We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A+ from start to finish”
Review of Stocks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stocks Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sark
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2012

A first class experience from initial contact to departure. The staff truly cares about your stay and the hotel runs under the watchful eye of the owner. They recently completed a multi million pound refurbishment, which is successful and sensitive to the historic origins of the house. One plus is the hotel-owned carriage, which is driven by Julie, who is an excellent horsewoman that makes you feel welcome, safe and entertained. Unreservedly dog friendly as well. Took out the dog at 2am to starlit skies and complete silence. One couple had their 50th wedding anniversary and the staff all signed a card. Definitely would book again.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank pbrnslymtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (697)
There are newer reviews for Stocks Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

561 - 567 of 698 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

We were lucky enough to pick this hotel for our recent mini honeymoon break to the island of Sark, the hotel is set at the top of a lovely valley with it's own stables, 2 restaurants, stable bar, swimming pool & hot tub area..
We really enjoyed our time here, for many reasons, yes the room & bed was great, but it's the little touches that matter, the turn down service of a evening with complimentary chocolate left behind, the very comfy bathrobes and towels for the pool area, the excellent staff members who were so friendly & helpfull, and the fact that we'd been left a congatulations note writen in icing on a black slate board, decorated with strawberrys covered in chocolate!
We'd enjoy a couple of pre dinner drinks in the stable bar after our walks around the island, before trying to chose which menu & restaurant to dine in, the food also was excellent, but the deserts partically the apple soufle with toffee sauce was to die for!
I could go on and one, but I'll just say we left vowing that we'd visit again..

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JerseyBoy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just returned after 5 days at Stocks Hotel, a first class stay in a superbly family run hotel> Service in the resturant and hotel some of the best we have ever experienced. Lovely large very clean twin room, excelent housekeeping and food to die for. Every part of our stay was faultless. Thanks to all staff at this wonderful hotel for a memorable holiday, we will return. One note not the hotels fault ,luggage slightly damaged by Sark ferry company no respect for cases in transit especially loading at both Guernsey onto the ferry and sark onto dusty tractors. I think this could be improved otherwise I give this stay 5 stars and many thanks to all at Stocks staff, we loved Sark as the walks were stunning and plenty for our stay i.e 44 miles of them!

Room Tip: i think all 23 rooms are of a top standard
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenneth1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Just returned from a night's stay at Stocks and it was lovely. Very polite, friendly and professional staff, a modern and fresh room within an old and atmospheric building and the food was absolutely excellent! Thoroughly recommended. Of course it goes without saying that Sark is one of a kind and you will always have a peaceful and relaxing experience but a quality hotel enhances this.

Room Tip: Our standard double was perfectly suitable for a night's stay but next time I would request a su...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guerns62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I can't recommend this hotel highly enough, beautiful location, really friendly staff, great atmosphere and high quality food and drink plus they have a lovely hot tub, what more could you want from a hotel, make the effort to visit you won't regret it. Excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris186284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at Stocks hotel. It is a very comfortable and relaxing place to stay for a holiday. My room had been furnished to a very high standard and was keep exceptionally clean throughout my stay. The staff there where always very courteous and polite and always made you feel very welcome there. Another thing i do remember is the standard of the food served there, great menu, lovely food. I really enjoyed it and would really like to stay there again. I would recommend Stocks Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

There's a good reason why this Hotel is the most popular on Sark - its the best !
Following a £7 million rebuild a couple of years ago it enjoys great facilities and
excellent service and food - and its independently owned (unlike many of the
other hotels on Sark) - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulski62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sark
8.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
8.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
815 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Jerbourg
Hotel Jerbourg
#3 of 9 in St Martin
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
873 reviews
5.0 mi away
The White House Hotel
8.1 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#6 of 19 in St Peter Port
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stocks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stocks Hotel

Address: Stocks Lane, Dixcart Valley, GY10 1SD
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Sark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sark
Price Range: $168 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stocks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stocks is a family-owned luxury country house hotel set at the heart of the beautiful island of Sark. Totally refurbished during 2010 the hotel offers fine dining and discreet personal service. Stocks is the perfect escape from the stress of the 21st century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stocks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stocks Island Sark
Stocks Hotel Sark, Channel Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing