We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was eating from the bistro menu”
Review of Stocks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stocks Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sark
Certificate of Excellence
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“This was eating from the bistro menu”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had high expectations of eating here having booked three months in advance. We were sat indoors, as requested, next to a family who had feral children (not Stocks fault) The children were allowed to scream & jump around with impunity.The worst was was watching the two kids strip off naked and jump into the pool between their main and pudding.
If Stocks is a dinner place for familiies I would prefer to know, it struck me as BUTLINs for the rich.
We spent £70 on a bistro menu and still had to pour our own wine all evening. My husband felt uncomfortable when he was using an urinal only to be comfronted by another father with a primary age daughter using the toilet,this was after 20.00 at night.
We left feeling that a middle aged couple without children were not Stocks desired customers as I had been led to believe. This was an expensive evening, food was good but marred by average service. To make us feel futher out of place there was a hen do and we wondered why we bothered to dress for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank N G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockcontrol, Manager at Stocks Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Love All, Serve All.

We are surprised & disappointed to read this review about our highly popular poolside Bistro family restaurant. Stocks Hotel are proud to cater for a broad cross section of customers from a diverse range of social backgrounds. We have never, and will never, differentiate or prioritize our customers based on their race, creed, colour or social class.

Some customers may chose to be moral guardians. This is not an option for good hoteliers or restaurateurs; we are non judgmental. We afford all our guests the same courtesy and respect. We welcome, seat, accept and serve all our customers.

We are proud that our popular poolside Bistro provides a popular and informal dining environment. Our many loyal and regular customers enjoy the relaxed, buzzy, continental style brasserie ambience that we have deliberately created. Guests often find themselves sitting at tables next to animated French yachtsmen, families with excited young children, groups of talkative teenagers or just simply good friends enjoying good food, god conversation and each others company.

Alternatively our main fine dining room downstairs at Stocks provides a more formal and refined dining experience. Here many of our many loyal, regular guests choose to dress for dinner and speak in more hushed tones whilst enjoying long leisurely dinners from our daily changing menus featuring a delicious variety of fresh, local produce.

The Sommelier in our fine dining room will recommend wines from our extensive wine list. He will carefully pour the first glass and frequently top up each glass before recommending a dessert wine or a glass of vintage port to accompany our superb range of British farmhouse cheeses from our Guéridon.

We respectfully suggest that this particular couple simply chose to dine in the wrong restaurant at Stocks?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    54
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
132
354
22
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at Stocks Hotel on a number of occasions both as a couple and with our wider family and we have just returned from our latest short break. It's a fantastic place to stay; in our view the hotel offers 5 Star accommodation, facilities and food. The two restaurants, the bar, swimming pool and the grounds are all part of the wonderful experience which awaits anyone staying at Stocks Hotel. However, as is always the case, it is the hotel staff who can make any holiday truly special and the staff at Stocks are exceptional. From those who greet us at reception when we arrive and for whom nothing is ever any trouble to those who make our bedroom feel like we're the first to use it (every day!), and the bar and restaurant staff who are always welcoming, professional and yet so very friendly. They clearly all take their lead from the truly exceptional General Manager/Director, Paul Armorgie; someone every hotel should have!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DRH61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a last minute weekend break in the sun.
At breakfast on the patio it felt as if we had been helicoptered into perfection. Very high standards all round in a wonderful setting.
Outstanding thanks.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank twister_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

What a glorious few days! Weather was fantastic and it was a treat to sit and relax by the pool. The grounds are beautiful and the location superb. The staff were as always fantastic - nothing was too much trouble. Carriage ride (Julie and Willow) was a pleasure - both interesting and entertaining. We also met Ronaldo again - even though he's famous he still had time for us...! Looking forward to the next visit already.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Honeybee240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Unbeatable service.credit to whoever selects and trains the staff.Well deserved recipients of 4 AA rosettes. Well done.
Varied menus with fine local produce but portion control verging on stingy particularly the Turbot.Best of all Stocks is fully independent and not controlled by the Barclay twins whose establishments fail to compete on all levels.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rick0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We are delighted to be able to go to Stocks Hotel regularly, as we have done for over 20 years. The renovated hotel is a success: confortable, well-appointed rooms, well-kept grounds, pool, bistro, etc. We hope that time will mellow the colour of the paving stones at the front of the hotel (somewhat harsh) and we still miss the charm of the old lounge, but we realise that the furniture was too tired. We particularly like the new dining room and this year we enjoyed excellent food - good quality ingredients, mostly locally sourced, and often inventive dishes. In general the hotel is well run and the staff is friendly and welcoming. Sark is a secret garden, a magic place and Stocks Hotel has the perfect location for a brief stroll to the village, visits to Dixcart Bay, to the glorious views at Pilcher's Monument or for star gazing at night. We hope the island will retain its charm despite recent difficulties, probably due to a lack of understanding of what Sark really stands for.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you want to treat yourself, Stocks is the place. The staff are friendly and efficient. It goes without saying that the hotel is lovely , the food is great - you can't fault a thing. Also a good place to meet people, take walks in interesting lanes and come away recharged. Julie

Room Tip: "Platon" - first in from the front door- was very handy for popping in and out, which I l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sark
8.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
759 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
7.7 mi away
Hotel Jerbourg
Hotel Jerbourg
#3 of 9 in St Martins
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
832 reviews
5.0 mi away
The White House Hotel
9.0 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stocks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stocks Hotel

Property: Stocks Hotel
Address: Stocks Lane, GY10 1SD
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Sark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stocks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stocks is a family-owned luxury country house hotel set at the heart of the beautiful island of Sark. Totally refurbished during 2010 the hotel offers fine dining and discreet personal service. Stocks is the perfect escape from the stress of the 21st century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stocks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stocks Island Sark
Stocks Hotel Sark, Channel Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing