We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of Heaven”
Review of La Sablonnerie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Sablonnerie
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sark
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I have been a regular visitor to Sark for many years during which I have seen changes, some not for the best. La Sablonnerie, however, goes from strength to strength under the tender touch of Elizabeth and her dedicated team. My wife and I have just returned from celebrating our wedding anniversary there, it was her first visit, and she has fallen in love with the place. The attention to detail is perfect from the moment of booking to arriving at the manicured gardens, to dining on lobster by candlelight to retiring to a turned down bed complete with hot water bottles.
Thank you Elizabeth and team, we will be back soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul_crowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (615)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

389 - 395 of 615 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

It is ten years since I last stayed at La Sablonnerie Hotel on Little Sark. There have been some changes on the Island but only improvements at La Sablonnerie, which was pretty good to start with.
The hotel is built into one of the original 40 feudal farm holdings or "tenements" in old French, so the rooms are all different but immaculately kept (the house keeping staff are excellent). The farm is still in full operation unlike some on the island and they use as much of their own produce as they can without making a fetish of it.
The food is excellently prepared and the menus carefully balanced and not excessive. Try the lobster if you get a chance, it was locally caught and could not have been fresher. The wine list has some real gems at reasonable hotel prices. The service is quick, attentive and polite.
The ambiance is very relaxing, so don't expect karaoke or a disco; from the boat trip from St Peter Port, Guernsey, to walking or taking a carriage ride (no cars) I felt the stress leak out of me.
My excuse for the trip was bird watching and the highlights of that were the puffins, the peregrine falcons around the cliffs, and a little egret which I really didn't expect. The island isn't exactly a bird watching mecca like the Scilly Isles but there is enough around to justify the walking without being overrun by "twitchers", and the scenery is beautiful enough even if the birds are hiding.
So if you like quiet, a great welcome, good food, unique character, cliff walks, tradition, history and wildlife then try La Sablonnerie. If you want glamour, noise and constant heat (Sark is in the English Channel after all) then you are probably on the wrong island.
I shall go again soon.

Room Tip: Book early, regulars come back and back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We have been coming to La Sablonnerie most years for the last 20 years or so. Its charm never fails. The location is superb, the gardens immaculately kept. It is however the never failing welcome from the very moment the Sark ferry docks which we value most- and this is followed up all through one's stay with superb service. It is the small points of detail you notice, returning to your room after dinner, and finding hot water bottles in the bed, coffee and tea on waking, all part of a really relaxing experience. Elizabeth is a great hostess, charming and helpful. The ambiance fits completely with Sark with its absence of motor cars and its quiet byways. As for the restaurant, this is of the highest quality, and we have enjoyed many excellent meals. One of the best features is that the rooms all have their individual character , from the cottage in the tea garden to the rooms over the reaturant and bar.
Altogether we have no hesitation in thoroughly recommending this unique hotel

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

La Sablonnerie is possibly the most charming and quaint hotel you will ever find. Elizabeth and her fantastic team have a formidable attention to detail making your stay comfortable, relaxing and above all extremely enjoyable.

Breakfast, lunch & dinner are to the highest standard and if you fancy a picnic whilst out on your walk this is provided too. Make sure you spend time in the lovely bar and try the delicious canapés & after dinner chocolates!

A stay at La Sablonnerie let's you escape the every day hustle and bustle of life and Paddy, the resident horse and cart making you appreciate the simpler & amazing experiences of life.

You'll spend your days wondering when you can next return....

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RPJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

First time to the Channel Islands and Sark a look back in time, particularly Little Sark, which has old fashioned manners and politeness to guests. I loved the gardens - the apple trees were in blossom and the Tea Garden had a lovely range of flowers and birds. The hotel itself is quirky and much better than the sort of experience you get at a chain. I particularly liked literally having to climb through from the dining room to the lounge. (And an open fire in the lounge when it was cold.) The food was very good, although probably too much of it for me, with canapés, starters, water ices/soup, main and then pudding. The hostess is a charming character, from an old Sark family, full of enthusiasm and attention to her guests. So if you want a full on Sark experience I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

My family and I (we were 8 including 3 children) just spent a few days at La Sablonnerie. We had the cottage by the Tea Garden just for ourselves ; the garden is a perfection of English garden, and the cottage had a lot of charm. We were served like kings and queens and enjoyed every minute of it. The food, as usual, was extraordinary. Many thanks to Elizabeth Pérée for her sense of coziness and hospitality! Charles Philippe Letellier.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles-Philipp... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

If your purpose in visiting Sark is to "get away from it all" you can do no better than go to Little Sark, which is even further away from "it all" than is the rest of Sark. It is just a truly magical place that we keep on coming back to, four times now since 1988 when we visited on honeymoon. Walking over La Coupée towards Big Sark in the morning and back to Little Sark in the evening is in the opposite direction to most visitors, and the sense of peace and seclusion in Little Sark on returning is unlike anywhere else I know. Staying at La Sablonnerie is a very large part of the attraction - I think this hotel is probably about the most memorable we have visited anywhere. Perhaps it lacks some of the "facilities" one might find in a business hotel (TV, kettle and trouser press in the room, etc. etc.) and some rooms are not en-suite, but what it has instead is what makes it different: it is friendly, comfortable, outstandingly beautifully located, and one just feels quite exceptionally welcome, well looked after and relaxed when staying there (for instance, I cannot remember any other hotel where one finds hot water bottles have been placed in the beds while one was at dinner). The staff are helpful and attentive without being intrusive, and the ever-enthusiastic owner, Ms. Elizabeth Perrée, makes guests feel very much at home and is a great source of local history and interest. For me, this great atmosphere at La Sablonnerie was made all the more special by knowing that it is a long-standing Sark family business, set up by Elizabeth's father in the late 1940's and run by the family ever since. Whenever I leave, I want to come back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sark
1.2 mi away
Stocks Hotel
Stocks Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sark
707 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
20.8 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in St.Saviour
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
833 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Jerbourg
Hotel Jerbourg
#4 of 9 in St Martin
337 reviews
8.4 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martin
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sablonnerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sablonnerie

Address: Little Sark, GY10 1SD
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Sark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sark
Price Range: $460 - $499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Sablonnerie 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the magical charm of La Sablonnerie, a hotel of rare quality situated in the southern part of Sark, even more beautiful, remote and romantic than the rest. Unspoiled and scenic, it is a haven for lovers of peace and tranquillity. Nestled in the lovely award winning gardens(Sark Midsummer Show 2012) this oasis of hospitality has an enchanting air of simplicity and sophistication. The bar is a convivial meeting place with a roaring log fire. Savour a gourmet luncheon or dine romantically by candlelight. Excellent cuisine, including fresh Sark lobster and produce from the farm and gardens. Own horses and carriages. A truly amazing experience. Don't leave the Channel Islands without visiting Sark and Little Sark.It will be an experience that will live with you forever. Birds, Butterflies and Flowers - SARK - How could one not enjoy this beautiful paradise? A stepping stone to heaven. An hotel with a real 'joie de vivre' ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Sablonnerie Hotel Sark
La Sablonnerie Sark, Channel Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing