We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 'Charmingly Eccentric' just dull, outdated and way over-priced.”
Review of La Sablonnerie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Sablonnerie
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sark
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not 'Charmingly Eccentric' just dull, outdated and way over-priced.”
Reviewed September 18, 2008

Like other reviewers, I had passed by this hotel in the past and made a note to return one day. The website seemed to promise so much. Sadly, it was a great disappointment.

I asked for accommodation for two adults and a teenager and was told that we could have rooms in a cottage. Never mind the fact that the cottage was dismal, smelt of damp and hadn't been re-decorated since the 1980s she tried to charge us for four people as that is how many the cottage should sleep. No mention of it at any time before the bill came, as were the additional charges (see other reviews). We left on a sour note. There were three parties checking out that day, all of them complaining about hidden charges to the unfortunate receptionist who looked like she had heard it all a thousand times before.

This hotel survives on its location. Anywhere else it wouldn't rate as a B&B. The world has moved on into boutique and quirky hotels: this should be one/both but sadly it is just tired, outdated and way, way over-rated. More Ms Vicky Pollard than Mr and Mrs Smith!

  • Liked — Location and views
  • Disliked — Hidden charges, dreadful room.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Victoria110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    39
    3
    9
    14
See reviews for
108
273
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
guermsey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2008

Simple terrible. This 'hotel' and I use the term in the loosest possible sense is the worst place I have ever stayed. It is very expensive and not atall worth it.
When we arrived we were told that despite booking months before and paying the deposit that they had no record of it. The owner then blamed everything on her secretary despite the fact we had rung two days before, spoke to her specifically and was told that we were expected. Due to this loss of booking we were put in a out of date room which was no better than a one star b&b in her mums cottage. Its not exactly an ideal getaway when an elderly lady is downstairs watching telly. Dinner was cold and poor, the bed ancient and uncomfortable. Our bags also took four hours to arrive and were put in the wrong rooms.
The next morning (after a cold breakfast) we asked if we could move rooms into the main hotel as we had been promised. We were told that there were no rooms available despite being told otherwise.- but they had a room last night which they had failed to tell us about. That was it, we booked into another hotel and refused to stay another night. Simply dreadful. Even trying to check out the staff (who are the most miserable, uninterested people) had to get the woner involved because they wanted nothing to do with unhappy people. She came down and proceeded to show us rooms she had magically pulled out of nowhere as if she didnt realise that her terrible hotel was to fault.
You will read other reviews about unfair charges which is certainly true but be very careful as to the bill as a whole. Her eccentricity and resulting errors seems to favour herself financially (make of that what you will).

In all, this hotel is a swindle, poor and truly terrible.
As a final note, we werent the only ones trying to change hotel.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank spacebadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2007

The Cusine is good but the rooms are awful (especially the annexe) and expensive. We changed 4 times in 5 nights!!

It should not be in Johannsen's or Alistair Sawdy

Sark is a day trip from Guernsey not an overnighter. If you wanted to get to the beaches you have an enormous climb!!

  • Liked — restaurant
  • Disliked — rooms
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Disgruntled4times
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2007

There is no doubt that this hotel has a delightful setting. The cuisine is good, but a bit repetitive. The standard of service is high. The standard of rooms is not - at least not the one we had. For the prices charged (more about that below), the room was simply not good enough. No radio, no television, no tea or coffee making facilities, no wardrobe - just a curtained off rail. No shampoo or shower gel. Not a very well provided bathroom. Set in a converted outhouse, so far as I can tell, with not very good sound proofing from the room next door. There seem to be rooms all over the place - some at a distance. Maybe some of them are better, I wouldn't know, but there should be some differential pricing if they are. Now to cost. I've never been charged a "service charge" on accommodation before. I think the hotel is over priced even before this stinger. Pricing seems quite opaque and in other remote settings I've never been charged for collecting bags. I suggest you ask a lot of questions before you make a booking.

  • Liked — Setting
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank the_firethorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2007

La Sablonnerie is the only hotel on Little Sark, and is the furthest hotel accomodation from the town centre, but can still be walked to in around 45 minutes. As a result of a lack of cars , it offers peace and tranquility, and the accomodation is very quaint and old fashioned with a homely touch (e.g. antique ceramics and furniture etc.). The sound proofing between rooms is poor though. The restaurant offers good quality food, which is included in the price of the room - to a certain extent !

The hotel is notorious for adding extras to the bill, so in order to fully appreciate your stay, take note of the following which will be charged extra for. There is no notification of these charges until you get your bill:

"Basic" room rate = £97.50 pppn including half-board
Carriage ride from the harbour = £6 per person each way
Luggage transportation = £2 per bag each way
Special dinner (e.g. lobster) = Add £15
Service charge = 10% of room rate (automatically added)

  • Liked — The tranquility and escapism
  • Disliked — The hidden extras
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2006

We booked a few nights’ stay at this hotel, lured by the promise of a “heavenly” experience and the ultimate in escapism – the hotel being situated not just on remote Sark, but on Little Sark, its remotest corner.

Atmosphere. Wonderful – quiet and relaxing. Sark has a charm all of its own, from the unpaved roads through to the horse-drawn carriage which met us at the harbour, the scenery and clean air.

Room. Our ‘superior’ room was pleasant and spacious. Note, however, that there are no televisions, radios, or tea and coffee making facilities, nor (more understandably) are there modern luxuries such as air-conditioning, trouser presses, or safes. No lock on the door, either.

Restaurant. The food was of mostly good quality (especially the lobster and the puddings), but the cuisine was certainly not exceptional, and there were one or two disasters, such as an onion soup so overseasoned as to be virtually inedible, and a cheeseboard of rather pedestrian cheeses, accompanied by Jacob’s Cream Crackers. The service, provided by an army of Polish waiters, was friendly but uneven. Frankly, the dining experience was a disappointment, especially in view of the very high prices.

Good points. Escapist atmosphere, beautiful views.

Bad points. Poor value for money, indifferent service, very opaque pricing structure with numerous hidden or unadvertised ‘supplements’ and service charges, most rooms not in main hotel, and some a considerable distance away.

In summary. Make no mistake, staying at La Sablonnerie is an experience. It is very beautiful, very tranquil, and somewhere totally different. But unfortunately it offers poor value for money. The food and service are not quite good enough, but all the hidden supplements are what will deter us from returning. I have never been to a hotel where it is compulsory to pay a 10 percent service charge on accommodation. And to imply that various services (such as the horse and cart) are included, and then to charge quite a significant sum for them on the final bill, is sharp practice. Far better to tell guests what they have to pay and let them decide whether they want to.

  • Liked — Stunning location
  • Disliked — Lack of room facilities
  • Tips/Secrets — Beware of hidden supplements
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Harcourt_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
198 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2006

We recently stayed for a week at this amazing hotel. We have been to Sark many times but decided to push the boat out a little as this was a "special" year for us. La Sablonnerie on Little Sark is a very special place and I defy anyone not to be totally relaxed at the end if their stay. It is perfect for those who like walking, as it is a couple of miles to the village to get the papers in the morning. But the walk and the views are glorious!

Arrangements can be made to be collected to and from the boat by horse drawn carriage, but as we were very familiar with the island we preferred to walk to the hotel, this takes about an hour. Arriving at the hotel, we were welcomed by Elizabeth (the owner) who was very charming and showed us to our room.

We had booked a superior room but little expected how nice it would be be. It was very spacious and the views across to Herm and Guernsey were spectacular . The furnishings and bathroom were very clean and comfortable and of a very high standard. The rooms were serviced every morning whilst we were at breakfast and yet again whilst we were at dinner. After a days walking round the island it was nice to be able to spend some time in our room knowing that there would be no disturbances from the chambermaid. The only very small criticism I would have is the lack of toiletries provided, other than soap, although this was replenished every day.

Fresh fruit was available in our room throughout our stay and, although there were no tea and coffee making facilities, a fresh pot of tea was always available on request. Another plus, ensuring that our stay was one of complete relaxation, was the lack of a television or radio.

The food at this hotel was absolutely gorgeous, much of it coming from the hotel's farm and garden. If you like seafood, you will be in heaven!! The chef's speciality must be desserts, because they were wonderful and very creative and the service in the restaurant is probably the best I have ever encountered. Luckily the walking during the day counteracted the calorific value of the food! We also had lunch in the Tea Garden directly opposite the hotel, which is a wonderful sun trap, the food being prepared to the same high standard as the hotel.

We found the service at this hotel to be exemplary, Elizabeth has trained her staff well! She herself is particularly attentive towards her guests, making everyone feel like and old friend. Nothing is too much trouble for her. Many of the guests had been coming for many years and it is not difficult to see why. We thouroughly enjoyed our stay and will definately be going back.

It is not cheap to stay at the Sablonnerie but well worth the money. I would however, suggest that the hotel is not particularly suitable for young children, but that is maybe why it is so relaxing, peaceful and charming.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SarkLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sark
1.2 mi away
Stocks Hotel
Stocks Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sark
649 reviews
7.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
760 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Jerbourg
Hotel Jerbourg
#3 of 9 in St Martins
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
8.4 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
548 reviews
5.2 mi away
The White House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sablonnerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sablonnerie

Property: La Sablonnerie
Address: Little Sark, GY10 1SD
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Sark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Sablonnerie 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the magical charm of La Sablonnerie, a hotel of rare quality situated in the southern part of Sark, even more beautiful, remote and romantic than the rest. Unspoiled and scenic, it is a haven for lovers of peace and tranquillity. Nestled in the lovely award winning gardens(Sark Midsummer Show 2012) this oasis of hospitality has an enchanting air of simplicity and sophistication. The bar is a convivial meeting place with a roaring log fire. Savour a gourmet luncheon or dine romantically by candlelight. Excellent cuisine, including fresh Sark lobster and produce from the farm and gardens. Own horses and carriages. A truly amazing experience. Don't leave the Channel Islands without visiting Sark and Little Sark.It will be an experience that will live with you forever. Birds, Butterflies and Flowers - SARK - How could one not enjoy this beautiful paradise? A stepping stone to heaven. An hotel with a real 'joie de vivre' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your La Sablonnerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sablonnerie Hotel Sark
La Sablonnerie Sark, Channel Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing