We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Chester
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (568)
Filter reviews
568 results
Traveler rating
273
164
73
23
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
273
164
73
23
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub car park rowing club large fan overlooking the river beer garden rooms overlook pie short walk fresh milk grosvenor park great shower rooms are lovely full english fab location walk in shower city centre
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 568 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location, right on the river. We went in January so it was quiet but I imagine it would be heaving in summer. Room was very clean and comfortable with good quality drinks and snacks. Breakfast was good, it was included in our rate - not sure I would have paid £25 for it though.
Easy walking distance of all the main sights, either along the river or through the park, either way not more than about 15 minutes.
Would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JustinPerryQPRFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip M, Manager at The Boathouse & Riverside Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad you had a great time visiting us and Chester. Kind Regards James Gornall Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a discovery. We live just over the border and decided Chester for a birthday get away. Husband booked and I was delighted. Rooms are perfect. Spotlessly clean, airy and so comfortable. The decor is spot on and couldn't fault amenities. Great Riverside pub is relaxed with fantastic views and hospitality, plus only a stones throw from city centre. We'll be back

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank clairegT6736HT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip M, Manager at The Boathouse & Riverside Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are pleased you choose to celebrate your birthday with us and had such a great time. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards James Gornall Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2020

Just returned from 2 night stay at this lovely place. Room very comfortable lovely bathroom with great shower. All staff were very welcoming and helpful. Cannot fault anything about our stay. Boathouse pub nice pub with good selection of beers.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip M, Manager at The Boathouse & Riverside Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. Im glad you had a great stay and hope you stay again soon. Kind Regards James Gornall Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2020

An absolutely fantastic place to stay. Rooms are very comfortable with good size bathroom. food and service exactly as you’d expect. The hotel is within easy walking distance from the centre, in a beautiful location.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rrande231265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip M, Manager at The Boathouse & Riverside Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are glad you had a great time and hope you visit again soon. Kind Regards James Gornall Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020 via mobile

Pub has lovely views of the river adjacent to it with the boats entertaining you.. Its warm and the staff were friendly. Food was priced how you would expect for chester. It was very nice but not a lot of it. I was hungry so a ordered a tower burger. It can only b described as a tower if your a four year old..2× 2oz burgers, 1 rash of bacon, teaspoon of pulled pork and a bit of salad and a handful of fries.. Don't get me wrong, it was nice but for £12.50 it was lacking

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank neilclarke911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip M, Manager at The Boathouse & Riverside Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. I'm sorry you felt that the Brewery Tower was on the small side, but please you had a great time. Kind Regards James Gornall Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews