We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Treat!”
Review of Stocks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stocks Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sark
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We just spent a weekend in Sark for my birthday staying at Stocks Hotel and I can't sing the hotel's praises highly enough.

The hotel has undergone a complete refurbishment and the results are stunning. The attention to detail that has gone into the work that has been carried out on the hotel and its grounds is incredible. The hotel style is very much what I would call "boutique" these days and, whilst its not the cheapest place to stay, the value for money is outstanding.

We chose to stay in a "junior" suite, which was only a little bit more expensive than a regular room and were well rewarded with our choice. All of the rooms and suites are individually styled and the quality of the decoration and fittings in our suite was great. We had a spacious lounge with a very comfortable sofa, a single seater comfy chair, good sized TV, tea and coffee facilities. Sliding doors took you through to the bedroom and its enormous and incredibly comfortable bed, with immaculately clean and crisp bed linen. The bathroom was also incredibly clean and very spacious, with a good sized bath and strong shower.

The hotel has a very cozy bar which was great for pre-dinner dinks and served canapes. The "table d'hote" menu for dinner offered good choice (3 courses for £30), but you could go a la carte if you wanted. The bar and dining room staff were very attentive and the service was excellent. My only criticism (and it is a very minor one) would be that they might have left a little bit more time between courses. The food was excellent and very tasty.

The hotel's pool area is lovely and sits alongside a bar and bistro which is open during the day. The pool itself consists of a small pool at a higher level with a slide down into the main swimming area. There is also a good sized jacuzzi. The surrounding grounds were well attended and very peaceful.

The staff at the hotel were very polite and friendly and could not have been more helpful. Our last day was spoiled by unseasonably wet and windy weather on Sark and, as it looked like the afternoon boat we were due to return on was going to be cancelled because of the weather, they re-arranged all of our travel arrangements for us at reception at very short notice, helping to get us away on the mid-morning boat. Luggage is transferred to/from the hotel and the harbour by tractor and, both on arriving and departing, we found our luggage exactly where we were promised it would be.

Absolutely loved our stay and will be heading back again for sure!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alastair F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (712)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

677 - 683 of 712 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2011

Sark is a special and unique island and environment and Stocks Hotel has a similarly unique and special place in its history and in the memories of those who have been regular visitors to the island over the years and who remain seduced by its charms.

Stocks hotel is also now one of the last two independents of the main hotels on the island. Consequently the care and thought that has gone into the lavish and extensive renovation of the building is more akin to caring for an old and deeply valued friend than simply to investing in a business.

It is not of the grandeur of a modern well-appointed hotel nor of the fashion and sophistication of an upmarket boutique hotel and the bathrooms are not the marble-clad luxuriously-fitted spacious facilities that some may have come to expect on their international travels. But anyone who may go to Sark expecting that is missing the point a bit and is bound to be dissappointed.

It is more in the country house mould adapted to the compromises that being situate on a small non self-sufficient island brings and is far more sympathetic to and in character with its farmhouse origins than to the tourist expectations that an upmarket package holiday may give rise.

As you stroll across the cobbled courtyard in the dark at the end of a relaxed and informal evening up to your modern and well appointed and equipped (but far from extravagant ) cozy , spacious and comfortable lodgings after downing a nightcap in the admirably stocked and characterful bar in the oldest part of the building following an imaginative meal cooked with flair and panache, there is little that even the most demanding of guests could legitmately find to grumble about.

Admittedly, everything on Sark is somewhat expensive but here, more than anywhere else ,at present at least , on the island, you are getting very much what you pay for.

Food is good. Accommodation is good. Service is excellent. The buildings are beautiful and the location is idyllic. What more could you ask for ? !

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DMoore00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Last week I discovered Stocks Hotel in Sark. I left my labelled suitcase on the dock in Guernsey, took a 45 minute ferry and stepped into a different world. Sark is unique in that it has no cars, tarmac or pollution and when I caught up with my case in the most gorgeous room with six foot bed and beautiful garden view, I knew I was somewhere special. From the warm welcome to the fabulous locally sourced food and drink - they serve home made wines and cider as well as a huge cellar of quality quaffs, I felt spoilt bryond belief. The ambiance in the bar and dining room is relaxed yet sophisticated but with no pretentions, and anything flashy would be completely out of place - leave those limo heels and designer handbags behind you girls and get out the walking shoes. The air is the purest due to the island's dark sky status and healthy strolls soaking up the wild life and stunning countryside are what make this place magical. Yachties anchor in Dixcart Bay and walk through the woods straight to the poolside restaurant where you can see just get a glimpse of the handsome carriages just waiting to be tacked up for a horse-drawn tour of the island. There's so much to explore or you can just savour the joy of Stocks, let time stand still, and reclaim your soul.

Room Tip: Garden 4 aspect, upper rooms 4 privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Heres2uMrsRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We have been to Sark over 5 times in the last 10 years and the Island is very special in all weathers, with bikes for transport or foot, the children sleep well at night!

Stocks hotel has 3 elements about the hotel, from refinery to relaxing in the smugglers Bar. The Staff of the Hotel are attentive and make your stay very enjoyable. Within large surrounding, the swimming pool was a huge hit with our children and some of the Dads!!! Gym & Beauty for the Ladies when you are able to leave your very comfortable room!!

Supper experience and will be returning very soon.

Room Tip: Carthouse, 2 bedrooms & Sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ebbens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Beautiful room and perfectly restored hotel, lovely features icluding bar area. fantastic breakfast as well.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dunk69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

A recent 3 day stay at Stocks was a real pleasure.The friendly staff made us very welcome and the standard of food and service superb.The large comfortable rooms have been tastefully restored and furnished and we would happily recommend a stay at Stockes on this unique and friendly island.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnrosw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

A beautifully restored hotel where every detail has been taken care of. The furnishings are very special, the food excellent and the staff are all very friendly. A real gem of a hotel in a delightful Island.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HillsideJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sark
8.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
8.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
867 reviews
21.1 mi away
Longueville Manor
Longueville Manor
#1 of 5 in St.Saviour
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
885 reviews
8.1 mi away
Fermain Valley Hotel
Fermain Valley Hotel
#6 of 19 in St Peter Port
749 reviews
18.1 mi away
Hotel La Place
Hotel La Place
#1 of 16 in St. Brelade
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stocks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stocks Hotel

Address: Stocks Lane, Dixcart Valley, GY10 1SD
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Sark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sark
Price Range: $172 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stocks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stocks is a family-owned luxury country house hotel set at the heart of the beautiful island of Sark. Totally refurbished during 2010 the hotel offers fine dining and discreet personal service. Stocks is the perfect escape from the stress of the 21st century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stocks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stocks Island Sark
Stocks Hotel Sark, Channel Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing