We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Among old friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Sablonnerie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Sablonnerie
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sark
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Among old friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I had not visited Sark, or Law Sablonnerie, for many years, but when I stayed there in June this year, I was delighted to find the same combination of a friendly atmosphere and high professional standards I remembered of old. All the best features were still in place; a warm welcome, friendly staff, a comfortable bar and room, a delightful garden, and if anything the food was even better. And all this is set, of course, in the unique surroundings of little Sark. Anyone seeking a peaceful relaxing break combined with high quality food and accomodation would be hard pressed to find anything better. Long may it remain so.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    37
    3
    9
    14
See reviews for
102
260
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Have just returned from a two night stay at La Sablonnerie. A last minute booking and we were so lucky to get it. Delightful room, beautiful gardens, delicious food and excellent service. Our room was kept in perfect condition all day and night until we went to bed with wrapped hotties to welcome us. Our bags were picked up at the harbour by a delightful man called Philip and dropped to the ferry on our return. The surprise and joy of Little Sark was the peaceful surroundings of cows, cut hay meadows, barley crops, stunning coast line, clean sea, wonderful walks and nice people. But most of all PEACE. So a big thank you to Elizabeth and Philip. We will return. Clare and Richard.

Room Tip: We were in half of one of the cottages. Absolutely quiet. Lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clare p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

What a very special place Sark is and a stay at La Sabblonnerie Hotel is an idyllic experience !stayed here to celebrate my birthday (60th) enjoyed and appreciated the attention to detail and the high standards. Some soft background music in the Dining room would have enhanced my Dining experience as the gaze of so many waiters was a little offputting.Standard of meals made from quality local ingredients was superb!a very memorabe stay- thank-you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Staying at La Sablonnerie on Little Sark is a complete experience, not just a comfy room for the night, though it is that as well. We had a dinner, bed and breakfast package for three days and enjoyed excellent food, friendly and helpful, traditional style service, an attractive and very comfortable suite. Suggestions,advice and maps were provided for sightseeing. Luggage handling to and from ( and onto and off) the Sark ferry was a tremendous help and we enjoyed a horse and carriage pickup and transport to the hotel. A very special holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nerbudda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We came to the Sablonnerie by accident, looking for somewhere to stay during the Sark Folk Festival. It seemed to me to embody all that could be good in a hotel while leaving out the naff bits; you won't find a telly, there's no WI-fi, your room won't have a key. There are no tea making facilities (this I did miss slightly, preferring to imbibe caffeine before facing the world). But this hotel will teach you why you don't need or indeed want these things.
The service is excellent - beds made while we were at breakfast, hot water bottles on the one remotely chilly night of our stay. The staff are excellent; the owner, Elizabeth, is a famous local character, unmissable with her upper class accent and rather theatrical manner. It's an old building set in immaculate gardens, in Little Sark, the southerly section of what Mervyn Peake called this "wasp wisted island". A carriage will bring you from the top of the Harbour Hill, though you will have to dismount while it crosses the infamous Coupee.
The food is excellent; most guests opt for half board and get a gourmet evening meal.
If you like Sark, you will like the Sablonnerie. Just three nights recharged our batteries thoroughly.

Room Tip: It may be that the rooms within the original building are better than the outdoor cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1SanchoPanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We spent a week end in late June 2013. When we arrived we found we had been upgraded to a much larger more comfortable room. Elizabeth the owner was very helpful and so was the hotel personnel in showing us around and telling us where to go and what to visit. The food was excellent with a five course dinner meal that was very tasty and offered many choices, the wine list was varied and the prices reasonable. My daughter enjoyed the lobster menu of locally caught seafood. La Sablonnerie is the place to stay in Sark if you are looking for quiet, there is no internet and the phone signal can be uneven, as there is no pool, there are no screaming children and being in little Sark you are away from most other visitors who stay in Big Sark. It was very pleasant after a long day walking and exploring being welcomed in the bar with a nice drink and a fire. I recommend the Sablonnerie warmly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blue_axolotl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Having not been to La Sablonnerie on Little Sark for 3 Years, due to other travel, we soon realized why we loved this Hotel so much, the warm welcome at the Harbour by Philip followed by a stroll through the peaceful country side to the Hotel, then a friendly greeting by the Staff was a perfect start to our 3 day break. What followed each evening was unbelievable, probably the best food we have ever been offered, carefully served with quality wines at very reasonable prices. Both my wife and I would wholeheartedly recommend La Sablonnerie to the most discerning traveler, we doubt if anyone could find fault with this charming little Hotel, we cannot wait to go back later this summer.

Room Tip: All rooms are charming and clean, but are really individual, ask for details before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sark
1.2 mi away
Stocks Hotel
Stocks Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sark
5.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
7.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
BEST WESTERN Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
5.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Jerbourg
Hotel Jerbourg
#3 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
20.8 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in St.Saviour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
8.4 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sablonnerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sablonnerie

Property: La Sablonnerie
Address: Little Sark, GY10 1SD
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Sark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Sablonnerie 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the magical charm of La Sablonnerie, a hotel of rare quality situated in the southern part of Sark, even more beautiful, remote and romantic than the rest. Unspoiled and scenic, it is a haven for lovers of peace and tranquillity. Nestled in the lovely award winning gardens(Sark Midsummer Show 2012) this oasis of hospitality has an enchanting air of simplicity and sophistication. The bar is a convivial meeting place with a roaring log fire. Savour a gourmet luncheon or dine romantically by candlelight. Excellent cuisine, including fresh Sark lobster and produce from the farm and gardens. Own horses and carriages. A truly amazing experience. Don't leave the Channel Islands without visiting Sark and Little Sark.It will be an experience that will live with you forever. Birds, Butterflies and Flowers - SARK - How could one not enjoy this beautiful paradise? A stepping stone to heaven. An hotel with a real 'joie de vivre' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your La Sablonnerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sablonnerie Hotel Sark
La Sablonnerie Sark, Channel Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing