We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence in chocolate and victoria sponge”
Review of Caragh Chocolates

Caragh Chocolates
Ranked #9 of 12 things to do in Sark
Attraction details
Nottingham
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellence in chocolate and victoria sponge”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Sark is idyllic. A wander down the spine road is perfectly rewarded by the best victoria sponge on the planet. World beating chocolates to go are irresistible. Worth every step back to the hotel.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RogInNottm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    11
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A great find and break from the bike!”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stopped in the Channel Islands on a cruise. Wanting to get a way from as much as possible, we took a smaller boat over to Sark. Sark is a wonderful island with very few permanent residents. The roads are gravel and the primary modes of transportation are bicycles and tractors...no cars. We opted for the former and set out to explore this exquisite little island. After stopping at La Seigneurie for a pleasant walk through the gardens, we decided to be more adventurous and head for the isthmus separating Little Sark from Big Sark. While we didn't make it all the way across, we stopped overlooking the isthmus for some breathtaking pictures of two small coves and the island of Guernsey in the distance. On the way back from La Coupee, we decided to stop at Caragh Chocolates. We found delicious tea and coffee cake that was served in a lovely garden. The sun was shining and it was a perfect way to relax in the middle of the ride. My teenagers weren't tired of course, so they played on the trampoline in the back of the cafe. Don't be fooled by the residential looking exterior, this is a full fledged candy shop and bakery and is well worth the stop...tired or not!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 4UpstateTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“worth the bike trip to fidn this place”
Reviewed December 20, 2011

The chocolates are delicious, the garden and pool are nice. Try the contraband liquor chocolates-- brought them back as gifts and eveyone loved them.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank matouli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level 6 Contributor
690 reviews
201 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Worth finding”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Caragh Chocolates
Sark, Channel Islands, United Kingdom, Europe

The chocolates are made on the premises and can be purchased or posted anywhere. The tea rooms are good and also offer light lunches with numerous tables outside. There are great views from the back garden, where you will also find a free trampoline. The small swimming pool was cold on our August visit and costs £2.50 for children and £5 for adults.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerseybean26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“wonderful chocolates”
Reviewed August 21, 2011

This is a very special place to visit - watch chocolates made on site - they also sell boxes and individual chocolates. In the garden they also have a lovely tea garden and at a extract cost you can use the solar heated pool.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank northern78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caragh Chocolates also viewed

Sark, Channel Islands
Sark, Channel Islands
 
Sark, Channel Islands
Sark, Channel Islands
 

Been to Caragh Chocolates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing