We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Friendly & would go again”
Review of Lloyds of Chester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lloyds of Chester
Ranked #44 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Very clean rooms and very pleasant owner. Had a nice warm welcome, and would go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mccabe19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 358 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2011

We visited Chester recently and stayed in LLoyds of Chester Hotel. We got a very warm welcome from the propietor. The hotel was centeral even though on the seedier side of town. It was clean but needs updating and some DIY on the rooms. The bathroom was the smallest I have ever seen, pod insert, luckly neither one of us were very big or we would not have fitted in. We had a brilliant holiday. Chester is very central to Wales and the Peak District. I would definitly return to Chester but not too sure if I'd stay again in LLoyds.

Room Tip: Look at reviews and maybe do some research in the area where the hotel is located
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. maximum 10 minute walk to the centre. hotel room very clean and tidy, breakfast lovely too. we also were on the front of the hotel and couldnt hear the noise from the traffic. You couldnt find anywhere better for thr price you pay. we will certainly be going back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank payne88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Very friendly staff nothing was to much trouble. Room was spacious and very clean. Breakfast was excellent and served in nice surroundings. For the money paid I have not found anywhere else to stay in Chester that is better value for money .

Room Tip: Visit the bar at Alexanders Bar at Rufus Courtyard, they have live music on Fridays and a Comedy clu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hendryoreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Was a bit worried when we first arrived, in a poor housing estate, not many great shops, etc. Had to park the car in a pay & display car park (cost £5.50 for 24 hours so not a bad price) as only 3 parking spaces around the back of the hotel which were full. Reception / dining area was very nice. Staff were very friendly and helpful - couldnt have been any nicer! The room we stayed in was nice and big, however we were beside the road and with single glazed windows the traffic was a little noisy. The only downside about the room was the bathroom, my partner described it as "a caravan bathroom" - it was absolutely tiny! We did have a good nights sleep and the breakfast was delicious. Overall, it was a nice hotel for the price we paid however we would probably stay somewhere where is situated in a better area next time!

Room Tip: Pick a room away from the main road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sugarsweet21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Staying in Lloyds of Chester hotel, was a breath of fresh air, to realise that there are still some hotels in Chester, that are full of charm, nice staff, and a propieter that works all hours to serve the customers. This place is clean, tidy and for the price I haven't got one single complaint. It is the best hotel I have stayed in Chester for the price, and again the service is Amazing. I am defiently recommending this hotel to anyone, friends, family and even strangers who ask. Sal is as friendly and charming as anyone could be. The rooms are well equipped, do the job (very well), and the beds are so comfy.

All round the Hotel is the brilliant for the price, and deserves 5*. !!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leighblack88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

we arrived in the early morning and was somewhat concerned with our surroundings, being opposite a car wash and surrounded by flats and poor housing. However, once we stepped inside to check in we were pleasently surprised by the clean and modern interior of the hotel. The gentleman at the reception desk was pleasent from the start and throughout the weekend. Our initial main concern was where we were going to park our car (having left it on a short stay carpark 2mins down the road) but was told to park at the rear of the hotel, which could alloacte max of 3 cars, but we was lucky and had a spot all weekend!

Our room was clean and comfortable, the bathroom was a bit on the small side but adequate enough for us. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well. Breakfast was tasty and filling.

Lucky for us, there was a mini heat wave during our stay, but this made our room stuffy, but you dont tend to get air con in english hotels, so can't complain too much!

The location also turned out to not be all that bad, being only a ten min walk away from the main town center, which was much more appealing with its characteristic buildings, charming history, a good choice of shops and some nice bars.

Overall, the hotel was fine for us and we enjoyed our break in chester :)!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kearny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.1 mi away
Belgrave Hotel
Belgrave Hotel
#41 of 45 in Chester
202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Inn Chester
Hallmark Inn Chester
#32 of 45 in Chester
626 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Chester Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Chester Central North Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
#18 of 45 in Chester
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lloyds of Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyds of Chester

Address: Brook Street, Chester CH1 3DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Price Range: $65 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lloyds of Chester 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lloyds of Chester Hotel is a family owned and run hotel, conveniently located near the train station in the heart of the historic city of Chester. The city of Chester is steeped in history, culture and fantastic shopping facilities making it a perfect retreat for every occasion. Whether you are looking for a romantic retreat or a base to explore the regional attractions, Lloyds Hotel offers something special for everybody. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lloyds of Chester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyds Of Chester Hotel Chester
Lloyds Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing