We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lloyds of Chester”
Review of Lloyds of Chester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lloyds of Chester
Ranked #44 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lloyds of Chester”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Nice Friendly Hotel with good Food, Room was Clean & Tidy but the En suite was Dated, I was lucky enough to get 1 of the 4 car parking spaces. Very Friendly Staff who were both Helpful & courteous. Location was hard to find, Parking was behind Hotel in very Tight parking spaces.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    68
    67
    55
    99
See reviews for
53
133
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I endorse all of the other negative reviews, please don't go! We stayed in this hotel at the end of September and due to other commitments haven't been able to write a review until now. I wanted to let reviewers know that we had bed bugs which were very evident on those awful dirty, overused sheets. Despite being changed to another room, that was also less than desirable with the valance around the bed thick with months of dust. The toilet had not been cleaned properly from the previous occupants. A very traumatic experience and stay.

Room Tip: Choose another Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 333maureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chester hotels

wigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Booked hotel for Saturday 19th Oct in good faith for first weekend away with my new boyfriend via the lastminute.com website at a cost of £86 so in my opinion not cheap. Upon arrival at the room I could not hide my disappointment. To say its shabby is an understatement. The bathroom is a pod like you would find in a caravan at best, the rooms are in dire need of some tlc to say the least as they are reminiscent of a cheap bedsit , the decor is tired and shabby and the bedding in my opinion needed setting fire too it was that grotty.
I cant comment on the breakfast as we did not even attempt that mainly due to the ridiculous early checkout time of 10:30 on a sunday morning.fortunately we literally spent 8 hours in the room as we were out for the day and night on saturday but please heed all the bad reviews on here as i kid you not they are all true!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b3ckyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We booked to stay at Lloyds of Chester for 3 nights. When we arrived they weren't expecting us until the day after! The room was well in need of a makeover. Couldn't believe how tiny the bathroom was ( seen bigger in a caravan). The door wouldn't even stay closed! The tea and coffee facilities were dirty. My husband even found a pubic hair in the bed when he pulled the covers back! Disgusting! We'd been out for the day and when we got back we noticed the staff had left our door open when making the beds. It says free wi-fi, but when I asked about it because I couldn't connect to it, I was told we couldn't get it on the top floor. Very poor reception for TV, could only watch BBC1. We left after the 2nd night, couldn't stay there any longer, but we got a refund for 1 night, after we had complained. Will definately read reviews next time!

Room Tip: Don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 25Nicola2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We usually try and stay in a Travelodge, but could not get in, so when I saw this hotel near the center, I thought the price was very reasonable.
First impressions were that it looked like it could do with a paint job on the outside. We went in and were told we could park round the back, there were already 4 cars parked, but we managed to park easily, bit of a squeeze, but managed it & we were not going to use the car while we were there anyway.
We went with friends and found the hotel to be clean, has a food rating 5 which is excellent. The breakfast was lovely, hot, lots of choice too. The staff were very friendly and helpful, ok they were not English, but where do you find all English staff nowadays?
The bed was comfy & clean, we had clean towels for each day.
The bathroom was very tiny, like others have written, like entering a caravan shower cubicle. But it was clean, everything worked, there is room for toiletries and there is a towel rail behind the toilet. Only thing I would say is the toilets are very noisy, as in you can hear other people using the loo ! And if you are larger than the average person or disabled, you would certainly struggle to use the bathroom facilities.
Only other things that niggled was we could hear the upstairs people in the night! The windows could not be left open during the day as the fire escape was under our window so we could not safely leave for the day and leave it open for fear of someone entering through the window, same reason why we could not leave it open at night.
The decor is dated and could do with a facelift, but still found it clean.
We were only using it as a base for the weekend, so that was fine for us.
I think the description as a luxury hotel is stretching it, but it was comfy, so maybe they could change that.

Room Tip: the rooms at the back are much quieter as you get the noise from the traffic at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llanidloes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I have never written on here but feel very strongly about Lloyds and would like people not to go there. We booked for 2 nights. This hotel was advertised as luxury family run hotel. I did not see any luxury and they must of been the adams family. We turned up and was sent to a room that wasnt even cleaned so sent to room 34. We walked in and it was dirty. The bed was flanel blankets, the bathroom was from a caravan with a plug hole on the floor, and as for the shower i dont think it had ever been cleaned. We were late getting there so went straight out. The next morning we went for breakfast which was so disgusting. The sausages were red inside, the hash brown well it was awful. We stood up and walked out and checked into the abode. We are not snobs but a nice clean bed is all i ask for. My head was so itchy the next morning. I urge anyone not too book this hotel. I would of happily slept in the public toilets compared to this hotel!!!!!!

Room Tip: there are no good rooms im sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristyLlanidloes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We booked this hotel for 3 nights, we were given a room next to the fire exit. I would describe the room in brief

the bed...flannel bedsheets...that have been overused and the duvet is quite small for 2 persons.
...the bed sheets were smelly as well.
next
the bathroom consist of a shower cabinet 50X50 cms with sliding doors ( the doors weren't closing properly so water was spilling everywhere), a toilet and wash basin....No where to hang the towel or clothes or even space for the toiletries.

the room was very cold because the window's lock were broken, so they weren't closed completely........draft was coming in all the times.... we asked for a radiator but was one that switches off every 10 mins.

the Wifi wasn't even connecting...........

we walked out of this hotel within few hours because the receptionist (the owner) said that they didn't have any other available rooms....he even refused to refund the money that we had already paid

To be fair we paid for 3 days, i wouldn't expect a full refund but at least 3/4 of what we paid.....

We have been around the world in different types of Hotels........but this one is the worst i've been so far............

WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL EVEN TO MY WORST ENEMY!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaB2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.1 mi away
Belgrave
Belgrave
#40 of 44 in Chester
184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Inn Chester
Hallmark Inn Chester
#39 of 44 in Chester
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Chester Central
0.6 mi away
Chester Court
Chester Court
#16 of 44 in Chester
250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brookside Hotel
Brookside Hotel
#22 of 44 in Chester
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lloyds of Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyds of Chester

Property: Lloyds of Chester
Address: Brook Street, Chester CH1 3DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lloyds of Chester 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lloyds of Chester Hotel is a family owned and run hotel, conveniently located near the train station in the heart of the historic city of Chester. The city of Chester is steeped in history, culture and fantastic shopping facilities making it a perfect retreat for every occasion. Whether you are looking for a romantic retreat or a base to explore the regional attractions, Lloyds Hotel offers something special for everybody. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Lloyds of Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyds Of Chester Hotel Chester
Lloyds Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing