We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Attic Chic and Gastronomic Perfection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oddfellows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oddfellows
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Attic Chic and Gastronomic Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

This is a terrific, romantic place to perch for a night or two. The attic garret rooms, sexy tubs and double showers and big king beds just beckon you to get frisky with your partner. Or collapse into a nap, which is what we did when we first arrived. And our meal in the restaurant was perfect - an explosion of flavour and freshness we will not forget. I would make a special diversion to return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenMark2907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    249
    81
    42
    26
See reviews for
133
551
9
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

Great food, portion sizes small though for price. tables inside cramped even when not busy. Lots of staff around but sometimes forgot basics like cutlery. Lovely decor. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma_Birrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

Stayed at the hotel on a Sunday night to celebrate an anniversary. The hotel is realy quirky and interesting. The staff were all excellent and made us feel very welcome and at home. We stayed in room 1 with the 2 baths which was very comfortable and very quirky. We would definately stay here again when in Chester.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David123Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

My wife arranged an overnight stay for us In Chester for my birthday and I was completely blown away by this place. I dare anyone not to be taken aback by the decor and feel of the whole place.
We stayed in Room 1 (the one with the 2 baths) and it is absolutely magnificent. We had a great bottle of wine ready for us in our room and I felt so relaxed from the moment I set foot in there.
We had dinner in the garden in a private area I can only describe as a kind of bedouin tent. The food was absolutely devine!!!! We followed this with a cocktail in the bar area and I couldn't decide what to have so the head barman came over and asked what sort of thing I fancied. I said something with summer fruits and he said he'd create one for me!!!!! It was great by the way!!
All this and you couldn't wish for a more central location to explore Chester! YOU HAVE TO STAY HERE!

Room Tip: I've only stayed in Room 1 but I doubt it can be bettered
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bristow1559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed in the room with the 2 baths (not too sure which number it was!). The room itself was very different, the bathroom spectacular (you will not have seen anything like it) and the bed extremely comfortable. The staff were very friendly and came up to give us a lesson on how to work the tv!
We had been warned that it could be noisy on Friday night - but we didn't notice this and slept really well. However you do get the feeling that this is a young and trendy hangout so I guess it does get noisy at times.
The hotel's location in the centre of Chester is perfect for exploring this wonderful city.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

I have stayed at Oddfellows three times already and each time I am made to feel welcome by the energetic staff. It's quirky and unique; room decor is one-of-a kind and artsy. The beds are SO comfy - it's tempting to sleep in. Especially good: the food and wine choices are the best I've had anywhere in the UK.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank candyland123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

Perfect from start to finish , We could not have picked a better venue we were looked after from the moment we arrived for my daughters wedding on saturday 28 may 2011. Catherine who welcomed us could not have made our stay any better nothing was to much trouble, the wedding was on Sunday 29th may from the moment we went down for breakfast we felt totally spoilt by the fantastic staff always friendly and most helpful .they made our daughters day so special .Food was amazing,Rooms were fab.To Catherine and staff a big thankyou well deserved.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suemoore12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
4.9 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,963 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oddfellows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oddfellows

Property: Oddfellows
Address: 20 Lower Bridge Street, Chester CH1 1RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oddfellows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a hotel, bar and restaurant, Oddfellows brings a fresh and unique experience to Chester. The 18 exclusive boutique bedrooms each have their own charm and combination of iconic and contemporary furnishings. The design of the bedrooms is inspired by architect John Douglas who designed Chester’s landmark Eastgate Clock, cinematographer Peter Newbrook who brought the Oscar-winning Lawrence of Arabia to life, and the illustrator Randolph Caldecott whose humorous images were simply irresistible. Complete with The Garden by Simon Radley -our Mediterranean-inspired restaurant - and The Secret Garden - a unique indoors/outdoors oasis; Oddfellows provides the ideal escape... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Oddfellows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oddfellows Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing