We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chester House Guest House
Ranked #3 of 79 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Lovely Stay”
Reviewed September 21, 2011

I stayed here with my partner for two nights back in March and we enjoyed our stay. The room was clean and tidy with well stocked tea & coffee making facilities. We found the double bed to be particuarly comfortable! We couldn't hear any noise from outside despite the B&B being on the main road.
Parking is a little tight but luckily I have a small car! It took us about 20 minutes to walk into Chester and Chester zoo was about a 10-15 minute drive away - good location. The breakfast was gorgeous :) Overall a lovely little B&B.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank BagTeaBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    124
    19
    10
    1
See reviews for
82
273
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
southport
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Like other reviewers, I chose this guest house for the positive comments on Trip Advisor, and we weren't disappointed! Five of us stayed for a girlie weekend for a "special" Birthday! We booked a triple and a twin room,(both of which were 2 triple rooms) and were situated in the annexe.
On arrival, we were met by a friendly and helpful "landlady" who showed us to our room. Nothing was too much trouble. I'd emailed her a couple of times, asking for restaurant recommendations, and always received a quick and helpful reply. She also gave us taxi numbers and telephone numbers for a Thai restaurant (the Ruan Orchid, which was fantastic!) She even put 2 bottles of champagne in their fridge for us!)
The rooms were basic, with wardrobe, dressing table, bedside cabinets and en-suite shower room, all of which were very clean and tidy. There was also a small flat screen TV on the wall and a kettle, coffee, tea etc.
The guest house is situated on a main road into Chester, and would probably take 15-20mins to walk into the centre. We always got a taxi and a hackey cab was approx £5, each time.
(There was a bus stop opposite.)
The breakfast was lovely-just what you need after a night out! You could help yourself to a variety of cereals, and you were brought tea, coffee and juice. The cooked was breakfast consisted of thick cut bacon, sausage, beans, tomato, mushrooms, fried bread and fried, scrambled or poached egg. There was a couple of other choices-porridge, vegetarian breakfast etc. There was also toast, jam and homemade marmalade.
Overall, we had a fantastic stay which was handy for Chester, and we were made to feel very welcome. I would thoroughly recommend this guest house to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holly2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We found this "little gem" via tripadvisor. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean. Good breakfast with lots of options. Short walk or the bus gets you into town. The Shanghi Restaurant just down the road is very nice. The Oakland opposite is OK but don't expect "fine dining".
Small gripes - we only had one small wardrobe for three of us. Parking at the hotel is tight but there is ample parking on the road.

Room Tip: we got the best price for the room from the hotel itself
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnoldswick
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

this is a loverly friendly guest house, situated about a 15 min walk into town, theres a bus stop on the opposite side of road.The room was nice and had a great shower, nothing was to much trouble for the owners and we were made to feel very welcome.had a great.Had a great breakfast before checking out, will definatley return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruskit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Made a repeat trip to Chester and once again booked the Chester Guest House. Calm hospitality welcomes you with clean and bright rooms as part of the deal. Breakfast most efficient with choice of cooked fare. Walk to the city centre in about 10 -15mins but there is local bus if needed. Why stay elsewhere?

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davepen54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Great Guest House, well situated, very spacious & comfy room, clean and up to date. Great Breakfast and very helpful staff who organised our tickets to local attractions. All this combined with free and parking and free wifi means we'd highly recomend Chester House to anyone who wants top value for money.

We then went on to spend two nights at Premier Inn's and there was no comparison, faceless bland and just adequate compared to Chester House.

Mike

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Stayed in June, was a very pleasent stay, nice bnb. Has a lot going for it.
convenient to Chester. We paid 3.40 for taxi
Friendly pleasent staff
Nice Breakfast
Quiet
Off road parking

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hughesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
1.3 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
714 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#9 of 44 in Chester
1,630 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,141 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chester House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chester House Guest House

Property: Chester House Guest House
Address: 44 Hoole Road | Hoole, Chester CH2 3NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chester House Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chester House Guest House is situated in the vibrant Hoole district of Historic Roman/Edwardian & Victorian Chester, Chester House Guest House offers warm and extremely comfortable rooms with Superfast free Fibre WiFi, and many facilities you would expect to see in upmarket Hotels. If you seek the comforts of home and genuine British and European Hospitality look no further than Chester House Guest House. All our 9 en-suite bedrooms are comfortably furnished with lovely clean bathrooms to match. The rooms are tastefully individually decorated, in neutral colours, pleasing on the eye, and each has a private modern shower bathroom ensuite. All rooms feature a mini bar fridge, which can be used by the customer as a standard small fridge, flat screen TV, hairdryer, tea (varieties) /coffee (varieties) /hot chocolate making facilities, biscuits, still and sparkling water, together with a few snacks. Complimentary cappuccino and espresso machine facilities are available 24 hrs a day in the dining room. Traditional Full English or Continental Breakfasts are served daily. Free car parking. We are located 5 minutes' walk from restaurants, bars, eateries and shops. Chester City Centre is 5 Mins by Car / 20 Min on foot ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chester House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing