We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap Meal, Great Service!!”

Toby Carvery Hoole Village
Ranked #240 of 555 Restaurants in Chester
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Toby Carvery Hoole Village. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings - including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Chester's favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Cheap Meal, Great Service!!”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed at the Travelodge next door as its close to Chester Zoo and had an eveing meal at The Toby Carvery.

We were seated straight away. Drinks were brought to the table by a very cheerful waiter who was trying to clear mess left by previous customers ( I wouldnt have been so happyl!!)
We looked at the menu and the sweet menu that was on our table (and everyone elses!) but decided on the carvey. We were told to make ourselves at home and get our food whenever we were ready.
The atmosphere was nice and relaxed and very friendly.
There was lots of variety meat and veg, sauces and gravy. My husband said he wasnt really hungry and then ate a really big plateful. He is a fussy eater but you wouldnt have known!
It cost us just short of £20 for the meal and a few drinks each. I think that is very good value for money!
We then waddled back to the Travelodge to sleep it off!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sallysarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    117
    77
    52
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Utterly disgusting...”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Food was ok, but the waitress had a bad attitude on them. Menus say £5.95 for a carvery yet we were charged £9.99 and spoken to like we were a piece of dog mess when we queried it. Drinks turned up late and the food was average. We all wanted a desert but didn't have a menu with them on and the waitress didn't come round to ask us if we wanted one, so we just left. Raised a complaint with head office to be told that the manager would call us back, which, surprise surprise, hasn't happened yet.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sigainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“a good cheap feed”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

you cant really complain about this place the meals are £6 and for that most of the time you get a great meal unless the chef carving is depressed or pissed off for some reason then you get hardly any meat. but this doesn't happen too often. You do get the odd mutant family in there from time to time mainly sundays!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jonathan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
168 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Dinner 21/09/2012, Good Point: Our waitress - Beka - was very good, very attentive, friendly and efficient. Bad Points: We found the Yorkshire Puddings to be totally inedible, we couldnt get our knives through them, and the "knickerbocker glory" was simply tinned fruit in ice cream. Disappointed

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alli_Ram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Toby Carvery Hoole”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

On our way back from the Liverbird cruise we once again called at the Toby Carvery Hoole Village Nr Chester. We have called there several timeson our way back from club trips. We were met at the door by a pleasent young lady who showed us to our tables there were 23 of us in the group plus the coach driver. Once again we could not fault the meal it was excellent as was the pudding afterwards. It is excellent value for the money

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Derek T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toby Carvery Hoole Village also viewed

Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Toby Carvery Hoole Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing