We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very mixed opinion”
Review of Alexander's Live

Alexander's Live
Reserve with OpenTable
Alexander's Live is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #115 of 562 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $26
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: WELCOME TO ALEXANDER’S FOLLOW US ON SOCIAL MEDIA FOR FULL LISTINGS OF LIVE MUSIC EVENTS, OPEN MIC, COMEDY GIGS, POPUPS, MENUS AND BOOKINGS. ALSO HEAR OUR GIG GUIDE ON DEE RADIO EVERY DAY. Here we are; in the heart of the city alongside the stunning Roman walls near the Cathedral. We’re open all week with a fabulous bar, live music and an imaginative menu. OUR OFFER **BAR**COURTYARD**GARDEN**ALFRESCO DINING** **TICKETED EVENTS**LIVE MUSIC **COMEDY NIGHTS** **COFFEES**TEAS**CAKES**DAILY LUNCHTIME AND EVENING MENUS** **SATURDAY AFTERNOON TEAS AND SUNDAY ROASTS WITH FREE LIVE MUSIC** **POPUP EVENTS**VEGAN MENU**GIN/WINE/BEER TASTING **WEDDINGS**PRIVATE HIRE** **GARDEN FESTIVALS**COURTYARD GIGS** A huge range of music from every genre with a professionally run sound and lighting system ensuring you get the best possible experience. We are proud to promote local talent and work closely with local music groups. We host Chester’s longest running Comedy night and Open Mic night as well as theatre, burlesque, poetry, 20s dance and more… we seriously want you to have fun … Join us during the day for lunches snacks cakes Jaunty Goat coffee, teas and a selection of food from the daytime menu. If you need a quick lunch or working lunch please let us know. SATURDAYS AND SUNDAYS DAYTIME We offer live music from our resident acts alongside food from our menu including a Saturday afternoon tea and Sunday roast. POPUP EVENTS Events include: vegan/vegetarian menu evenings with music, specialist wine, gin, whisky and beer tasting evenings and much more. WEDDINGS Why not come to us for all your requirements including the main marriage ceremony in the stunning courtyard or inside the venue. FESTIVALS The festivals include live music, food and outside bar running from noon till midnight. The format for these varies and typically involves; the big outdoor stage, the intimate indoor stage and the courtyard stage with many acts over the day. COURTYARD GIGS Running throughout the year, there is live music and food alongside the usual indoor bar. PRIVATE HIRE Let us know what your needs are as we can offer a wide range of options both inside and outside for both private and business events. OPENING TIMES: Mon – Sat: 12am till Late. Sunday: 12 noon till 8pm* Parking is available nearby at the new Delamere St carpark (no entry after 9pm but can exit), at St Anne’s St (24hr) or Garden Lane (24hr) – charges may apply *Opening times vary, depending on gigs, festivals and private hire.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very mixed opinion”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Went on sat night after being at laugh inn on Friday night was expecting something similar well it wasn't. was £12 a ticket to get in we got their very early so managed to get some very good seats, 1st act came on and disappointing was not the word it was painful to watch & in end i felt sorry for him before he left stage early, 2nd act totally fab well worth going just for him we left soon after 2nd act finished but not sure if would return which is a shame as it nice place just little bit to expensive after the great & cheaper eve the night before.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prestonmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    42
    12
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stokesley, Cleveland, UK
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Great Comedy Night - Very Funny”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Had a great night at Alexanders - they do a Saturday Comedy Night and I really enjoyed it we had 3 comedians and they were incredibly funny, sadly the first one Danny Hurst was a tadge weak, but the two following were so funny, . I can;t remember jokes at all, so my heart goes out to the first act, but the second 2 acts were so funny we had a really good irish - Patrick Kielty style comedian called Ryan McDonnell and a very funny man called Paul Pirie.
Excellant value at only £12 per person to see the up and coming comedians of the futire and drinks reasonable priced to boot. Worth a visit if you are in Chester for the weekend

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“I found an oasis of calm, with good food and amazing service.”
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Just off the hectic main shopping street is a square that reminded me of being of the continent, the sort of quiet atmosphere you can sometimes stumble across in the heart of Venice. We had a lovely lunch from an interesting menu at a very reasonable price. The coffee and cake was delicious too.
What really impressed me was the service, Not just from the manageress who was delightful but from all of the staff. I'd recommend it any day and wished I'd been staying in Chester longer so that I could enjoy the music or comedy on offer in the evenings.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trishaann013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best day of our lives- probably!”
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Our wedding took place at Alexander's at the End of May.

We chose the venue as we were after an informal do that could provide us with the service, flexibility, real ale, excellent food and a great atmosphere- and we were not let down.

Hollie and her team worked tirelessly to ensure all are wants were not only met but surpassed and we can not thank them enough.

Our service was at four followed by drinks and hors'doeuvres during the photos. We were very lucky that we could use the large garden to the rear of the club ( that many do not realise exists!) Plenty of passing by tourists took photos from the walls and this added to the celebration.

Food was served in the courtyard, with many people commmentating on the high standard, variety and amount. We had a Meditterrainean bufffet including chicken and chorizo casserole, Vegertairian Chilli, dressed Salmon, tartlets etc.

The staff then turned the venue round for our band 'Buzzword' to perform the first of two sets which really gave the party a different element. In between sets we had our 'cake' which was actually four tiers of Cheese provided by the Chester Cheese shop around the corner- this combined with breads, chutneys and port meant that the party continued in full swing.

We loved the flexibilty Alexanders provided; we made our own flower arrangments, could choose which beers they offered, our 'cake' came from round the corner, we could choose our own band and timings. Hollie provided all are wishes and we knew we could trust her to sort everything- not once did I feel like I was waiting for something to happen.

Thanks again, Hannah & Phil

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deva_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kilbride
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Local Ale”
Reviewed October 16, 2010

I visited this cafe/bar for lunch and had an excellent club sandwich. The ales on offer were both in excellent condition and from a local brewery. Staff were pleasant, helpful and interested. As it was afternoon the place was not too busy but there were enough customers to give the place a bit of atmosphere. Recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ianatstenochs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alexander's Live also viewed

Chester, Cheshire
 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Alexander's Live? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing