We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chester House Guest House
Ranked #3 of 76 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2010

The only good thing about this accommodation was the young girl who checked us in. She was extremely helpful & polite throughout the stay. Our room(which can only be described as an outhouse) was damp including the sheets on our bed. We noticed a humidifier box in the corner. Also the bathroom door did not close at all and when my partner did manage to shut the door it took us half an hour to get him out!! The breakfast was average. We were not once asked if our room was ok. Had we not paid on check in I would have refused to pay the full price which was £175.00 for 2 nights stay. Diabolical for what we got. I would avoid this hotel at all costs. This was meant to be a special weekend away as a birthday treat but due to this hotel our weekend was not so special.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emason55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chestersbestbandb, Owner at Chester House Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2010

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your stay for Chester Races. As advised to you on check in we want to know about anything whatsoever that disappoints you during your stay but we had no feedback from you. Many of our guests have commented about our wonderful refurb that has taken place over the Winter with antiques, historical paintings of Chester, the old Servants quarters bellbox, the free WiFi as well as the wonderful selection on offer at breakfast time.
Following your comments we have had our damp course engineer check the room and has confirmed that no damp exists in the room. We have no dehumidifier in the rooms and so can onlymagine you may have been referring to our electric wall heater in the room that compliments the central heating if ever required. The bathroom door handle, which you did not advise to us was causing you a problem had been snapped off by you. We have since replaced this but would of course have welcomed a comment by you advising us of the difficulties you had experienced so we could have put that right for you. Sorry to hear you did not enjoy our Fresh Brewed Coffee, Fruit Teas, English Tea, Hot Chocolate, muffins, bacon, tomatoes, local produced sausages, locally produced barn eggs cooked to your liking, mushrooms,tomatoes and fried bread. We even cater for such special diets as gluten free, wheat free and even GM free. Furthermore we always request guests to advise of anything else they would like to be added to the breakfast selection but sadly you did not do this. So sorry that out of all of these items none met your satisfaction. The rate you paid was a Chester Races rate and not our usual £82 deal for a Triple Bedded Room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (530)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

491 - 497 of 530 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2010

we went to Chester house for our birthday and was very happy with our choice, the rooms were nice clean n tidy as shown on the pictures. nothing was to much trouble everyone was really friendly. the breakfast was gorgeous. they made our stay really enjoyable definitely a birthday not to forget.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cassie100491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

As returning guests we were disappointed that on the middle night of our 3 night stay a group of lads on a 'Stag Weekend' were staying at the hotel. They were very noisy on their return around 3.30am and kept it up for quite some time. On complaint to the staff in the morning the problem was dealt with and was not repeated the following night. Breakfast as usual was great, but somehow they forgot to warm the plates and the food soon went cold. The staff here are very friendly and welcoming and make you feel at home. I would recommend this hotel to friends but would advise to check if there are any 'Stag' or 'Hen' groups staying.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonfollower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

Travelling with 2 teens - great to find a place with 4 or in this case 5 beds in room. All enjoyed the free wifi, the tele. The staff was great and very obliging. One minus: we would have liked to have just a tiny window looking to the outside! - All windows were frosted in our room. Chester is a charming town - much to look at, and ok for a look into North Wales too. All four enjoyed their 2 night stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fruLund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

Booked this after seeing the video thought it looked fantastic and good value for money.On arriving all looked ok till we were asked for full balance and we hadent even seen our rooms yet (if only we had ).We had booked a double and a single roon alarm bells started to ring when i was escorted outside and down an alley to room 8 (the single) floor needed a good hoover and dust,the worst was the bathroom just about managed to sit on the loo the space between it and the shower was nil.Pokey shower no room to move .Dident even take the clothes out of the bag the wardrobe was less than desirable and it smelt musty.No plugs to plug in electrical goods.Poorley finished.
The double room started with a very hard door to open once we got in just about enough room to move around the bed.The bed looked comfy till we sat on it then we realised we were going to roll together very soft and mattress too small for the bed by at least 3 inches each side.The bathroom was ok but you could tell it was a bad diy job.
Cant fault the breakfast really good.
We dont normally complain but we had paid a lot of money and this was not a good start to a holiday in fact we were rather disappointed to put it mildeley.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guernsey76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chestersbestbandb, Owner at Chester House Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2010

Many thanks for your review regarding your stay with us. So sorry that it seems you did not enjoy yourself with us. As mentioned to you on arrival we prefer our guests to settle on arrival so that we are not delaying our guests on checkout due to us serving other guests at our busiest time in the morning. Of course we also ask all our guests if they would like to see there room before settling the bill. You where allocated our room 1 which is a wonderful room with double bed with high quality firm mattress (Bad and mattress only 3 weeks old and many people already have commented how wonderfully comfoortable the bed is), with double glazing, secure free WIFI, lovely wall mounted flat screen digital TV, hairdryer, lots of fluffy towels, extra pillows with Egyptian Cotton Pillowcases, toiletries, tea/coffee making facilities with a lage ensuite room offering wonderful invigorating power shower, double glazed privacy glass window with window blind, bath mat and two towel rails. The single room you also booked during your stay to atttend a Wedding at the Grosvenor Hotel is in our Anex which is very peaceful. This is our only single bedded room which is why it is priced accordingly. The room again offers Free secure WIFI, a single bed with designer mattress, desk, mirror, Digital TV the bathoom offers a clean facility with shower cubicle, WC, towel rail and wash basin. Of course we also include a hairdryer, toiletries lage fluffy towels and bath mat as standard. After the first night you mentioned to my staff that you wanted to be closer to your family and so we upgraded you FREE OF CHARGE to one of our Large Twin bedded ensuite rooms but sadly I notice you have not recognized this gesture. We pride ourselves on cleanliness,high levels of service and the wonderful offers we have available to all our guests such as reduced priced tickets to Chester Zoo, Cheshire Oaks discounts together with 20% off your food bill at some of the best restaurants Chester has on offer. All our wall pictures and antiques relate to Cheshire providing that true Chester Experience. Our guests are of the highest importance to us at Chester House and we always ask our guests to let us know if there is something we are doing wrong so we can put this matter right. The only fault you brought to our attention was the need for your family to be close together and so as mentioned earlier we provided a free upgrade. I am sorry this did not please you. Anyway we are so pleased the Wedding Day went well and hope that this still gives you pleasant feelings about your vist to Chester. Thank you for your valued contribution. Wishing you a wonderful Summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2010

Stayed two nights, rooms clean and warm, front bedroom noisy with traffic would be worse in the summer with windows open. Church opposite practice bell ringing on Thursday evenings for approximately one and a half hours. Good shower although the hot water took a long time to come through, comfy bed, excellent breakfast, good parking, short walk into Chester. Helpful proprieter.
A few things I didn't like, you are on closed circuit tv whilst dinning, why? no second knife supplied for your toast and butter, you had to use your breakfast knife. Used cups in room were not washed out, nor tea or coffee replaced. The bed was tidied as against remade. No pillowcase for the spare pillows in the wardrobe. No heated towel rail in bathroom so unless you draped your towels on room radiator there was nowhere to dry them.
The guest house was ok for what we needed which was a short break, not as good as other b&bs stayed in, but could be excellent if attention to detail was given.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pastelman10Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chestersbestbandb, Manageress at Chester House Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2010

Hi and many thanks indeed for your comments. We do welcome all constructive comments and without everyones help we cannot further develop our wonderful B&B for all our guests old and new.
As you are aware we are a very homely accommodation offering a book swap facility in our library, Free fast secure WiFi to all our guests, discounts to Chester Zoo, Cheshire Oaks, discounts to 2 of Chester best restaurants as well as free entrance to Cruise. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay but found the Church Bells annoying when you had your window open in Room 1 which overlooks onto the church across the road. Sadly I cannot alter this for you other than to say the windows are all double glazed and do take the noise away when closed. We have fans in all our rooms and this can be useful if we get a warm spell (lets hope we do). All our rooms have plenty of extra pillows all with pillow covers and pillow cases wrapped up hygienically in air tight zip bags. I am suprised to learn that you say your pillows where loose in your wardrobe. I must apologise for this. You mentioned about not having a towel rail heater in your bathroom. All our bathrooms are pleasantly warm and have plenty of towel rails and hooks. We do try and do our part in asking our guests to help protect the environment and reuseing there towels but also do stress in our room information booklet, which contains very useful relative information, that we will happily swap towels left in the shower cubicle on a dfaily basis if required. I am sorry if you chose not to reaqd this booklet but we did mention this to you as we do to all our guests upon checkin. Our camera in the dining room which you mentioned you did not like is there so that our staff can be on hand to assist all our guests needs. It prevents guests arriving for breakfasts and not being tended to immediately. It only picks up as people walk in throught the door and nothing else. Sorry if you are offended by this but we feel this offers value to our service which we are very proud of. We like to offer our guests Tea and Coffee on arrival and the dirty cups you relate belonged to a couple of guests who had only just finished enjoying there warm freshly brewed coffee. I am sory if you got offended by this. We do hope you enjoyed Beeston Castle although you did not need our 2 for the price of 1 pass at the time we mentioned this attraction to you. Thank you for staying with us and we wish you a very pleasant Summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2010

We stayed at this Guesthouse for 2 nights as a break for Valentine’s Day. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted and guided to our room at the front of the house.
The room was a good size, with a more than big enough en-suite bathroom. The bed was lovely and comfortable and the room was very bright and clean.
The service was outstanding- the owner was always available and very helpful and friendly. She catered to our every need, even in the middle of the night when we needed to contact her. For breakfast there was plenty on offer and we had the full English on both mornings, which was excellent.
We would definitely recommend this b&b, and we really could not fault it at all. The parking facilities were great, and the city centre was a pleasant 10 minute stroll away.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#13 of 45 in Chester
1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
1 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#3 of 45 in Chester
2,601 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stone Villa Chester
Stone Villa Chester
#2 of 76 in Chester
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester House Guest House

Address: 44 Hoole Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3NL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: $78 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chester House Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chester House Guest House is situated in the vibrant Hoole district of Historic Roman/Edwardian & Victorian Chester, Chester House Guest House offers warm and extremely comfortable rooms with Superfast free Fibre WiFi, and many facilities you would expect to see in upmarket Hotels. If you seek the comforts of home and genuine British and European Hospitality look no further than Chester House Guest House. All our 9 en-suite bedrooms are comfortably furnished with lovely clean bathrooms to match. The rooms are tastefully individually decorated, in neutral colours, pleasing on the eye, and each has a private modern shower bathroom ensuite. All rooms feature a mini bar fridge, which can be used by the customer as a standard small fridge, flat screen TV, hairdryer, tea (varieties) /coffee (varieties) /hot chocolate making facilities, biscuits, still and sparkling water, together with a few snacks. Complimentary cappuccino and espresso machine facilities are available 24 hrs a day in the dining room. Traditional Full English or Continental Breakfasts are served daily. Free car parking. We are located 5 minutes' walk from restaurants, bars, eateries and shops. Chester City Centre is 5 Mins by Car / 20 Min on foot ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chester House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing