We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice traditional B&B but not a nice stay”
Review of La Marguerite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sark
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Marguerite
Ranked #2 of 10 Sark B&B and Inns
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice traditional B&B but not a nice stay”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed in this B&B for 1 night and I can say I'm glad it was only the one night, unfortunately Suzette was out all day so we didn't get to see her there was just a note on the door as we entered... We went back to the B&B in the evening and she still was not there, we felt awkward to be in the B&B with no-one around. It wasn't until the following morning we finally met Suzette and she came across rather rude, didn't ask us what we wanted for breakfast, she just put egg on toast infront of us.
She then did not say a word until we had to pay her, which seemed was the only thing she cared about.

Overall a very disappointing stay at La Marguerite and will not be staying there again.

I do recommend paying a bit more and staying at La Sablonnerie as the place is truly amazing with amazing staff

Room Tip: Room we had was very small with no ensuite, not very good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jamie084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    3
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
14
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely week on Sark, our rooms were comfortable, well presented and spotless. Delicious free range eggs provided by the chickens who greeted us every morning! A beautiful location with a true hardworking Sark family. Looking forward to our next visit. Ms S Hunjan

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

It's often said that holidays in Sark are like going back in time, and so it was for us - a peaceful island, with no cars (though quite a few tractors), no planes, and no tarmac roads - so we had a great time. But staying at La Marguerite was going back in time in a different way, to an old fashioned seaside landlady. The room itself was spacious, clean, light and bright; it was a shame that the shower didn't work - it had clearly been broken for some time but never repaired, so it was difficult to wash hair etc. We would like to have had a full length mirror to check ones dress before going out for the evening, and to have had a power point near a mirror to aid hair drying etc. A nice touch was the provision of the torch for evening use as there are no street lights in Sark and it gets very dark. We were given UHT milk for our tea tray, common enough in a B and B, though we didn't expect old fashioned 'Coffee Mate' - could there be a fridge in the room with some real Sark milk? And there were no glasses to drink water from.
But the real drawback was the breakfast - 8.30 STRICT on the dot - good for chatting to fellow visitors but not for having the flexibility we expect on a holiday. There was no choice offered; the standard 'English' was placed in front of us - no enquiry as to preference, or even whether we were vegetarian! Sausages were cheap, thin and tasteless, the toast made from sliced bread, and was cold. Only packet butter was provided with no alternative spread offered. Why not fresh Sark butter? Our landlady, Suzette was pleasant enough but sometimes gave the impression it was all too much trouble - like the time when at 6 pm, there was no hot water. It was put on, it seemed begrudgingly - we still don't know if it was on a timer or broken down. All this on an island where there is concern about the commercial activities (a 'take over') from a pair of local millionaires who have pushed up standards in local hotels to an impressive degree. If the Sarkese want to compete in today's market, they will have to do better than our experience at La Marguerite.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Diner135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Just back from 8 nights at La Marguerite, Sark. What a wonderful holiday.
Our accommodation was spacious and very clean. A lovely ground floor room with plenty of space to sit and watch the large flat screen tv (when we had time!)
Suzette and Baz very friendly and we had lots of conversations at breakfast.
Breakfast was great and very varied - never had the same meal twice. At a hotel by the second day I have to say 'no sausage, or no egg' but I never got bored with the same thing here.
La Marguerite is located close to the village (just turn right at the crossroad and it's on the right) and is very convenient for everything.
If we come back to Sark we know where we will be coming back to stay.
Thanks Suzette for looking after us so well.

Room Tip: Our ground floor room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mollydancer407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Comfy and spacious accommodation, cosy attic rooms, great breakfast, friendly hosts ( Suzette and Bas), well located to village and harbour. Thanks for a lovely 2 night stay. Jenny, Anne, Chris and Saras.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Thank you to Sue and Bas for another amazing stay, such a shame it was only one night
Planning my next visit already and only been back at work one day
If you want a truly home from home family experience then this is the place to stay

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank northern78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

"Spending many weeks of the year on long haul business trips arriving in Sark is a welcome change but the friendly welcome and amazing home comforts that Suzette delivers on every trip is a breath of fresh air!! Who would want the restrictions of a clinical stuffy hotel (which I have the pleasure of frequenting on my overseas business trips) when you a wonderful room where the sunlight floods in and a piping hot shower to revive you in the morning after a blissful nights sleep!

La Marguerite is perfectly situated on the Island with everything just a short stroll away. All of this coupled with the knowledge that Bas and Suzette have of the island and the many tales they have to tell just make this the most idyllic place to stay.

My wife and I have now stayed with Baz and Suzette on many occasions and we will be back before this year is out for sure! I cannot recommend La Marguerite enough."

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BJS-73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sark
0.0 mi away
Stocks Hotel
Stocks Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sark
668 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
570 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Jerbourg
Hotel Jerbourg
#3 of 9 in St Martins
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Clos de Vaul Creux
Clos de Vaul Creux
#4 of 10 in Sark
87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pourquoi Pas B&B
Pourquoi Pas B&B
#1 of 3 in Sark
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Sablonnerie
La Sablonnerie
#1 of 2 in Sark
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Marguerite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Marguerite

Property: La Marguerite
Address: La Marguerite La Marguerite Rue Lucas, GY10 1SG
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Sark
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Sark
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
La Marguerite Sark, Channel Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing