We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“barrie b”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chester House Guest House
Ranked #3 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“barrie b”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We recently stayed at the Chester House,we stayed in one of the twin bedrooms to the rear of the property.As we were shown to our rooms it was quite obvious that the cleaner was on strike.The paths to our room looked like they had not been swept for months,with old fag ends and dust all along to our room.When we arrived in our room the carpet was patched up And dirty and everthing just looked unkempt.When we complained we were eventually offfered a £25 discount ,because we could not move rooms as the guest house was full,it was the Chester races weekend.The room rate for the weekend was £70 and £120 which was outragious for the quality of the accomodation.Whist we were booking in we did notice a board advertising a room rate of from £25 per night,this would be the maximum I would pay.
On the positive side the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barrie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    124
    19
    10
    1
See reviews for
82
273
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My mum and I stayed for four nights. We had a lovely greeting on arrival and help whenever needed throughout our stay. Our room was lovely and spacious, large bathroom, comfortable beds and very nice shower room. Breakfast was lovely, and always a good start to the day. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jules g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

a pretty b/b with warm friendly staff.A great breakfast nicely presented ,It was no trouble for Proprieter Helen to fit us in at short notice and we felt very at home,as caravaners it made a welcome change, thanks to Helen and Lizzy.

Room Tip: An ideal location to visit the lovely historical city of Chester
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart Tasmania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

This is the first guest house we have stayed in. Surpassed our expectations. Friendly welcome, spotless room and bathroom. Great to have a shower cubicle instead of having to climb into bath to have a shower. Although on a busy road the double glazing worked well and we had no noise problems. Would recommend that you arrive outside peak traffic time, just to make pulling into the car park a bit easier. But being a 15 minute walk into Chester is a bonus. Would stay again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed at Chester House for two nights. What a lovely hotel,lovely hosts, fabulous food and bedrooms. Ideally placed just a 10 minutes walk to the centre of Chester. Breakfasts were lovely and hosts are very accommodating to gluten free, dairy free and vegetarian preferences. Lovely and quiet area but bars, pubs, shops all within walking distances and on a bus route too. Would definitely stay here again, can't recommend enough. Great place. Thank you

Room Tip: All rooms were lovely, we had room 4, great decor, nice big bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This has been written on behalf of my mother in law & her two sisters as none have either access to a PC or are computer literate.
They also do no have a trip advisor account.

My mother in law has recently returned from a one week stay at the Chester, with her two sisters who are over 80 years old.
To sum up the visit they were very disappointed given the positive reviews found on Trip Adviser, this is a hotel/guest house that they would never recommend.
As noted most guests stay for one or two nights my mother in law & her sisters stayed for a week.
The booking was made based on the positive trip adviser reviews, the negative reviews being ignored.
Hotel hospitality was found to be in very short supply on both arrival, for the duration & prior to departure for the duration of the visit.
On arrival my mother was immediately requested to settle the balance of account, this was before even viewing the room.
No assistance was offered or provided with baggage from the reception area to the accommodation situated in the annex.
The allocated/booked room was located in annex to the main building, for three people the room was best described as small with little or no space, this was commented on at the time & ignored by the lady who showed them to the room, the lady concerned just walked off.
The area adjacent to the room appears to have been a communal smoking area, which for three none smokers & the room window open was best described as unpleasant.
Also the area was illuminated by a flood light which it is assumed was operated by a motion sensor as this was continually turning on/off at night, mainly when the area was utilised for smoking.
During the visit both a defective door to the annex & the lighting required attention.
The shower best described as small & poky with little or no room to move
My mother in law and her sisters are of a generation who do not normally complain, hence why no complaints were made to any staff during their stay.
On departure from the hotel other rooms were being cleaned with doors open, when viewed the accommodation was found to be far more spacious.
The difference in the standard of accommodation was commented on to member of staff who's only comment was that these were family rooms, my mother response was that her & her sisters were family.
Had any hospitality been shown then they would have commented on the room & if available would have paid any difference to change to a family room.
For this instance as they will be no return visit it would appear to be pointless complaining, for future hotel visits my mother will now know to complain at the earliest opportunity.
This is the first UK hotel my mother & her sister have complained about having had numerous holidays in the UK over the years.
Hospitality on departure was consistent with arrival, none.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JoesLincolnEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kinross
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Stayed in the annexe in room 8. room perfectly clean and ok. felt abit vulnerable as on my own and not in main house. door lock not too secure. room small but fine. woken up at 6:30ish by noise from kitchen- baby crying, talking so sound proofing not too great.
location was fine. breakfast ok. no fresh fruit and english breakfast freshly cooked. sausage could be improved. staff welcoming and pleasant.
overall ok value for money.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank sammy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.3 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
715 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,630 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,141 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester House Guest House

Property: Chester House Guest House
Address: 44 Hoole Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chester House Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chester House Guest House is situated in the vibrant Hoole district of Historic Roman/Edwardian & Victorian Chester, Chester House Guest House offers warm and extremely comfortable rooms with Superfast free Fibre WiFi, and many facilities you would expect to see in upmarket Hotels. If you seek the comforts of home and genuine British and European Hospitality look no further than Chester House Guest House. All our 9 en-suite bedrooms are comfortably furnished with lovely clean bathrooms to match. The rooms are tastefully individually decorated, in neutral colours, pleasing on the eye, and each has a private modern shower bathroom ensuite. All rooms feature a mini bar fridge, which can be used by the customer as a standard small fridge, flat screen TV, hairdryer, tea (varieties) /coffee (varieties) /hot chocolate making facilities, biscuits, still and sparkling water, together with a few snacks. Complimentary cappuccino and espresso machine facilities are available 24 hrs a day in the dining room. Traditional Full English or Continental Breakfasts are served daily. Free car parking. We are located 5 minutes' walk from restaurants, bars, eateries and shops. Chester City Centre is 5 Mins by Car / 20 Min on foot ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chester House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing