We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go the extra mile” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chester House Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chester House Guest House
Ranked #3 of 81 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Go the extra mile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Loved our stay here over Easter visiting family. I know Chester well, I am from there originally so knew it would be extremely convenient. Nothing too much trouble, even got the ginger cake to die for. Bryan and Lisa were top hosts and deserve to do fantastically well, we will certainly return before the end of the summer. Value for money 100%. Booked tickets for us with discount for Chester zoo, could not have done more. Thank you and see you again soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 at the back on the ground floor, fabulous big bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester H, Manager at Chester House Guest House, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you very much for such a wonderful review. It really was a pleasure having you stay here with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay here and look forward to seeing you when you are next visiting your family.

Many thanks

Lisa & Bryan (New Management 2014)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    119
    18
    10
    1
See reviews for
75
259
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

This guest house is about 10 minutes walk from the city centre and station. Hosts, Lisa and Bryan were very friendly and gave us some nice ginger cake and also a curly wurly when we checked out. Room was clean and quiet and suited us fine. Breakfast was really nice and set us up perfectly for a day of walking around Chester. Near to the guest house is a road with some nice pubs, cash points and late night supermarkets. A lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester H, Manager at Chester House Guest House, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words, they really are very much appreciated. It is nice to hear how much you enjoyed your stay here with us in Chester. We hope to see you again.

Many thanks

Lisa & Bryan (New Management 2014)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Great service. A very warm welcoming. Great sparkling clean rooms. A great breakfast, fills you right up for the day ahead. A great range of food and drinks. Very nice, kind and polite people that are very easy to get along with. That was my second time that I have been. This is the only place that I will stay if I go to Chester again. Love the rooms, people and place. They knew the place well so they told me where to go for food and sites to see. Great place to stay

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KieranTurner317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester H, Manager at Chester House Guest House, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay here with us again, it really was a pleasure to have you both here. It is nice to hear how much you enjoyed Bryan's fabulous breakfasts, Hopefully we will see you both again very soon for your next visit to Chester.

Many thanks

Lisa & Bryan (New Management 2014)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed here back in February and we loved it both times! We got room number 1 (you're lucky if you're in here its amazing!) - the bed was super comfortable, I didn't want to get out of it.. Luckily I did because the breakfast was absolutely delicious - Bryan cooks an amazing breakfast. The shower in room 1 was a jet shower and it had different settings it was great, had a heater in the bathroom so never got to cold, great size bathroom also. The room was extremely tidy and we had plenty of leaflets etc. which were extremely helpful. Bryan and Lisa were very helpful and extremely friendly and welcoming - they helped us out a lot. Great distance from a lot of places which they recommended to us. We had fab weather and they suggested a walk around the river which was amazing. Extremely helpful and had an amazing week. Can't wait to come back at the end of summer.

Room Tip: All rooms are great - especially front room top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester H, Manager at Chester House Guest House, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay here with us again, it was lovely to see you return so soon. We were happy to help you regarding where to eat locally and how best to make the most of your visit to Chester. We look forward to seeing you again later in the year.

Many thanks

Lisa & Bryan (New Management 2014)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Very welcoming and helpful hosts. Clean, bright and comfortable accommodation. Perfectly situated for 10 minute walk into Chester / train station. Showers were a bit disappointing considering there was no bath and would prefer not to make breakfast choice on check in.

All-in-all a pleasant stay made better by Brian & Lisa's helpfulness.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester H, Manager at Chester House Guest House, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here with us, it is very much appreciated. We are pleased you all enjoyed your stay here and your day in Liverpool. Apologies that you were a little disappointed with your shower. Almost all of our rooms are fitted with power showers, unfortunately the room you stayed in doesn't have a power shower at the moment. We do hope to see you again on your next visit to Chester.

Many thanks

Lisa & Bryan (New Management 2014)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Really warm and friendly welcome. Room spotless and comfortable, the breakfast was spot on and served with a smile. Well situated with frequent buses to the city centre and with good local shops and restaurants within easy walking distance, also pleasant parks close by. Homemade ginger cake in the room was a nice touch. We enjoyed our stay very much and will have no hesitation in booking again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester H, Manager at Chester House Guest House, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay here with us. We are pleased you enjoyed staying with us and enjoyed the local area as well as Chester. We do hope to see you again for your next visit.

Many thanks

Lisa & Bryan (New Management 2014)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

We were warmly welcomed by our hosts who promptly asked us did we want a hot drink with a slice of ginger cake. Needless to say our response was yes to both. The room was lovely and clean and well decorated. We had a lovely breakfast and would have loved to stay longer. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alandra24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester H, Manager at Chester House Guest House, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you very much for such a nice review, it really is very much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again for your next visit to Chester.

Many thanks

Lisa & Bryan (New Management 2014)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
1.3 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester House Guest House

Property: Chester House Guest House
Address: 44 Hoole Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3NL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chester House Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chester House Guest House ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Chester House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing