We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sympathetic and successful renovation of a much loved Channel Islands institution.”
Review of Stocks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stocks Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sark
Certificate of Excellence
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A sympathetic and successful renovation of a much loved Channel Islands institution.”
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Sark is a special and unique island and environment and Stocks Hotel has a similarly unique and special place in its history and in the memories of those who have been regular visitors to the island over the years and who remain seduced by its charms.

Stocks hotel is also now one of the last two independents of the main hotels on the island. Consequently the care and thought that has gone into the lavish and extensive renovation of the building is more akin to caring for an old and deeply valued friend than simply to investing in a business.

It is not of the grandeur of a modern well-appointed hotel nor of the fashion and sophistication of an upmarket boutique hotel and the bathrooms are not the marble-clad luxuriously-fitted spacious facilities that some may have come to expect on their international travels. But anyone who may go to Sark expecting that is missing the point a bit and is bound to be dissappointed.

It is more in the country house mould adapted to the compromises that being situate on a small non self-sufficient island brings and is far more sympathetic to and in character with its farmhouse origins than to the tourist expectations that an upmarket package holiday may give rise.

As you stroll across the cobbled courtyard in the dark at the end of a relaxed and informal evening up to your modern and well appointed and equipped (but far from extravagant ) cozy , spacious and comfortable lodgings after downing a nightcap in the admirably stocked and characterful bar in the oldest part of the building following an imaginative meal cooked with flair and panache, there is little that even the most demanding of guests could legitmately find to grumble about.

Admittedly, everything on Sark is somewhat expensive but here, more than anywhere else ,at present at least , on the island, you are getting very much what you pay for.

Food is good. Accommodation is good. Service is excellent. The buildings are beautiful and the location is idyllic. What more could you ask for ? !

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DMoore00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    54
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
132
351
22
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Last week I discovered Stocks Hotel in Sark. I left my labelled suitcase on the dock in Guernsey, took a 45 minute ferry and stepped into a different world. Sark is unique in that it has no cars, tarmac or pollution and when I caught up with my case in the most gorgeous room with six foot bed and beautiful garden view, I knew I was somewhere special. From the warm welcome to the fabulous locally sourced food and drink - they serve home made wines and cider as well as a huge cellar of quality quaffs, I felt spoilt bryond belief. The ambiance in the bar and dining room is relaxed yet sophisticated but with no pretentions, and anything flashy would be completely out of place - leave those limo heels and designer handbags behind you girls and get out the walking shoes. The air is the purest due to the island's dark sky status and healthy strolls soaking up the wild life and stunning countryside are what make this place magical. Yachties anchor in Dixcart Bay and walk through the woods straight to the poolside restaurant where you can see just get a glimpse of the handsome carriages just waiting to be tacked up for a horse-drawn tour of the island. There's so much to explore or you can just savour the joy of Stocks, let time stand still, and reclaim your soul.

Room Tip: Garden 4 aspect, upper rooms 4 privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heres2uMrsRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We have been to Sark over 5 times in the last 10 years and the Island is very special in all weathers, with bikes for transport or foot, the children sleep well at night!

Stocks hotel has 3 elements about the hotel, from refinery to relaxing in the smugglers Bar. The Staff of the Hotel are attentive and make your stay very enjoyable. Within large surrounding, the swimming pool was a huge hit with our children and some of the Dads!!! Gym & Beauty for the Ladies when you are able to leave your very comfortable room!!

Supper experience and will be returning very soon.

Room Tip: Carthouse, 2 bedrooms & Sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ebbens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Beautiful room and perfectly restored hotel, lovely features icluding bar area. fantastic breakfast as well.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dunk69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2011

A recent 3 day stay at Stocks was a real pleasure.The friendly staff made us very welcome and the standard of food and service superb.The large comfortable rooms have been tastefully restored and furnished and we would happily recommend a stay at Stockes on this unique and friendly island.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnrosw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, Channel Islands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

A beautifully restored hotel where every detail has been taken care of. The furnishings are very special, the food excellent and the staff are all very friendly. A real gem of a hotel in a delightful Island.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HillsideJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2011

We had the most wonderful time staying at the newly renovated Stocks Hotel.
Owner and manager Paul Armorgie and his superb new team of bright,enthusiastic staff made sure that our three night stay was one to remember.The refurb has been comprhensive and in every respect to the highest standard,as you can see from our ratings we were very impressed.The food was delicious and expertly cooked and presented at all times including the full breakfasts.The bedrooms, each with a luxurious en suite bathroom ,are light,large and very tastefully furnished.
We would have no hesitation in recommending Stocks to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aloeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sark
8.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
Best Western Hotel De Havelet
#1 of 19 in St Peter Port
757 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Old Government House Hotel & Spa
7.7 mi away
Hotel Jerbourg
Hotel Jerbourg
#3 of 9 in St Martins
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
The Duke of Richmond Hotel
#3 of 19 in St Peter Port
832 reviews
5.0 mi away
The White House Hotel
9.0 mi away
La Barbarie Hotel
La Barbarie Hotel
#1 of 9 in St Martins
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stocks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stocks Hotel

Property: Stocks Hotel
Address: Stocks Lane, GY10 1SD
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Channel Islands > Sark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stocks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stocks is a family-owned luxury country house hotel set at the heart of the beautiful island of Sark. Totally refurbished during 2010 the hotel offers fine dining and discreet personal service. Stocks is the perfect escape from the stress of the 21st century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stocks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stocks Island Sark
Stocks Hotel Sark, Channel Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing