lift. The room was very trendy, however we quickly discovered that the toilet had not quite been cleaned properly - eww. Not wanting to make a fuss, we did not complain. This would change by the end of our visit. Lighting in the bedroom was no where near sufficient for anything but chilling, almost impossible not to have a Bridget Jones make-up moment as there was not a suitable place to do make-up or hair. No counter space in bathroom either.
Reception staff friendly and helpful - HOWEVER-we returned from our night out to have last call in the hotel bar. All was fine and well until the music was switched off as all of a sudden we felt very unwelcome even though we were residents. We were told gruffly by 3 different members of staff that we were not allowed in certain areas of the hotel until we pointed out that we were residents. This made us feel very awkward. To top it all off as we began to go upstairs to our room we were stopped by a very rude bouncer who demanded "Where do you think you are going?" To which we replied that we were residents and was there some other way we should go to our room? To which he simply shrugged and gave us a dirty look and permitted us to pass. What a sour end to a lovely evening. Breakfast server was extremely disinterested and we could go on and on but lets just say it should definitely be a mandatory requirement that staff be thoroughly trained in customer service excellence. Quite disappointed that after sharing our feedback with the person at reception upon check out, there was an apology but no offer of a gesture of goodwill such as discount off next stay or reduction in our room rate for that night. She was very polite, although said that no one else seems to complain, but did not seem to go the extra mile as we do in our own business. 50/50 chance of a return visit.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

In todays world where everything is homogenised and your "hotel experience" is the same wherever you go, it's positively jaw-dropping to come across a hotel that manages that most difficult of tricks; being unique without being clever-clever, "kooky" or "quirky".
Oddfellows is a magical place, where every room has its own character and the staff are without doubt the most friendly and professional I've come across.
To call Oddfellows a hotel is slightly misleading however- at present it only has four rooms (but 2012 will bring 14 more). But what rooms! Ours had double baths, timbered roof, a TARDIS sized shower (bigger on the inside than it looks) and a bed big enough for a netball team.
There are dining rooms for parties (and for dining) and two bars, both of which are sumptuously decorated and an outside area complete with Bedouin-style tents.
The restaurant is small, but again, beautifully designed and the food was outstanding. I had the lightly curried batter cod, thick chips and mushy peas, which was the best fish'n'chips I've tasted, while my wife had a delicious slab of plaice. Again, the service was exceptional.
The following morning, we had breakfast in the "Breakfast Room" which is actually a separate cafe which has a delightfully off-kilter feel. Everywhere you look is a point of interest.
But I think the biggest recommendation I can give is this; we had but one night and one morning in Chester, one of the UK's most beautiful cities. We checked into Oddfellows at 5;30pm; we didn't leave the building again until we checked out at 11am the following day. How many hotels can you think of that you would actually prefer to stay in than go out and experience the glorious city outside? Myself and my wife - mainly through work- have stayed in many hotels in many cities. Oddfellows, along with Tinakilly House in Ireland, is one of those rare cases where everything....just....works. But for God's sake don't tell anyone - it'll be our secret, OK?
R Easter

Room Tip: There are only 4 rooms, but pay a few quid extra for the King Suite. It's gorgeous.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews