We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chester House Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$121
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$165
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$121
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ABode Chester(Chester)
$144
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$146
$139
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$149
$127
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oddfellows(Chester)
$162
$151
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$102
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (544)
Filter reviews
544 results
Traveler rating
378
132
22
11
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
378
132
22
11
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bcity centreroom was cleanhoole roadon arrivalexcellent place to staymain roadset us up for the dayexcellent breakfasta lovely staysingle roombottled waterminute walkfull englishlittle extrasstayed for nightsbusy road
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
370 - 375 of 544 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2013

From the moment we were welcomed my daughters felt at home. The family room was a good size on the ground floor away from other guests. This is definitely a bonus when you have 'enthusiastic' children! Breakfast was delicious and a relaxed experience. I would definitely recommend this guest house to families, particularly young teens. It is ideally situated to visit the zoo, the designer village and central Chester.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester H, Manager at Chester House Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words after your recent stay with us here at Chester House, it was lovely meeting you and your family during your 3 nights with us, and a pleasure to have looked after you all, glad the girls enjoyed the shopping!!
Hopefully we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is a lovely Guest house very clean and a lovely breakfast was provided every morning. Hoole Road is the main road into Chester its about a 20 min walk into town but we found the bus stop just around the corner every 12 mins into town. Would definately recommend this Guest House.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAZ033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester H, Manager at Chester House Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind comments after your recent stay with here at Chester House, it was a pleasure to have you stay and so glad you enjoyed your time here, hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Having read all the high scores for Chester House we were very disappointed. Room was clean and tidy, No shelf in the bathroom so all our toiletries had to go near the floor on the box covering in the pipes. The only toiletries provided were 2 x shampoo & a small soap. The breakfast was normal, not 'exceptional ' as has been stated in some reviews. On arrival once reception had taken our money, they disappeared.! It was surely evident to them that we were all senior citizens-one of our party being in his eighties. No one asked if we required any help with getting our suitcases to our rooms. we had to struggle to get them up a very steep flight of stairs unaided by the staff. On leaving I cut my finger very badly when loading the car, but when we asked for a plaster or dressing we were told they couldn't find any.!!! I was of the impression that in any establishment like this, a first aid box was compulsory.!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester H, Manager at Chester House Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us here at Chester House, I have to admit to being quite surprised at the review made. I note from the rooms that you stayed in that one does have a shelf, however the other has a bathroom cabinet with shelves inside, so I dont understand why this wasn't used for toiletries as there is more than enough space.
As to the complimentary soaps & shampoos, having only booked one night, and stayed only one night, I'm not quite sure how many of these you would of required, but as mentioned in the guest information pack in all rooms, more toiletries are available, if the staff are asked!
I am sorry to hear of the incident in the car park where bandages may of been required, but unfortunately due to Health and Safety, the staff are not permitted to give these out to residents for allergy reasons, so unfortunately this was the case at the time.
I am sorry that you felt breakfast wasn't too your tastes, however as you mentioned yourself, it is commented on alot and praised by many a past customer.
It is a shame that you didn't enjoy your one night stay, but, it is also a shame that nothing was mentioned to any of the staff, who could of helped & advised at the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights with our main reason for visiting chester being to go to the zoo. So this guest house was perfect for us as it was only 6 minutes away in the car to the zoo. I'd take a guess that it's about a 20 minute walk to the centre of Chester however the weather wasn't great while we were there so we didn't actually venture out that far, but it didn't matter because really we didn't need to. There are plenty of places nearby to eat and drink if like us that's all you need. But I'm sure there's plenty more to see and do in the not so far away centre. We were really impressed with the size of our room and it's facilities and it was very clean and tidy. The breakfast each morning was lovely. Really friendly staff that we're welcoming and polite. We would definitely stay here again if we ever visit chester in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missjpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester H, Manager at Chester House Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely comments on your recent stay with us, i have passed your kind words on to the staff.
As you mentioned the Zoo is about a 5/10 minute drive, but have free parking there so we do advise this is the safest option for our customers, rather than walk the busy main road, however they do run a regular bus service from Chester Railway station.
We are so glad your enjoyed your visit and you had a relaxing and comfortable stay, we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Friendly helpful staff . Thier is plenty of parking on the rd outside and on the nearby streets if you don't get into the 5 space on the drive. The bnb is clean inside with nice period features along with some tired looking chipboard furniture in the room . The beding was very clean along with the towels .The Cooked breakfast was fine for me but my girlfriend would of appreciated fruit or yogots . The most expensive bnb I've stayed in but not the best .

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 321steven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester H, Manager at Chester House Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay here with us at Chester House, sorry to hear that you found us over priced for the weekend in question, however for a Chester Race meet being held that weekend, we were actually selling rooms well below the average in and around the City.
As you can imagine Chester gets extremely busy and all hotels, including ourselves being a small family run business, higher the rates to cope with such huge demand. Normal weekend rates for a double room range from £85-£90.
With regards to breakfast, it was a shame that non of this was asked upon us serving you, we do have fruit on the menu, but obviously this cant be to everyone's tastes, but we try to cater to cover all. however if this had been bought to our attention during your 2 nights, we would of been more than happy to provide a breakfast you wanted, we are here to look after you and make your stay as comfortable as possible and more than happy to go out of our way to meet customers needs and tastes.
We certainly hope this doesn't put you off visiting the lovely City or ourselves in the future, and again thank you for your feedback it is always appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews