We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chester House Guest House
Ranked #3 of 78 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Went here for Friday and Saturday night. Very clean and tidy. Huge bed and very comfy. Breakfast very good with plenty of choice and we were offered more toast, coffee etc. Just a short walk into Chester centre, but on the way down walked into Hoole village and what a lovely little place with some really nice quirky shops and bakeries cafés etc. So if you go don't forget to look at Hoole. Would stay at Chester House Hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Centralg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
There are newer reviews for Chester House Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 508 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights for my birthday. Friends stayed for 1 night. We had the annexe rooms. Neutral decor. Nice furniture except wardrobe looked cheap. Lovely king size bed which made for a good night sleep.
Owners and staff friendly. Parking on site or nearby.
15-20min walk to town, 15min to cheshire oaks and close to the zoo. Taxi fare £4 tops.
Average breakfast altho accommodating in requests
Negative:
No wifi /signal in room (in the info it does state limited in areas)
Bathroom small-water took ages to get hot.
Room cold but owner quick to get portable heater while heating came on
No full length mirror

It is well positioned for exploring chester but the annexe rooms are slightly overpriced.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank jlm124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Visited this Guest House whilst staying for work purposes. First stay was for four weeks and more recently just the one night. The accommodation is always very comfortable, very clean and well presented. If I had one gripe it would be that the water pressure to the shower is not good in room 2 but it's hot and wet so it does do the job! The breakfasts are good with a varied selection of which I would recommend all of it but not all in one sitting! The location is very good and just a 15-20 minute walk or short drive in to Chester town centre so perfect location for exploring. Helen & staff are always very welcoming.

Room Tip: I like the rooms towards the back of the house as they are darker and quieter!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkatersCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

we enjoyed our stay here very much, breakfast was delicious rooms very clean the two women running it were very helpful and cheerful, would definitly stop here again when in the area thanks for a great break

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graham k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester H, Manager at Chester House Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you so much for your review after your recent stay with here at Chester House, it was a pleasure to have met you both.
It was lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay, and I have passed your kind comments on to the staff.
Hopefully we will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Super, friendly welcome. Our family room on the ground floor was very spacious, clean and well equipped. Delicious breakfast and excellent service. Would definitely recommend to families and would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TannD_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester H, Manager at Chester House Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you so much for your recent review on your stay with us here at Chester House, it was our pleasure to be have been able to look after, I'm glad that you were comfortable in our family room, and you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We were welcomed on arrival, after payment we were taken to our spacious room on 1st floor. It was comfy and clean, bathroom with power shower. Breakfast was tasty and was offered extra tea,coffee toast etc. The walk into the town was 15mins, but the house is on a bus route or many taxis available. Would stay here again on return visits.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester H, Manager at Chester House Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for you review on your recent stay here at Chester House, it is so nice to read that you enjoyed your stay here, and that you were comfortable.
The city is about a 15 minute pleasant through Hoole, as you mentioned we do have a bus stop around the corner where buses run every 12 minutes which is really handy for such a quick journey.
Thank you again for your kind comments, and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

From the moment we were welcomed my daughters felt at home. The family room was a good size on the ground floor away from other guests. This is definitely a bonus when you have 'enthusiastic' children! Breakfast was delicious and a relaxed experience. I would definitely recommend this guest house to families, particularly young teens. It is ideally situated to visit the zoo, the designer village and central Chester.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester H, Manager at Chester House Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words after your recent stay with us here at Chester House, it was lovely meeting you and your family during your 3 nights with us, and a pleasure to have looked after you all, glad the girls enjoyed the shopping!!
Hopefully we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,446 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,325 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester House Guest House

Address: 44 Hoole Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: $81 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chester House Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chester House Guest House is situated in the vibrant Hoole district of Historic Roman/Edwardian & Victorian Chester, Chester House Guest House offers warm and extremely comfortable rooms with Superfast free Fibre WiFi, and many facilities you would expect to see in upmarket Hotels. If you seek the comforts of home and genuine British and European Hospitality look no further than Chester House Guest House. All our 9 en-suite bedrooms are comfortably furnished with lovely clean bathrooms to match. The rooms are tastefully individually decorated, in neutral colours, pleasing on the eye, and each has a private modern shower bathroom ensuite. All rooms feature a mini bar fridge, which can be used by the customer as a standard small fridge, flat screen TV, hairdryer, tea (varieties) /coffee (varieties) /hot chocolate making facilities, biscuits, still and sparkling water, together with a few snacks. Complimentary cappuccino and espresso machine facilities are available 24 hrs a day in the dining room. Traditional Full English or Continental Breakfasts are served daily. Free car parking. We are located 5 minutes' walk from restaurants, bars, eateries and shops. Chester City Centre is 5 Mins by Car / 20 Min on foot ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chester House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing